We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,055)
Filter reviews
1,055 results
Traveler rating
909
113
23
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
909
113
23
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury suite watering hole sabi sands bush walk our honeymoon wild dogs huge deck before dinner hoedspruit airport herd of elephants water hole three nights outdoor shower safari experience the reserve buffet style general staff
Filter
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 1,055 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We were so delighted with our stay at Elephant Plains. Everything about it was terrific - staff, accommodations, food, activities and of course sightings of animals. The drives were great fun and we enjoyed our morning walks into the bush. We would recommend the experience to anyone interested in a wonderful adventure hosted by friendly and knowledgeable people in comfortable, up to date facilities. And, the food was delicious!! Check Elephant Plains out before you book your next safari. You won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfl406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Liverpool, United Kingdom
44
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We stayed at Elephant Plains for 4 nights in January and loved our visit. Maybe not the best time of year to visit as the bush was very thick so animals hard to spot, but we still had a good range of large and small animals, birds etc. Highlight must be the leopards. Wow!
Everything was good - food, staff, all excellent. Loved eating in the boma at night, we had rondavel 5 which we had been recemmended to ask for and the view was one of the best.
Highly recommend this lodge which came up much cheaper than many others, mainly we guess because drinks were not included in the price quoted, but that's not a problem.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2011

Hi there! This is just a quick note to thank you for the kind review of Elephant Plains that you posted on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back again some day. Regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Elephant Plains was everything we had hoped for and more. Every moment of our 4-day stay here was a joy.

Our rondavel accommodation was spacious and well-equipped, with a lovely bathroom that included huge glass-sided shower, large, new bath and twin basins.

Wayne, the head ranger, led us on our eight thrilling game drives in which we saw something different every time, with many, many sightings of the big 5. We even saw leopards mating, which is an exceptionally rare thing to see. Lions mating? Well, that’s just par for the course.

There are two swimming pools with decks overlooking the bush, and game can often be seen from here. The public areas – dining room, lounge, bar, etc are all very inviting and of a very high standard.

I had a massage at the lovely spa, which has huge glass walls also overlooking the bush and I would highly recommend the experience.

The lodge has a very relaxed atmosphere and was pretty full most of the time and we met an interesting mix of people from all over the world – no one nationality predominated.

If there was anything at all I could criticise it would be the evening meals (which I see others have mentioned, too). Breakfasts are good, and the buffet-style lunches are different and delicious every day, but on three of our four days I found the dinners all but inedible. Still, they are jolly affairs, eaten round the boma in good weather, and it seems picky to complain at all when everything else about Elephant Plains deserves six stars.

Date of stay: January 2011
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Amazonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Manager at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2011

Thank you for your kind review of the lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back to EP one day! I'm sorry that you say that dinner was not very good, if we knew abot your problem while you were here, we might have been able to sort it out. Apologies for that! Regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Just back from two nights here as part of a family South Africa trip. I cannot recommend this lodge highly enough. When you see what other lodges charge it is difficult to see why this one is such great value. The luxury rooms were very nice and had everything one might need. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The game drives were excellent with ranger Richard and tracker Clement getting us up close the to Big 5 many times. We even got to see a baby Zebra being born, a lion killing a bufalo and much more. The food was reasonable - breakfast was good, lunch and dinner were set dishes but were satisfying. We drove here from KMIA airport - it is a 3 hour drive with the last hour on poor road surface. I would highly recommend but might consider flying to Hoedspruit or the lodges own private airstrip. However a one way road transfer does give you a good insight into the local life.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please visit EP again one day! Regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We had a very warm welcome and every member of the staff was very friendly during our stay. The personal approach from every member of staff really made a difference.
The surroundings were fantastic and our room "Zebra" was huge with our own sun deck - amazing view.
We had some fantastic game drives with our ranger Wayne, he's a great story teller and we got really close to the animals.
Don´t miss one of the spa treatments. Having a massage while enjoying the view of the plains and waterhole is just impossible to describe. A definite must do.

If one thing did not live up to our expectations, it has to be dinner. The surroundings were fantastic, but dinner fell a bit short of everything else that was just fantastic.
Lunch and breakfast were excellent.

We would love to visit Elephant Plains again some time and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lassenorrepedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews