We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the bush Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tydon Bush Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tydon Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New Plymouth, new Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved the bush Camp”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Bush camp and 3 nights at the main camp.
The Bush camp is an awesome experience. To be able to hear the animals at night and even have a visit from a hyena while we were having dinner was a unique experience. The setting is fabulous – just 3 tents surrounded by trees, a lovely deck to relax on during the heat of the day and a very attractive dining room. The tents are very comfortable and we were looked after the whole time with excellent service, good meals and superb game drives. Being right in the reserve means the action starts the minute you get on the vehicle. Sometimes we drove for some time without many sightings but the surroundings are so peaceful, the sunsets and sunrises unreal and when the action does start the experience is one to be treasured. Spending time with leopards, lions, a cheetah, elephants, rhino, giraffe, hyena and then the smaller things like dwarf mongoose, civet, tree squirrels, even a dung beetle. Just magic and enhanced by the skill and knowledge of the great guides – Jared, Jacques, Bernet, Debbie and Gavin himself. They go far beyond the call of duty such as during the break between drives one day when we were relaxing and suddenly Bernet was calling us to the vehicle for a very quick drive to the river for a sighting of a cheetah – really special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin and Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
40
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PRESTON
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Tydons bush camp was a wonderful experience, with only three tents it is very relaxing and very personal as you spend a lot of time with your guides. The tents are well equipped with hair dryer and plenty of plugs for charging camera etc. Debbie and Gerard were great guides and we had a wonderful time spending many hours with leopard with kill and watching hyena pinching his food. We also enjoyed doing the bush walk but are not eating any more leaves after watching what the buffalo did with the bushes!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELLAID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed for 2 nights at Tydon Bush camp in March, 2014. Tydon Safari Camp is larger and is on the outskirts of Sabi Sands reserve (still has access to the reserve) while Tydon Bush camp is a half hour drive on unpaved roads further into the reserve. I specifically chose the Sabi Sands reserve with the aim of increasing our chances of seeing the elusive leopard. The transparency of pricing and info on their website is way better than the other nearby camps/reserves. For Sabi Sands it's a great value, yet the accommodations, guides, drives and meals are top notch. Also, Gavin and Vangie were very responsive and helpful during the booking process. Our guide was Debbie who was very knowledgeable and passionate about the flora and fauna. She worked tirelessly for a leopard sighting which we saw on our second drive. The staff were very accommodating towards vegetarians and the meals were great. Kruger is nice, but I would recommend Tydon Bush Camp if you prefer to stay deeper in the bush and to be able to off road to see the animals closer in their habitat.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sak2417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

hey there. we had a great experience in tydon! every guide is unique and we could learn so much about the big 5 and all the other animals, as we could so many during our stay. so friendly and caring people, especially gavin and his family. tydon is perfect located, because of having both: sabi sand private game reserve and kruger park. we like private game reserve much more, because you get closer to the animals. the bush camp is very personal (3 lovely, clean and luxury tents). the cooking was very special, that means very good, because it was original south african farmer's food ;-) like very much. we looking forward to come back (with children;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achim z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Amazing to hear the animals so close, but to glamp in luxury tents with hot showers, comfy beds and a/c. The camp is immaculate, quiet and small with only three tents. Great food and ambience.
The staff, led by Debbie, could not have done more to make our adventure truly wonderful. Their knowledge and passion for the wildlife and their care for their guests was outstanding. If you are looking for a memorable safari experience , choose this organization
From our pick up in Jo'burg to our drop off for our flight, the whole trip was wonderful.
Thankyou, Debbie, Bernet and Jared

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brillo920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

You have to a least spend a night or two or more at Tydon's bush camp while on safari with Tydon. To be able to hear the wild animals so close to you at night is amazing. Staying right in Sabi Sands is the way to go. The camp is small, quiet and very peaceful. The service is the same as what you get at the safari camp as well as the good food. The tents are exactly the same with the same amenities. Highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at both the Bush Camp and the Safari Camp. This review is solely for the Bush Camp. It was overwhelming trying to find a safari camp. Most sites didn't have pricing or didn't get back to you very quickly. Tydon's website was very clear and pricing was listed. Gavin and his wife Vangie responded to our inquiries within 24 hours. They were extremely friendly and helpful. Gavin worked with us in custom tailoring our safari trip. Gavin and Vangie (the owners) personally picked us up from the airport. We happened to have the Bush camp all to ourselves and got a lot of one on one attention. However, since this is such a small camp, I think even if the camp was full you'd still feel very well taken care of. The beds are extremely firm. I thought I wasn't going to like it but my back felt AMAZING in the morning. The tent had AC/heating and a separate private bathroom (in the tent) with a shower. The attention to detail is what really blew me away. In the room, there was water, coffee, towels, shower caps, toiletries, bug spray, and a blow dryer. Everything you could need! We went out on our first afternoon safari drive with Stephen who is phenomenal. He pretty much found us our big five within the first two drives we were there! Each night for dinner, one of the staff members hosted us. So we got Stephen the first night, Gavin himself the second night, and my personal favorite Jared. Aside from a drive into Kruger with Jared, (who is by the way, a gem. Funny, knowledgeable, and sweet) most of our drives were with Lyam. Lyam is an excellent guide. He is so intent on pleasing his group. He REALLY tries hard to get you to see the animals you want to see. As I mentioned, each night we had dinner hosted around a campfire. These dinners were phenomenal. All the food at Tydon is top notch FYI. Some of the food we ate there was better than the fanciest restaurants I've eaten at. The whole experience was, as I said, life changing. Please do not pay attention to the low amount of reviews compared to some of the other camps. You will NOT be disappointed if you pick Tydon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
3.3 mi away
Machate Inn
Machate Inn
#6 of 8 in Kruger National Park
18 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
288 reviews
4.4 mi away
Notten's Bush Camp
Notten's Bush Camp
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
478 reviews
15.3 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
373 reviews
9.6 mi away
MalaMala Main Camp
MalaMala Main Camp
#1 of 3 in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tydon Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tydon Bush Camp

Property: Tydon Bush Camp
Address: Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tydon Bush Camp in Sabi Sand Game Reserve. Tucked away in the southern part of the world-renowned Sabi Sand Private Game Reserve is our exclusive Tydon Bush Camp. The intimate Tydon Bush Camp is located inside Sabi Sand, which shares unfenced borders with the world-famous Kruger National Park in South Africa. This tranquil tented safari camp is ideally situated within one of the best game viewing areas of the prestigious Sabi Sand Reserve. Set within the Greater Kruger Park, our easily accessible, yet private bush camp awaits you. Accommodation at Tydon Bush Camp is in three comfortable tented-rooms with en-suite bathrooms. These semi-luxury permanent tents provide an authentic African bush experience in understated, traditional safari style. Each canvas tent is tucked away in the bush on a raised wooden platform, offering guests privacy. Every tented-room has its own little deck area, featuring a camping table and chairs for relaxing in nature. Guests can choose between tents with double beds or twin beds, all with en-suite bathrooms fitted with a basin, toilet and shower. These air-conditioned tents are equipped with side tables, bedside lamps, hairdryers and tea and coffee making stations. This completely private bush camp features an outdoor dining boma set around a campfire, for lantern-lit evenings under the stars. There is also a thatch-roofed dining lapa for serving meals indoors. The dining lapa is a combination of brick, canvas and thatch, and includes a comfortable lounge area.Guests can relax and enjoy the peaceful natural setting from the viewing deck, nestled in the indigenous vegetation at camp. At Tydon in Sabi Sand we ensure that you enjoy a safe and undisturbed safari experience, by only allowing children over the age of 16 to stay at the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tydon Bush Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing