We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,128)
Filter reviews
1,128 results
Traveler rating
978
115
24
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
978
115
24
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury suite watering hole sabi sands bush walk wild dogs our honeymoon self driving herd of elephants before dinner safari experience three nights hoedspruit airport the reserve water hole outdoor shower buffet style kruger park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 1,128 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

An excellent 2 night stay. Very professional rangers who new their stuff. We had great game viewing. The food was good and the service attentive. I would recommend this place for pleasant and relaxed break in the bush.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank GeorgeT3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you for the kind review and compliments. I am glad that you enjoyed the game viewing, food and our attentive staff. Thank you also for recommending us. Please do visit us again one day. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018

I actually planned a trip to Africa just to stay here and it totally exceeded our expectations. I booked a family Rondavel for 2 night which was super luxurious, with 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms. It had an indoor and outdoor shower and a bathtub. The room had a huge balcony overlooking the waterhole where we even saw elephants drinking water. Safari was the best we have ever been on. We have been to Kenya and this turned out to be better than that. We saw a pride of 11 lions walking right by our vehicle, leopard stalking an impala and a leopard sitting on the tree. We even saw a massive hippo grazing on the grass, male rhino following female rhino, male leopard and elephants.
For food, we are vegetarians, and the chef really knows how to prepare veg food. She prepared veg curry with quinoa, veg puff, pasta and wraps for each meal. It was absolutely delicious and we craved their food for the rest of our trip.
Service was top notch too.

We loved every bit of it and wished stayed longer.

Room tip: If you are a party of 4, just book family rondavel
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kavita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Hi Kavita, thank you very much for your kind review and compliments. I am glad that you decided to plan your whole trip around staying with us, and that we exceeded your expectations. I'm sure the family agreed in the end. :-) Thank you also for the lovely video and blog that you shared with us! Please do visit us again one day. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018

We stayed in Elephants Plan for 2 full days. Part of Sabi Sands the game drives were very good and our guide / tracker Gerhard and Chris went out of their ways to accommodate their guests.The accommodation itself however was disappointing: our room was simply not clean, showers with dripping water and broken window not replaced. The staff itself is friendly and helpful but the manager was nowhere to be seen. At 650 euro’s a night we expected more. The good was “ OK’isch” but nothing more.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FellowTraveler823013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the game drives. In connection with your room, the cracked glass was due to the previous guest that slipped and fell. As you might have noticed, we are situated quite far into the bush and it takes time to replace things like these. Especially if the room has been booked out far in advance. Please do note that the glass was cracked and not broken as you stated. You would be glad to know that we are currently doing a complete refurbishment of that specific room. It will open again by the end of the month. Our manager was on leave at the time of your stay, but if there was anything specific that you needed to discuss with management, you could have asked at reception and someone would have been able to make sure that the right personnel approach you. Once again, I am sorry that you feel that we are not great value for money. In the Sabi Sand we are known for this. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

Game drives were great, courteous and welcoming staff. Rangers know their business very well.
I suppose the owner believes in offering true affordable services.
Stayed here for one night even though one night is too short, but was made to feel comfortable from the get go.
Stay here for at least 2 night here people - it’s completely worth it.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nishant1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you for your kind review and compliments and for calling us perfect - what a lovely compliment! You are correct in saying that we believe in offering truly affordable services to our guests! That is our aim. I agree with you that one night is definitely too short. Please do visit us again one day, in order to experience us even better. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018

A great place for thrilling game drives and to relax! Due to times constraints we spent one night at Elephant Plains only but really enjoyed its very obliging service and hospitality. We had the pleasure staying in room #1 that is more than spacious and styled very luxury. While lunch and dinner were very good already, the breakfast after a successful morning drive was outstanding. Elephant Plains is definitely worth coming back.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cruiser39548217568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review and compliments and for calling us a hidden gem. What a nice thought... It's a pity that you only got to spend one night with us. Please do visit for longer next time. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews