We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Singita Ebony Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Experiencing a safari should be a must on everyone's travels and staying at Singita Ebony made it a trip of a life time. The rooms and lodge set the mood with the furnishings and views being perfect for the safari experience. Add to that the lodge staff, guides and trackers who were experienced,friendly and more than accommodating. The wildlife we saw was incredible. I brought back many memories of not just sightings but glimpses of how the animals ( leopards, lions, elephants, giraffes to name a few ) interact in wild.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermomUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 206 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

We loved the Sabi Sands area, the food, our guide and spotter and the guests. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent rating is because the room layout was a bit dated and our plumbing didn't work perfectly. The staff came when we called them and it was better but still not totally right. However, all that said, our room had a wonderful view of the Sand River and a lovely private pool. It was fun to sit outside and see hippos going by. We also saw elephants enjoying marula while we were enjoying breakfast. We went to Singita Boulders for lunch one day and thought it looked even nicer than Ebony. Our guide and spotter were fabulous and we followed a leopard one time for about an hour (really neat) and saw a pride of lions - 4 females and 9 cubs - along with a lot of other more visible wildlife. Our guide just truly enjoyed seeing the animals and birds which made it very special - while it was her 'job', it clearly is also her passion. And our spotter must have x-ray vision. He saw small creatures that were very well camouflaged. We also had the opportunity to take a hike with our guide so got to 'feel' what it was like to really be in the bush.

Room Tip: You want a room that overlooks the Sand River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I spend 3 nights at Singita Ebony and it was simply amazing. The Lodge itself was beautiful, welcoming and cozy. It was so picturesque when you came up to the lodge in the morning and all of the lights were on and your guide was waiting with coffee and light breakfast. The rooms are stunning, clean and beautifully decorated. The views were so beautiful and we saw elephants, giraffe and leopards right from our deck. Our guide and tracker, Mark & George, were professional, accommodating and at the top of their game. I just can't say enough about how they went out of their way to make sure we saw everything we wanted to see. They even scrambled to take us out in the middle of the afternoon to track a leopard we saw walking by the lodge. It was not an easy task to find the leopard but these two amazing men were able to track it down. It was just an amazing experience. The meals and staff were all great. I have to say that this Lodge and staff were our favorite of our entire 2 week stay in South Africa. Thank you to everyone at the lodge for this amazing experience which will never be forgotten.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagunagirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Singita Ebony and it was just awesome. Our room was large and beautifully furnished. The view of the Sand River from our deck was stunning. This was our first time in Africa and our second safari. We were glad Singita was our second stop. Chris and Martin were our ranger and tracker and they were really good. We saw many many animals. Can't say enough about our trip. Already planning our next visit....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiffysPillowBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent 3 days at Ebony and 2 at Sweni in early October. It proved to be a good choice as the weather was comfortable [rained one day], no bugs, and less crowds at the lodge. Two in our party were Gluten intolerent and at every meal I had my own special menu. My name was printed at the top and it afforded multiple choices of main dishes, always a delicious salad, a gluten free soup, and freshly baked gluten free breads and muffins. I have never had such excellent gluten free baked goods anywhere in the world. I would go back to either lodge just for the food. As an aside, Sweni had a better baker.
Our game drives were unforgetable. We had Leon for a guide who had a nice pace and tempo. We would often stop just to listen in the wild, which proved very productive for bird or animal sounds. The experience was beyond anything we had expected. We spent one morning watching Leopards mate from about 30 feet away, another we followed a pride of lions with cubs and watched them try to hunt an impala. At one point we were 15 feet away. Ebony was better than Sweni for animals, but both experiences were different enough that I would split the days.
We ate lunch at Boulders and viewed a room. I have no regrets now about Ebony having tried to book Boulders first. We spent very little time in the room, but when we were there, it was beautiful beyond comprehension. The vibe was Hemingway at Ebony. The vibe at Boulders feels more like a modern art museum with no real passion. The wine room was fun to see, but keep in mind that Singita owns 70,000 bottles of wine and if you are a fan, make an appointment for a private tasting.

Room Tip: Schedule a wine tasting. If you can't the wine shop is behind the gift shop. Don't miss the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feeskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I will start by saying that we visited Ebony for 3 nights after spending 2 at Swenii Lodge in Kruger as part of our honeymoon. I do not think that anything will come close to topping our time at Swenii as it was hands down our favorite hotel ever. That said, Ebony was amazing. The attention to detail and staff really set this place apart from others where we have stayed. We had liked a certain bottle of wine while at Swenii and when we arrived found it waiting in our room/house. It just made the entire time feel special. The food was delicious (but better at Swenii). We had amazing game drives -- thanks Dave! -- who really did a great job of seeking out sightings. We had particular luck spotting leopards, which we saw all but one game drive. Pretty amazing. If there was anything we would change it would be that the rooms could use a refreshing/update (particularlly the lighting system). But it really was a magical place to spend out honeymoon. I almost cried when we had to head to the flight home because it was such a wonderful place to be.

We tried to take advantage of all that Ebony had to offer -- we enjoyed a delightful wine tasting in the cellar, the boma under the stars, and I had an amazing massage (one of the best ever when I compare it to the states or the other places I've been). It was amazing. All in all -- the trip was just wonderful.

With that said, we did take lunch one day at Boulders Lodge. I think that this more modern, sleek lodge was more of our style and if we are lucky enough to return one day to Singita, would prefer to stay there over Ebony. You really can't go wrong -- it is just a matter of personal preferrence with style.

Room Tip: All are great room, but the lower the number the farther away from the main lodge. We liked the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redhead2681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Singita Ebony Lodge located in the heart of the Sabi Sabi Game Reserve is an exceptional hideaway that offers the best game drives in the Kruger. The lodge itself has a cornucopia of amenities that enhance ones experience at Singita Ebony in such a positive way. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave you will be bombarded will sincere and excellent staff all greeting you and making your stay far more memorable. The lodge is located just ten minutes from the nearest airstrip and offers a possible six dining locations excluding your room.

The game drives at Singita Ebony are truly spectacular, offering a view of dozens upon dozens of types of animals. Throughout our drives we were accommodated by Ricardo & Lawrence, two extremely knowledgeable people who I highly recommend requesting as they are the most remarkable people but all guides seem extraordinary. It is also available to go fishing, bush walking or bush running with your guide during the day time if you like to keep busy. Just a mild ten minutes into the first game drive Lawrence spotted a pride of lions all located near a waterhole and we managed to get a near 3 metres away from them. The sightings similar to the lion sighting just went on the whole eight game drives we went on and the big five plus an extra 6 or so major animals were seen at a close distance in a very close amount of time without any rush. Excluding the big five we sighted a cheetah perfectly siting on a close log, two leopards eating their caught prey, a clan of six hyenas, half a dozen dazzles of zebra, journeys of giraffe, rafts of hippopotami, countless herds of impalas, baboons and dozens of types of birds.

A special occasion is when the guide has dinner with your group as it is a great experience to learn more about the guides prior experiences and stories. This is usually when Boma happens which is an African style outside dinner with varieties of food and meals. The Singita choir was truly something special as they offered the most beautiful renditions of African songs and portrayed magnificent African dancing abilities. Dining at Singita Ebony is made even more special because all guests have their own dedicated butler. Our butler, Auto, was exceptionally friendly and knew what exact types of foods we liked just after a few days. Auto truly made the Singita Ebony dining experience very memorable.

The rooms at Singita Ebony are truly quite nice and offer a traditional African lodge style look. If you are expecting a more modern type theme or only like modern styles I would recommend the Singita Lebombo or Sweni lodge. For the premium paid there are a few faults in the lodge that could be highlighted. The bathrooms are in need of an upgrade and the technical side of the room such as the light switches and dimmers are quite out of date and confusing. The plunge pool although is quite lovely to have and all rooms have a marvellous view over the Sand River. Everything else is good if you are a fan of contemporary lodge styled accommodation.

The Singita Ebony Lodge is the first Singita lodge made in 1993 that highlights classical African styled accommodation. The game drives are truly the prominent high points of the experience as seeing the wild life and animals actually in the wild acting like they have naturally for thousands of years is truly superlative. A magnificent feature of the lodge is that in early December 2013 Singita Ebony received brand new Land Rovers for game drives which have multiple features and offer great high views as well as holding compartments, blankets and optional camera sitting stations. The staff also have a second ingenious way of locating animals through communicating with other staff members on the radio. The guides and trackers inform you of so many unknown facts that makes the drives so much more rewarding. The distinguished game drives and more then delightful staff members make a stay at the Singita Ebony truly unforgettable and highly worthwhile.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maxamoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
4.6 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
468 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#11 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
525 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
359 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
433 reviews
3.6 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Ebony Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Ebony Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the original Singita lodge, Ebony stands steadfast amongst enormous trees on the banks of the Sand River in the heart of South Africa's 'big cat country.' The lodge takes safari design and style to a new level with a fresh and contemporary interpretation of the classic safari lodge, combining tented camp and bush lodge style. Guests are immersed in nature with huge open spaces and interiors inspired by a combination of local tribal culture and the animal kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Singita Ebony Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singita Ebony Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Singita Ebony Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing