We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

If you can take your eyes off Marne, the ranger, you are sure to see the big five! Ladies...he is hot!! The game drives were incredible. We sat among lions, rhino, leopard...the lot. We even witnessed an elephant charge the lions out of the area. A lil scary but a memory we will always have. The accomodation was stunning. The food was beautiful although a kids menu would of been appreciated. Overall we had a fantastic stay that words cannot describe. We will treasure our memories forever.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachBol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    93
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
191
448
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon in November and stayed in the honeymoon suite. Words can truly not express how magical this lodge is.... from the delicious food, the great service, the knowledgeable rangers to the multitude of animals. Nothing can top watching a leopard teach her two young cubs how to hunt and eat , or to be in the middle of a herd of elephants, or to see a pride of lions up close! I researched Kruger lodges for months and feel confident that we could not have found a better lodge for a better value.
The staff does everything so well. They provided a complimentary bottle of champagne on our arrival and even prepared a special birthday cake for my wife's birthday and all sand to her during lunch.
We will definitely go back to South Africa and can't wait to go back to Elephant Plains!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2010

This place is just great, from the staff to the rooms to the game driving experience, it is hard to put together how smooth and pleasurable our experience at Elephants Plains was. This lodge had a very competitive price compared to the other lodges around. We make a great decision to stay here.
The food is really good and there is a nice selection of healthy foods. Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner is the best I have had during my whole stay in South Africa. The homemade foods are simply delicious and the staff pride themselves in what they do. Though a 4 star resort it has everything 5 stars about it. I would recommend this lodge any day.

We stayed for 5 days; we got to see the big 5 in the first 2 days. If you are staying 5 days plus, set aside 1 day and organize a day trip into the Kruger Park or for general sight seeing outside the game lodge.

If you want game experience, Elephants plain has lion, buffalo, leopard, elephant and rhino and lots of other game and birds. Bring a good camera with a nice zoom and lots of memory.

Elephants Plains is a safari paradise.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

my wife and i stayed at elephant plains for 2 days and it was unbelieveable. everything from the moment you arrive to your departure is magical. check in was good, staff were very friendly, the rangers were excellent and what can i say about the lodge. 2 wonderful pools, plenty of deck to check game and gym and spa. we stayed in the honeymoon suite which was so worth it to spend that little bit more money. we had a huge deck over looking the plain. our own pool and sala. the room is huge and just magical if unlike us you are on honeymoon.the luxury lodges and the rondavals are also well appointed and located along the bank and also hight recommend if you dont want to spend all you money on the honeymoon suite. the game drives were very good with the rangers communicating between them so when ever someone sees any animals all the other vehicles can join in afterwards. it amost garantees sightings. we saw the big 5 on our first game drive. if you want to see animals come here and not kruger as its a private game reserve there are not governed by the rules that kruger impose on their lodges which means that these guys get to go off road and follow the animals so you can get to within metres of the animals. the rangers know you are there to take photos so they make sure you get the right lighting by moving the vehicle around which is some thing you wouldnt expect but it is that service that thrives here. game walks are also a treat with the ranger explaining all about the smaller animals and plants/tres in the reserve. you really get to learn alot.

breakfast is served buffet style and then you can order hot breakfast which was lovely everyday. lunch is a buffet which was light and changed daily. you get to stop while out on a game drive to have either tea/coffee in the morning and drinks for the evening. dinner is served in the boma with starters and dessert plated to you and main course is buffet with a choice of 2 items. food while not being fancy plated and award winning it was fantastic and i could not fault it. we returned after every meal saying we were so full and happy. well done to the entire staff as they made you stay wonderful. i would highly recommend this place to people that want to see good game but dont want to pay stupid prices for the other expensive game lodges in sabi sabi, the animals are no different. we will definately be back for our second stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

We spent two nights at Elephant Plains as part of our honeymoon and loved it. We stayed in one of the luxury suites and thoroughly enjoyed the "outside" shower that looks out onto the plains. There's nothing like taking a hot shower while watching a herd of elephants. We loved the special touches - from the complimentary bottle of champagne to the one-page stories left on your pillow in the evening. Our ranger, Wayne, was extremely knowledgeable and we learned a lot about the animals, the plant life and the birds. The game drives were very enjoyable and we had some great sightings (lots of leopard). We were disappointed that we didn't see any lions or rhinos but don't attribute that to the lodge or to the rangers (animals move in the wild, after all).

The food was good (not spectacular) and they were very accommodative to vegetarians and people with special dietary needs. They did a boma one night for dinner (tables arranged in a circle around a bonfire) although we preferred the dining room dinners since the setup allowed for more socializing.

We did have ants that would crawl in from under the door (wish it was sealed a little better) but this wasn't a huge deal. We were in the wild, after all.

Be careful when you leave the lodge if you drive yourself, one wrong turn and you could end up (as we did) on a river bed in a little hatchback that is not equipped to handle the terrain. Not something you want when you are surrounded by wildlife. We were eventually able to maneuver the car out and find our way back to the lodge and find our way out from there.

But, these are minor gripes and I would absolutely go back to Elephant Plains, it is well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

We decided on Elephant Plains for our first safari in South Africa after much research and we could not have been more happy with this choice! From the moment we arrived, everyone and everything greatly exceeded our expectations! The lodge and grounds are beautiful; the rooms (we stayed in the buffalo room) are very large and very comfortable with verandas you can sit and enjoy wildlife right outside your room! The food was supurb and the hospitaility of all the staff was exceptional!! Our ranger was Mornet and tracker was Prince, but we had meals and drinks at the bar with the other rangers Wayne and Richard too! Most importantly, the game drives and viewing were unbelievable! As soon as we arrived we had about 10 min to freshen up before going on our night game drive and right before leaving our room, we heard something outside our veranda. We were amazed to walk out and see 2 elephants eating some trees right outside our room! We then were lucky enough to see all the Big 5 on our first game drive!! The Land Rover are extremely comfortable to ride in and Mornet was very knowledgable about everything in the bush .. and had great sense of humor too! The game viewing was unbelievable everyday! This was an experience of a lifetime and we will never forget this place and hope to be back soon!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberkbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

The bumpy ride from the Hudespreuit (sp?) airport to Elephant Plains Lodge took 1 and 1/2 hours.
Everything from then on was simply wonderful.
The staff could not have been more gracious.
The accommodation for three was lovely. The food was excellent.
Above all, the game drives were fantastic. We were blessed by having Stephen as our guide. He is the Lodge manager, and went out of his way to find wonderful sightings.
On the last evening we saw two leopards mating- a rare treat.
Lions were very scarce, but we saw several leopards.
The value seemed as good as it gets.

We highly recommend Elephant Plains Lodge

The Knight Family,
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulmodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
7.5 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
16.1 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
7.5 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Plains Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Plains Game Lodge

Property: Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Plains Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Plains Game Lodge is situated in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park. This owner-run lodge caters for the discerning traveller, with a variety of accommodation options including 5 Rondavels, 6 Luxury Suites and a Honeymoon Suite. Activities include two daily game drives and a bush walk. The lodge also offers a spa, gym, conference facility / TV room, games room, small library and two swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elephant Plains Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Plains Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Elephant Plains Game Nelspruit
Elephant Plains Game Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing