We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Africa”
Review of Notten's Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Notten's Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Real Africa”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you are traveling to South Africa to see wildlife, this is your place! It is a total bush experience and all of it is wonderful. Included is your separate well-furnished and spacious cabana (most with an outdoor shower in addtion to the standard modern bathroom), each with a private deck, delicious meals served in lovely open-air rooms, daily morning and evening game drives in open Land Rovers with an expert guide plus a sharp-eyed tracker, morning coffee and sundowners out in the bush, daily nature walks, a lovely pool and massage center (but who has time for those when there is so much wildlife to see?!) The staff is warm and welcoming, and the wildlife guides (we had Thomas and Riden) are gifted at finding animals. We joked that they must have a hidden button under the dash, that they could push to make any animal we wanted to see pop up in the next few minutes! We saw 4 of the Big 5 the first evening, and the remaining one (leopard) the next morning. The camp has been in the Notten family for many years, and they share a huge habitat area with just one other lodge. Their area adjoins Kruger National Park, with no fences separating them. I don't want to give away all the delightful aspects of the place, but I will say that you don't need a super-zoom lens on your camera, the animals aren't shy of the Land Rovers at all and you get closer than your friends at home will believe unless you show the edge of the Rover in your photos along with the animals.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have an outdoor shower, but only one also has an outdoor bathtub (don't worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmsdms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    29
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
160
282
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent 3 days (15th-18th April 2012) in five double suite. Everything at Notten's was far more than we expected. Sadly one member of our group has had a health problem during the last night Safari. Notten's team has helped a lot for this incident including driving us several time to Nelspruit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cphilipona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had been given an enthusiastic recommendation to Nottens by fellow Sydney friends. We hadn't been to the bush for some years. We booked through Rhino Africa (highly recommended for their local knowledge and friendly service). We flew from Joburg with Federal Air to Skukuza airfield, where a Nottens driver met us - then a 40 minute drive to the lodge. It is in a picturesque setting. The main dining, lounge and bar areas overlook a field and water hole where we witnessed elephant, buffalo, waterbuck and impala casually passing through. The bungalows are modern and spacious and tastefully furnished. Superb bathroom with inside and outside shower. While there is electricity in the rooms (powerpoint and electric ceiling fans) the management elected to provide lighting with paraffin lamps and candles which serve to provide a warm bush atmosphere.
The hosts and owners, Dave and Dale, set the tone for the incredible warmth and open hospitality that we experienced from all the wonderful, dedicated staff. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts, afternoon high-teas and dinners are gastronomic delights. The evening dinners are communal affairs at a long table table, hosted by either Dave or Dale, either fire-side in the dining room or outside in the boma.
Of course the game drives are the highlight - dawn and sunset 3 1/2 drives in the LandCruiser with delightful driver and spotter. We had Thomas as our driver/tracker - he is knowledgeable and entertaining, and Ryden (?) as the spotter. Their uncanny ability to track down game - as they did in locating leopard and lion on four occasions in the dark of night - was awesome. Thomas even spotted a tiny chameleon on a leaf by torch-light. The highlight was tracking a leopard deep into the bush where he had just started devouring his fresh prey. As a keen amateur photographer I had countless opportunities to take great close shots of elephant, rhino, lion, leopard, buffalo, giraffe and a variety of buck and other inhabitants. The game in this part of the reserve (Sabi-Sabi) is not overly abundant - one can drive for a while without a sighting - but the ability and determination of the driver/spotter team will ensure that every drive is rewarding. One can participate in the daily bush-walks offered after breakfast and learn about the smaller creatures and flora.
Relaxing on the verandah of one's bungalow or by the pool between game drives and meals, simply taking in the unique bush air, the exhilaration of game spotting, the hospitality and cuisine all combine for a truly exceptional experience. Nottens is simply great value. Thank you Dave, Dale and staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Having travelled to Zanzibar last year we realised that we were missing a trick by not tacking on a safari to the beginning of a holiday in Africa. However, neither my partner or I are outdoor types and we didn't want to tough it in order to gain the experience. We were after 'safari light' and I would have been happy if we had seen an elephant!
When we arrived at Nottens we were immediately impressed by the fantastic standard of accommodation. Our lodge, lit by candlelight, had a wonderful veranda which faced out on to a watering hole that was to provide a source of delight throughout our visit. We had a separate bathroom, outdoor shower and stand alone bath, which was marvellous to soak in after a chilly evening's bush drive. The service was truly outstanding and we were able to join in with as much or as little activity as we wished. We went on two drives a day, usually with only one other couple and saw an incredible range of animals at extremely close quarter. The leopards, of which we saw 3, were spectacular as were the elephants which visited the watering hole everyday. We didn't see lions but there was not sense of disappointment as our guides had been marvellous and their knowledge of the bush, the birds, the trees and all that we saw was constantly fascinating. We didn't go out on the bush walks but sat and relaxed around the lovely pool, looked after by the incredibly friendly and helpful staff. The food was very good; home cooking, fresh and tasty and lots of it. The bread and cakes were particularly good. We enjoyed the communal dining table in the evening and the chance to meet people and exchange experiences. All in all, a wonderful experience which has whetted our appetite for further and perhaps more challenging bush adventures. Thank you everyone at Nottens for such a wonderful start to our holiday.

Room Tip: We had lodge no 4, which was near to the dining room and overlooked the watering hole. It really wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank susanhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Nottens Bush Camp in the middle of January 2013. When we arrived, they showed us our awesome room with private terrace, outdoor shower etc. and asked if we are hungry. Of course we were ;-) So we got a very nice, fresh plate with sandwiches and fruit. It was awesome. Over all, our stay was fantastic. Very good food, very good coffee (Lavazza!!! :-) ) very good game drives and guides, etc. A Hyena met us while we were sitting at the bar for aperitif, just an awesome experience... Thanks again all you guys for this pleasant stay!
Claudio & Nadine
PS: Some people didn't like the fact, that there was no electric light (there was socket for charging electronic devices at our room), but we liked that very much. This generates a very special atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thalaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a very good impression right from the start when both my partner and myself were warmly welcome. We stepped into the lodge, dimly lighted as there was no electricity but candles everywhere. (bright enough to manourvre)

The food was superb! Excellent ambience! And really personalized room if you are coming here for your honeymoon..

There is also a good view from our room, u could stay up late to watch the animals walking past your lodge! (just ensure that you close your door). Haha

Overall: highly recommended esp if you are a nature lover..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine_JieLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We came to Notten's Bush Camp for our honeymoon and had a cracking time. The food was absolutely delicious and the hospitality we received from the staff was outstanding. This was a great start to our honeymoon and a truly memorable experience. The game drives were superb and we got to see all the big five up very close in the open top land rovers. We will definitely return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Morriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
7.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#4 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
445 reviews
11.7 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
402 reviews
12.7 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
319 reviews
11.0 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notten's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notten's Bush Camp

Property: Notten's Bush Camp
Address: 622 Hazyview, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Notten's Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notten’s Bush Camp is a jewel within the heart of the Sabi Sand Game Reserve in Mpumalanga, which means “the land of the rising sun” in the locally spoken language, Shangaan. Notten’s is an exclusive and private safari lodge personally run by the Notten family. This beautiful, intimate safari lodge is situated within one of South Africa’s finest natural sanctuaries the Sabi Sand Reserve and Greater Kruger National Park. It is a destination that will truly touch your heart and soul.Each private suite is elegantly styled, spacious and cooled by ceiling fans. A magical atmosphere is created with the purposeful absence of electric lighting; the ambient candlelight and lanterns capturing an enchanting spirit of romance. With splendid panoramic views, this private game lodge is the perfect place for peace and relaxation while watching animals meander past. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Notten`s Bush Camp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Notten's Bush Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing