We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Just back from two nights here as part of a family South Africa trip. I cannot recommend this lodge highly enough. When you see what other lodges charge it is difficult to see why this one is such great value. The luxury rooms were very nice and had everything one might need. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The game drives were excellent with ranger Richard and tracker Clement getting us up close the to Big 5 many times. We even got to see a baby Zebra being born, a lion killing a bufalo and much more. The food was reasonable - breakfast was good, lunch and dinner were set dishes but were satisfying. We drove here from KMIA airport - it is a 3 hour drive with the last hour on poor road surface. I would highly recommend but might consider flying to Hoedspruit or the lodges own private airstrip. However a one way road transfer does give you a good insight into the local life.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please visit EP again one day! Regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 861 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2010

We had a very warm welcome and every member of the staff was very friendly during our stay. The personal approach from every member of staff really made a difference.
The surroundings were fantastic and our room "Zebra" was huge with our own sun deck - amazing view.
We had some fantastic game drives with our ranger Wayne, he's a great story teller and we got really close to the animals.
Don´t miss one of the spa treatments. Having a massage while enjoying the view of the plains and waterhole is just impossible to describe. A definite must do.

If one thing did not live up to our expectations, it has to be dinner. The surroundings were fantastic, but dinner fell a bit short of everything else that was just fantastic.
Lunch and breakfast were excellent.

We would love to visit Elephant Plains again some time and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

As the other posters have already stated, this game lodge was amazing. The staff were very attentive and accommodating. No request was too much trouble. The guides and trackers were friendly, knowledgeable, and fun. The food was pretty good - it definitely filled you up. The grounds were beautiful....lots of flowers and a great view of a watering hole down below. We saw leopard, rhino, hippo, giraffe, zebra, lion, buffalo, elephant, and impala on our drives. The guides get you really close to the animals. Overall, our stay was an incredible experience. We definitely recommend Elephant Plains Game Lodge and would love to go back someday!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlg0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We will remember our four nights at Elephant Plains vividly for the rest of our lives... We landed at KMIA in poor weather, and worried that our air transfer in to the game lodge might have trouble with the low clouds... Not to worry, Elephant Plains had already rescheduled us for a road transfer and our driver was waiting when we arrived at KMIA. We got to the lodge shortly after the evening game drive had already departed, but the staff asked the ranger to come back and pick us up, which he did gladly. Five minutes into our first drive, we were photographing a lioness and her cub, and the game viewing just got better from there. Every detail was executed to perfection by a staff clearly committed to providing an unforgettable experience for their guests. Our ranger, Wayne, was entertaining and extremely knowledgeable - we continued to learn over the course of all eight game drives. EP borders the exclusive Londolozi game preserve, and for a fraction of the cost offers an incredibly luxurious experience with phenomenal opportunities to view the Big 5 plus much more. We were celebrating our honeymoon, and when we returned from dinner on our last night, they surprised us with a bottle of bubbly and a candle lit bubble bath, marked by fresh flower petals leading from the door to the bath - their attention to detail was fantastic! I highly, highly recommend Elephant Plains to anyone visiting South Africa and hope that I am lucky enough to return there some day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at Elephant Plains Game Lodge and had the time of our lives. We never believed that we would see animals so close to the jeep. We saw all of the big five (except rhino) over the course of four game drives and saw lions on every one of our four game drives including a kill. Elephant Plains has thought of everything - cream sherry and hot towels to welcome guests back from evening game drives, hot water bottles on the morning drives, marshmellows for roasting over the boma fire at night. Thanks for making our trip so special - staying at Elephant Plains was the highlight of our three and half weeks in South Africa! We will be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I’ve been trying to figure out why Elephant Plains is more affordable than all the other lodges in the Sabi Sand reserve and I am struggling to come up with anything! My wife and I spent a couple of days at Elephant Plains and at another pricier lodge in this reserve and I must say that Elephant Plains was by far superior in almost all aspects. It is extremely clean, modern, the grounds and facilities are gorgeous, the food was satisfying, the staff is excellent, and overall is run very smoothly.
Maybe geography is a factor with the lodge’s pricing as the territory covered in the game drives isn't huge relative to some of the other lodges' limits and there is no access to a river. However, there are surrounding lodges with higher prices and similar conditions. The watering hole in view of the lodge is small but does attract game; when we arrived we were welcomed by a herd of buffalo and impala.
I’ve stayed in a few five star hotels and I must say this truly feels like a five star lodge with many amenities such as a spa, billiards room, and even a gym. Maybe an official five star designation was not possible due to minor details such as the lack of a phone in the room; the phone we did not even miss as everything you will ever need is provided for you in your room.
I was even expected to receive an incorrect invoice with our drink totals and we skipped the beverage stop in one of our afternoon drives but not to worry, all the charges were correct (not the case with the other lodge we visited).
The animal sightings were decent, as you can expect for the area. Encountering wild dogs was exciting though unfortunately it was in the dark! We did only see one leopard in our four drives with only distant rhino encounters but such is the nature of game drives. I’m only mentioning this as a reminder that there are never any guarantees. You can be assured though that if there is a good sighting in the area, you will probably not miss it as there is good communication between the guides, including with guides from neighboring lodges.
To top it off, as this stay was part of our honeymoon, the lodge even offered a couple of nice surprises.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Windy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed here for two nights for our honeymoon. I would recommend staying three nights. Unfortunately our flight was delayed to Kruger so we missed our first game drive. I would also recommend flying into Elephant Plains if your budget can handle it as it is a good 2.5 hour drive from Kruger airport.

We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite which was gorgeous. The room and the deck were huge. i had the best nap ever on the outdoor chaise lounge. The only problem is you can't see the watering hole from the deck. I would recommend staying in Room #5 to get better views. The staff went out of their way to make it a romantic stay for us. On our last night we got back from dinner to find flower petals leading us to a bubble bath and champagne.

The game drives were great. They are at 5:30 am and 4 pm. On the night game drive they offer a sundowner which is an extra cost but worth it to enjoy a drink while watching hippos splash around. The drinks were a fair price - under $5. They also greet you with a hot towel and glass of sherry when you return.

The food was just ok. At breakfast you can order eggs and toast and they have a spread of fruit, yogurt, etc. Dinner around the fire is such a cool atmosphere that it didn't really matter that the food wasn't special.

We had such a wonderful time and highly recommend Elephant Plains.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
6.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
430 reviews
3.9 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
454 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
328 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Plains Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Plains Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $482 - $835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Plains Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Plains Game Lodge is situated in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park. This owner-run lodge caters for the discerning traveller, with a variety of accommodation options including 5 Rondavels, 6 Luxury Suites and a Honeymoon Suite. Activities include two daily game drives and a bush walk. The lodge also offers a spa, gym, conference facility / TV room, games room, small library and two swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Plains Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Plains Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Elephant Plains Game Nelspruit
Elephant Plains Game Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing