We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant end to our South African holiday”
Review of Notten's Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Notten's Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We spent 3 great days here. As other reviewers have stated the hosting and service provided by the Notten family and their staff is exemplary. The rooms, food and game drives cannot be faulted. We were particularly impressed by the consistent enthusiasm of the rangers and their deep respect for the animals and birds in the reserve.
The lodge is beautiful in the evening lit by candle light and log fires and creates a lovely atmosphere in which to dine.
Only one suggestion ; the provision of bath robes would have been welcome especially because of the 5am wake up.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank dansoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 588 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

A safari lodge in great shape. We spent three nights here and saw "bigg five" several times. At times, it was only a few hundred meters to the lions, rhinos and buffaloes from the lodge. Safaris in open jeeps. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. The food in an outstanding class. Drinks, wine, beer and spirits included in the price and high quality.
Highly recommended as a luxurious outdoor experience.

Room Tip: highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Words and photographs cannot express how amazing our experience at Nottens was so you just have to go. you will not be disappointed. We loved every minute of our time there, from the 5am wake up call by our wonderful driver Thomas to the fantastic suppers by candlelight hosted by David and Dale.
The experience and knowledge of the Staff really shines, as does their hospitality which really was first class.
We hold the most wonderful memories in our hearts and minds. A very very special place.
Thank you Nottens.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We want to thank you, David, Mia, Dale, Tinyko, Gideon and the whole team, for the most extraordinary few days of our lives. Your lodge and daily safaris go far beyond expectation - we loved the drives, the excitement of the leopard tracking, so many close up views of rhino, elephants, lions, giraffes, wildebeeste, impala, zebra, warthogs, bush walks to identify tracks, poo and plants, not to forget the inimitable dung beetles, and rescue when they were drowning after the storm! Your team is professional and knowledgeable. In particular, Dave, the care and special attention you showed us when bad news hit us from home, was something we will never forget. Thankyou a million times over. Nottens has to rate in every way as a supreme destination. Please don't change a thing.

Room Tip: It's all spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Din14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had the most wonderful stay at Nottens in January. If you are considering booking with them, DO IT NOW!!! You will not regret it! Everything was perfect and Thomas and Ryden (sp?) were the perfect team taking great pains to ensure we saw the Big Five plus myriad of wonderful birds. All the staff were so attentive, the food excellent and the accommodation wonderful. The 4 days at Nottens were truly the highlight of our southern hemisphere trip so everything else was a bit of an anti-climax in comparison! Would love to go back one day......

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. we had the one furthest out which had an extra bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wurzeljocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a well maintained family run camp in a spectacular location in Sabi Sands.
Food excellent and plentiful. More than you can eat. The hosting and service from the owners and the Notten's team is exceptional.
Waterhole within view that was frequented by elephant, impala and others.
Pool and grounds are well maintained and ideal for a relax after the morning game drives.
One observation - One driver needs to learn to smile.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 323HELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Recently came back from a honeymoon trip to South Africa. First stop was Nottens Bush Camp -- WOW! Everything about this "camp" was spectacular. The staff (thanks, Dale/David!), and our trackers/rangers were amazing. This was our first Safari trip and stop, out of 2, and we saw the Big 5 here.

The food was delicious, and never ending! Really enjoyed the breakfasts (a million options) and then made to order food.

The lodges were clean, and beautiful. You felt like you were really in the elements, but in luxury at the same time.

Was somewhat surprised there were no armed guards, or escorts back to your lodge at night (since other camps do this), but it kind of made it all the more exciting.

Would definitely recommend Nottens Bush Camp -- a must when you're in Kruger National Park. Really wanting to plan a trip back already!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOStraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
2.1 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
513 reviews
12.7 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
443 reviews
7.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
880 reviews
11.7 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
424 reviews
12.8 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notten's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notten's Bush Camp

Address: 622 Hazyview, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $114 - $1,621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Notten's Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notten’s Bush Camp is a jewel within the heart of the Sabi Sand Game Reserve in Mpumalanga, which means “the land of the rising sun” in the locally spoken language, Shangaan. Notten’s is an exclusive and private safari lodge personally run by the Notten family. This beautiful, intimate safari lodge is situated within one of South Africa’s finest natural sanctuaries the Sabi Sand Reserve and Greater Kruger National Park. It is a destination that will truly touch your heart and soul.Each private suite is elegantly styled, spacious and cooled by ceiling fans. A magical atmosphere is created with the purposeful absence of electric lighting; the ambient candlelight and lanterns capturing an enchanting spirit of romance. With splendid panoramic views, this private game lodge is the perfect place for peace and relaxation while watching animals meander past. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Notten`s Bush Camp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Notten's Bush Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing