We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Luxury”
Review of Notten's Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Notten's Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wild Luxury”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Notten's was the icing on the cape for our incredible journey around SA. This place is an incredible fusion of luxury and style with the authentic experience of being in the bush. The camp is unfenced so you are literally in the middle of the Sabi Sand with wild animals free to roam through the camp. The rooms and dining areas are all lit by candles and paraffin lamps, adding to the authentic atmosphere. The family and staff are just so welcoming and naturally friendly. Dale was a great, exuberant host. The rangers and trackers are top notch and we saw so many animals at very close quarters (lion, leopard, rhino, giraffe, elephant, buffalo, various antelope and the endangered wild dog amongst others). An unforgettable and incredibly special place that I would recommend to anyone.
Thank you Nottens for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjcassidy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    28
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
156
280
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Sligo. Rep. of Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at this magnificent bush lodge. Before booking this trip; it did come to mind would we got to another lodge. Deep in my heart I knew if I had; I would be meeting the Nottens Jeeps on the game drives and that would cause sadness. When we arrived after many hours flying, we were meet with an amazing welcome. Shortly after some refreshments we were showen to our room. As return guests we were upgraded. The accommodation was just amazing, clear bright, and brilliant views of the bush. The food was just amazing, and with 2 game drives each day and a bush walk after breakfast, we certinally enjoyed our meals. With no electricity in the bedrooms,(just oil lamps and candles) this adds magic to this encridible camp. If you are looking for a safari with a difference; just book Nottens and go you will not be disappointed. We met wonderful people, and really felt at home during our stay. I would like to say a sincere Thank-You to Dale, family and staff for caring for us so well during our stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and spacious. Most of them have been renovated since our last visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pebbles2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Ridge, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

At just under two hours away from the airport at Nelspruit, we were truly away from civilization and in the bush. It was our first experience in the bush, and Dale and the entire staff at Notten's Bush Camp made it an unforgettable experience.

We arrived in the afternoon, shown to our beautiful cabin, and then for a much needed high tea before heading off on our first game drive. Our cabin was spacious, beautifully furnished, and romantically lit with oil lamps and candles - only one plug available for charging gadgets, no electric lights, no television, and we didn't miss any of it. The bathroom is grand, with both shower and luxuriant tub, and an outdoor shower facing the bush, which must be tried.

Our ranger, Taniko, and our guide, Gideon, got us out in the bush, and in short order, we saw rhinos, giraffes, impala, kudu, waterbuck, and a very well-fed pride of lions. We started out in the afternoon, then as night fell, we headed toward a clearing with campfires. There, we were welcomed to the bush with drinks and grilled spareribs (the food at Notten's Bush Camp is five-star). In the darkness, we heard the sound of singing, deep in the bush. Then the voices grew louder, until a choir of lovely young men and women emerged, to serenade us with traditional songs. It was such a magical, unforgettable moment, we will never forget it.

Meals are buffet, with a generous and delicious selection. They are famous for their breads, justifiably so. Everyone eats together, so we got to know the other guests and make new friends. We compared notes on our game drives, and shared photos at the end of the day, a wonderful experience in a more intimate camp like Notten's.

The staff is unfailingly professional and attentive and genuinely welcoming. (And brave - at night, after dinner, they'll escort you back to your cabin with flashlights, as there are animals up and out then - this is NOT the safari at Six Flags! Critters really live here!) They made our trip one of our peak experiences on our vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christoo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Amazing staff, magical location, out of this world food and superb room. We would have liked to have had the choice of sitting on our own rather than always sitting on the group table as some evenings since we were on our honeymoon we would have liked to have had a table for two that wasn't necessarily in the comfort of our own lodge/ balcony... Lol... We were scared of being eaten! Being on a table with twenty other people for dinner felt like forced socialising and I think it is very important to offer choice here. Forgot to say that the guy who runs this place is awesome! Served me the best wine :)

Room Tip: If you don't feel like dining with people you don't know, make it clear at the start otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Really nice setting and camp, lovely views out into the bush. The staff are super friendly, very nice and make every effort to make you feel at home. This has a real family feel to it and well worth a visit. Sadly, our trip was restricted to only one night due to BA's flight being delayed 24 hours and I really wish we had stayed longer. Next time maybe! Great food too. In the short time we also saw some great game, the Southern pride Lions and the baby rhino were wonderful! Thanks Nottens, my son and I really enjoyed our brief stay, it was a great experience.

Room Tip: All great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meohmy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The staff at Notten's is absolutely phenomenal!!!! They take excellent care of you and you want for nothing. We stayed a couple of nights (wish we could have stayed many more), went on 4 safari drives, saw the Big 5 and then some. Our ranger, Tinyko was exceptional as was Gideon our tracker. The gals took great pride in looking after your every need. I can't say enough wonderful things about Notten's. Definitely on my list to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelonmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The staff are wonderful from start to finish, the food is excellent, the rooms are gigantic and nicely decorated. The grounds are wonderful too, and just to be able to stay somewhere hyaenas, elephants, impala, etc wander around the grounds is a real experience. For a lodge with only 8 rooms to have a lovely swimming pool, small gym and massage rooms is quite incredible. The bush drives are run by very experienced and knowledgeable staff members who really know their stuff and go out of their way to get you to see the animals you want to see. My advice is go soon, and when you do, tip generously. The only way many of these big game will survive the current poaching explosion, is to make them worth more alive than dead. Thank you to all the managers and staff for a truly memorable experience. We will surely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very well placed, so it doesn't really matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
12.5 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
7.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
444 reviews
11.7 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
12.7 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
407 reviews
1.6 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notten's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notten's Bush Camp

Property: Notten's Bush Camp
Address: 622 Hazyview, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Notten's Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notten’s Bush Camp is a jewel within the heart of the Sabi Sand Game Reserve in Mpumalanga, which means “the land of the rising sun” in the locally spoken language, Shangaan. Notten’s is an exclusive and private safari lodge personally run by the Notten family. This beautiful, intimate safari lodge is situated within one of South Africa’s finest natural sanctuaries the Sabi Sand Reserve and Greater Kruger National Park. It is a destination that will truly touch your heart and soul.Each private suite is elegantly styled, spacious and cooled by ceiling fans. A magical atmosphere is created with the purposeful absence of electric lighting; the ambient candlelight and lanterns capturing an enchanting spirit of romance. With splendid panoramic views, this private game lodge is the perfect place for peace and relaxation while watching animals meander past. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Notten`s Bush Camp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Notten's Bush Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing