We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dale,the owner,makes you feel better than at home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Notten's Bush Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Notten's Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dale,the owner,makes you feel better than at home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were there for a very lovely honeymoon. The reserve is in a lovely place when relaxing, outside the window, you can see elephants playing with water also other wild animal are there.rooms that are apartments are very nice and well set up rangers are very professional and well organized endeavouring for seeking animals.food is excellent and the location where to have lunch or dinner are really nice.all the personnel is very kind and well leaded by Dale the owner who opens his house and heart he makes you feel better than home always with a very kind smile.i look forward to come back again. Grazie Dale see you. Claudio Erika

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faciolo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    27
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
146
265
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful place! Our first safari experience was made very special by all the staff at Nottens who welcomed us warmly and treated us like family. The food was delicious; such a variety at every mealtime, beautifully presented and shared with fellow guests - very sociable! Our accommodation was spacious, elegant and in keeping with the natural surroundings. Loved going back for a candle lit bath (no electric lighting!) after the evening game drive and meal around the fire. We were woken at 6am with our hot water for drinks before going out in the Landrover complete with blankets and hot water bottles to keep us warm whilst we tracked down elephants, rhino, wild dogs, leopards, giraffe, zebras to name a few. We will return one day to find the lion, we hope but in the meantime could not recommend Nottens highly enough. A perfect way to start our African adventure! Thank you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Nottens Bush stands for high quaity service, Spacy rooms with a lot of comfort and very nicely decorated, Bathrooms and in- and outside showers (you can shower outside while elephants are passing by ) Excellent food and a staff which breaths service. The game viewing was amazing as well by foot as by jeep it was a once in a lifetime experience. Also the total amount of guests (max 16) staying in the lodge made it very special. We met a lot of new friends who shared this unforgettable lodge with us. Thanks to Dale (Dave was not there) and his staff; we will return !!

Room Tip: for those more adventurous take the room most far away from the main building; a close encounter of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, N.H.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Dave Notten, ( who flips a mean steak by the way),and his staff, do an amazing job of ensuring your every comfort. The food was simple and excellent. The rooms are roomy, comfortable and tastefully decorated....great quality linens. Ranger Chase and tracker Fox, ( I know you couldn't make that up right?), but it is their real names, are consummate professionals who clearly love what they do, do it extremely well and are charming to boot! We saw an extraordinary array of animals as a result of there expertise. Many people have asked us if we would recommend Notten's for a safari and the answer is a resounding YES! South Africa is a beautiful country with magnificent wildlife and natural beauty and the genuine, warm hospitality of the Notten's staff topped it all off.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, Western Cape
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I visited Nottens Bush Camp last month and I was blown away by the quality of the food, the friendliness of the staff but most of all, the game viewing. We saw a pack a wild dogs hunt and kill an impala. This was an unforgetable experience. We also saw a pride of 9 lions including 3 tiny cubs who were out in the open eating a buffalo. We had an incredible sighting of these lions. Another sighting was the resident mother leopard who for the first time allowed us to see her 2 baby cubs. I had to pinch myself that it was all real.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gavin021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for four nights in June at the end of our African adventure and we certainly saved the for last!! We felt that four nights was a great length of time to see all the animals and we were very relaxed when we left. Everything was amazing at Notten's, the food (wow the food is truly divine), the accommodation and of course the game drives. The staff were so lovely and generous and nothing at all was a bother. Alcohol flows VERY freely at dinner (in fact all the time) and I had to watch myself as the first two nights as I had a little bit too much wine, hehe.

Dinners were hosted by either Dale or David during our stay and it felt more like we were in someone's home and they were very gracious hosts. The intimate feel at Notten's is wonderful and it really adds to the whole experience.

We had Chase and Gideon on our game drives and they were amazing trackers, I really dont know how they did it. They managed to track down a leopard with her two cubs and it was the first time she had brought them out so we were very lucky! We were also lucky enough to see a wild dog pack with a kill along with so many other special sightings. The big five was ticked off pretty quickly and we were lucky enough to even see a Chameleon which we were really hoping for.

Don't worry at all about the lack of electricity, it was so pretty seeing our room all lit up with lanterns and there are heaps of candles if you want more light. We had a power point in our room so it was no bother to recharge cameras. I highly recommend the outdoor shower, it is great (now I want one at home).

The other guests were lovely and we all got along very well. We were there the same time as Lauren (previous review) and being runners we inquired about a run. As we can't wander off on our own someone was quickly arranged to come running with us before the afternoon game drive. The first run we did several loops of a 1km loop with a ranger (this area was where we saw the leopard and cubs on that afternoon's game drive). The second day David (along with a massive handgun "just in case") ran with us a different way because of the leopard which was a 5.5km loop and was a fantastic run. So if you are a runner ask about a run in the afternoon as I really enjoyed it.

I really can't say enough about this place other than everyone once in their lives needs to experience a safari and I would say this is a pretty good place to do it!!! We are definitely planning to come back in 2014 for another four maybe five nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiks_and_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our trip to Notten's was nothing short of amazing. The accommodations were incredibly comfortable, the food was fantastic, and the game drives were a once in a lifetime experience. We had great bush walks and the staff went running with those of us who wanted a jog through the bush. On our game drives, we saw the big five, as well as a number of other unusual animals, including wild dogs. The guides and trackers were knowledgeable and extremely skilled. It was luxurious and exciting. Everything about the trip was perfect, and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Every lodge/cabin is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
12.5 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge
Inyati Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
8.3 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
13.3 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Notten's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Notten's Bush Camp

Property: Notten's Bush Camp
Address: 622 Hazyview, Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Notten's Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Notten’s Bush Camp is a jewel within the heart of the Sabi Sand Game Reserve in Mpumalanga, which means “the land of the rising sun” in the locally spoken language, Shangaan. Notten’s is an exclusive and private safari lodge personally run by the Notten family. This beautiful, intimate safari lodge is situated within one of South Africa’s finest natural sanctuaries the Sabi Sand Reserve and Greater Kruger National Park. It is a destination that will truly touch your heart and soul.Each private suite is elegantly styled, spacious and cooled by ceiling fans. A magical atmosphere is created with the purposeful absence of electric lighting; the ambient candlelight and lanterns capturing an enchanting spirit of romance. With splendid panoramic views, this private game lodge is the perfect place for peace and relaxation while watching animals meander past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Notten's Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Notten`s Bush Camp Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Notten's Bush Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing