We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab fab fab , best holiday we have ever been on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Notten's Bush Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Notten's Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle uk
1 review
“Fab fab fab , best holiday we have ever been on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

Nottens bush camp is just fantastic in all senses . Place , people food .....everything!!! worth every penny I do not want to go anywhere else now than there! .
Rooms are very big and super clean , people management and staff are the kindest people I have ever ever come across . We felt at home from the moment we sat foot in the camp . The game drives are superb and the land is imense so you always get too see something .
Pool area is brand new and super clean , it was lovely to have breakfast then go on your walk and then chill out for a bit round the pool . We had 4 days in Nottens and then 5 days in Mozambique and if I had known we would have stayed the full hol in Nottens .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSOFTLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
148
270
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

We loved our stay at Nottens. The owners are present and hospitable, the staff are wonderful, the other guests were very sociable and great to get to know on game drives and at dinner, the food was excellent and the overall atmosphere just wonderful. Other places may have more luxuries in the way of gold plated faucets but that's a waste of money.

For the Blackberry addicted (like me), reception is sporadic but you can send and receive emails in the office.

i also had an excellent massage while at Nottens.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyMarkinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

This place was unbelievable. We saw the big five and so much more. The Nottens family, David and Mia were great. One of them would have breakfast with us and the other would have dinner with us, telling us stories and answering all of our questions. The food was terrific. You cannot put a price on having tea on you morning drive, in the bush next to your Range Rover with Giraffes in the back ground.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TIAdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

Nottens Bush Camp was the most delightful lodge and a wonderful start to the honeymoon, they catered to our every need (including medicine when I fell ill from the malaria tablets), the place was truly sensational with the family and staff members being so hospitable and welcoming, words cannot truly express how fantastic our stay was at Nottens. Thomas our ranger knew the bush intimately and his knowledge was endless on the animals, flora & fauna. The minute we arrived at the lodge everything was taken care of and we did not have to plan another thing for our 4 day stay. The rooms were decorated with style and class, the limited electricity went unnoticed whilst making the lodge romantic and magical. The food was delicious, plentiful and always creative. Dinners varied from an intimate dinner for 2 on our balcony, to an outside BBQ lit with tikki lights and a roaring fire for 7, to a full banquet for 24 which started with a surprise ceremony from the shangaan tribe. As soon as we left Nottens we missed it and all its staff, a true testament to itself. Nottens was a true delight and I hope to be able to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britishsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

I should give a very bad rating in order to keep this place a hidden secret, but in fact it was better than we could ever imagine.

  • Liked — Natural envronment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RdK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

It has been a great plesure to stay at the Notten's Busch Camp. The Notten family and staff are there to make your dream for wildlife experience come true.

The lodge itself is very comfortable, you really feel in the middle of the bush, with this magic touch given at night by the parafin lamps. Besides accomodation, meals are extraordinary. The lodge is not very big (maybe some 7 ensuites), and it is a great pleasure to join all the guests around the table and to share our game drive experiences.

I said game drive ? Yes, a full excitement when you get on the 4x4 with your ranger. We so all the big 5, and several times, + various antelopes, warthogs, hippos, giraffes, ...

That was my first experience of the kind : thank you all in Notten's to have made my dream for wildlife come true.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippononlosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

What a fabulous experience.
Everything that has been written in previous reviews is so true.
Great family providing fantastic accommodation and drives.
The Notten family and staff are such a pleasure to stay with.
Thank you so much

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rivercross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
6.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
6.1 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
12.7 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
12.2 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
11.7 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notten's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notten's Bush Camp

Property: Notten's Bush Camp
Address: 622 Hazyview, Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Notten's Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notten’s Bush Camp is a jewel within the heart of the Sabi Sand Game Reserve in Mpumalanga, which means “the land of the rising sun” in the locally spoken language, Shangaan. Notten’s is an exclusive and private safari lodge personally run by the Notten family. This beautiful, intimate safari lodge is situated within one of South Africa’s finest natural sanctuaries the Sabi Sand Reserve and Greater Kruger National Park. It is a destination that will truly touch your heart and soul.Each private suite is elegantly styled, spacious and cooled by ceiling fans. A magical atmosphere is created with the purposeful absence of electric lighting; the ambient candlelight and lanterns capturing an enchanting spirit of romance. With splendid panoramic views, this private game lodge is the perfect place for peace and relaxation while watching animals meander past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Notten's Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notten`s Bush Camp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Notten's Bush Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing