We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Safari Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed for four nights and sighted Lions with cubs, Leopards, Rhinos, Elephants, Hippos, Wild Dogs, Buffalos, Giraffes, Zebras, Hyenas, Wart Hogs, a Waran, a Honey Badger, dozens of spectatular birds, insects, flowers, and, and, and. Sabi Sand is a private game reserve, but not a fenced in zoo, the animals roam freely about thousands of square Kilometers in the Kruger National Park.
Our ranger and tracker provided real quality sightings for us. It is exciting to follow fresh tracks of an animal and then like in a real hunt maybe fail because it is getting dark or succeed and make spectacular photos.
We enjoyed the bush adventures, the competent explanations of our ranger, the kind service in the lodge and the excellent meals. Elephant Plains overlooks a river with a huge wild pasture on the opposing bank where we observed elephants, Zebras, Impalas and Kudus during our meals.

Room Tip: The rooms on the right side of the central building are better to observe the grazing elephants, Imp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Matthias
Thank you for your kind review and for all your compliments. I am glad to read that you enjoyed seeing so many different animals. Thank you also for the compliments on our guides, the other staff members and our excellent meals. We would love to welcome you back again one day. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 860 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

It was an amazing experience to be hosted at Elephant plains lodge. the whole crew is extreme attentions and focused on turn our stay as pleasing as possible.
we expent 2 nights were, despite the rain, everything was perfect.
the food is fantastic, the wineas are great, and yes... there are also the wildlife view, which is an extra when looking for the rest.
i do reccomend to stay there, but if you can, plan to be in drier times, as it will be easier to see wildlife, and to go.

Room Tip: all rooms have the same view, to the backyard river and fields. the best is the honeymoon suite, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi Eduardo
Thank you for your kind review and for the nice compliments on our staff members, food, wine and rooms. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back again one day! Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a wonderful experience and saw all of the Big 5! Saw the animals in some pretty incredible situations! We had a wonderful ranger and tracker! Also, there is a large watering hole right across the way from the lodge where animals can be seen throughout the day drinking. The food was fine. Great value!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruiserLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your kind review and for pointing out that the game viewing at EP is great! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back to the lodge again one day. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Elephant Plains offers the luxury game lodge experience without the wallet withering price tag. We were booked into the honeymoon cottage which offered the privacy of your own plunge pool, indoor/outdoor showers, spacious bath, living areas and covered veranda where we enjoyed watching a troop of vervet monkeys. The restaurant offered a wide variety of high quality and flavorful dishes. We were assigned the team of ranger Devon and tracker Vusi for the duration of our stay. It was an exceptional game viewing experience: Rhinos, Elephants, Cape Buffalo, male and female leopards, hyena, hippos, giraffe, impala, kudus, zebra and on and on !!! A post morning game drive bush walk with Devon gave a unique micro view of the Sabi bush. The well trained and friendly staff made you feel pampered and appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBSilverthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review and compliments on the rooms, food, staff and game drives. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back to the lodge again one day! Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Elephant Plains. We have been to other safari lodges however we found this one THE BEST for game viewing, accomodations and price point, therefore when we booked another safari our "educated" choice was Elephant Plains, as we were so impressed the first time. In the 3 days we were there we saw the big 5 more than once, a attempted lion kill, lots of action and so many youngsters, as in cubs, a week old baby elephant, etc. Louis was amazing, he interprets all the sightings sharing his knowledge with such humor. The guides are in radio contact to notify each other of sightings so no one misses out on the happenings in the bush. The Land Cruisers are sturdy, safe, and leveled so everyone has a most excellent vantage point. Peter was very helpful, the wait staff, especially Remember was excellent, my husband had a wonderful massage, honestly everyone was extremely welcoming, friendly & professional. Our only complaint would be as much as we enjoyed breakfast each day they need to either fix or replace the expresso / latte maker please! The last time we stayed in the Leopard Room, this time in the Family Rondeval, both rooms are quite nice, clean & comfortable we prefer the luxury rooms only because they have a private viewing deck with spectacular views of the river and the surrounding area. Suffice to say we would not have returned unless we had a truly amazing experience the last time and this time was no different, we highly recommend Elephant Plains and hope to return one day again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We always love return guests because it shows that they were happy the first time they visited us! Thank you for calling us THE BEST for game viewing and also for all your other compliments on the lodge. Concerning the espresso machine - it was indeed replaced. I am sorry that it did not work while you were here, but due to our proximity to town, things can't always be sorted out the same day... I am sure you understand this. Thank you fro the compliments and special mention of certain staff members. I will make sure that they read your review. Please also recommend us to your family and friends back home! Rod of mouth is our biggest marketing asset! We can't wait to welcome you back for a third time! Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2014. From the moment we arrived we knew this place was going to be amazing. ALL of the staff go out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. We stayed in the Rhino Room, a luxury room that was immaculately clean and beautiful and closest to the main lodge. We loved it. Our ranger Morne and tracker Derrick were excellent and knowledgeable. Every drive Morne would ask "what's on the menu guys?" and do his very best to fulfill our wishes. We saw the big 5 within 2 drives plus lots of zebra, giraffe, wildebeast, nyala, kudu, warthog, hippos, impala, jackal, beautiful birds and more. I was mesmerized on every drive and always felt safe in the open air Land Cruisers. The food was delicious, varied and plentiful with lots of fruits, veggies, salads and meats. We particularly liked the dinner in the boma around the fire. I liked the fact that this was a smaller camp as it felt more personal that way. We met some great people here and loved hanging out at the bar and comfortable lounge area. I must send a special thanks to Janine (sp?) for the amazing service she provided at the health spa. I splurged on a body scrub, massage, mud wrap and facial. It was so incredibly relaxing and I fell asleep to the sounds of African drum beat and elephants trumpeting. Pure heaven. Thank you Janine! I would recommend Elephant Plains to everyone without hesitation. It was our first safari and it certainly won't be our last. I can't wait to return to EP one day soon! Thank you for your hospitality and all the special touches!

Room Tip: I have no doubt all the rooms are great, however we were very happy with the luxury room as they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaDreamer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you can't wait to return. I will make sure that the staff get your compliments. Please do recommend us to your friends and family back home. We are waiting for you to return, sooner rather than later. Keep well in the mean time. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My friends and I stayed at EP from Jan 24-28. This was my 2nd safari in Africa, the first being a budget camping safari in Tanzania. But this was the first safari for my 3 girlfriends. We stayed in a Family Rondeval - 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms which was perfect. AC worked well, hot water inside and the outdoor (lovely) shower. The first thing that struck me was the kindness of the staff -w which is talked about a great deal in the forums. It's very true, the people make the place. First off, on our drive into EP via Gowrie gate there was a very unfriendly protest going on because of the death of a Rhino poacher (yes, I said unfriendly!) In any event, EP called us to make sure that we were safe on our self-drive journey and to warn us to use a different gate to enter the Reserve. The they sent someone to meet us and bring us EP. That kind of service was exceptional considering had we made the turn to the Gowrie gate, we would have been stuck potentially for hours and missed out first game drive. once we got to the hotel they staff help up gets ready quickly for the first drive which was amazing. In the 6 game drives and 1 walking safari - even with some rain- we saw the big 5 and almost several times. I finally saw the Leopard on the move - in the Serengeti he was always asleep. And we even saw the Rhinos. IMO Sabi and SA is very different than drives in the Serengeti and the parks in that area in terms of abundance of game. But that made no difference to me or to my friends who were first timers. Seeing any amount of these animals and any animal what so ever (we got excited for turtles, birds, lizards, etc. etc.) is truly a life experience - to watch them as they live, to show such rep[sect for them, to see them allow US to watch them from such closes distances, it's beauty beyond compare and quite humbling. I could never ever get tired of seeing elephants, giraffe, zebra lions no matter how many times I see them. I could have done 50 more drives - rain or no rain. Louis was our guide and Tom our tracker and they are the most lovely people, which such incredible experience, stories and a deep understanding and respect for their roles in Sabi. We got to know almost all the staff at EP, who will no doubt remember the NYC girls! The food at the lodge was perfect and incredibly abundant - we were stuffed every night. The value for $ is astounding and I would certainly return here regardless of whether my budge could afford more. It's that good and the people are that good. We had a truly magical experience and cannot wait to return. Without hesitation I highly recommend EP for all types for traveler from retired, to honeymooners, to families to solo. And the massage.... oh the massage!! Treat yourself, you will not be disappointed. The lodge is lovely and the lounge room was so cozy, we hung with the staff each night til 11pm telling stories and laughing - despite our 5am wakeups. I really enjoyed the 3 level seating in the jeep, and we always got so close, but safely close to the animals. For anyone who has never been on safari in Africa, I assure you, you will not feel unsafe. Such a nice treat to pull over in the bush for sundowners during evening game drives and for coffee and hot chocolate during morning drives. I truly enjoyed my time at EP and look forward to returning with my family and little nephews one day soon. They are an amazing group of people and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There are rooms with viewing desks, but don't get fussed over those. The Rondevals were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annmarie1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EP2, Owner at Elephant Plains Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Hi Annmarie, thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to read that you guys enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for all the compliments - on the friendly staff, the rooms and surrounds, game drives and of course the meals. I will make sure to pass your compliments especially to Louis and Tom, who will definitely remember you. Please recommend us to your friends and family back home. I think the nicest compliment you gave us was to say that you would choose to return, even if your budget allowed you to go to a more expensive lodge. I think that just about sums it up! We would love to welcome you back one day. Kind regards, Marlet Swart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
6.1 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
429 reviews
3.9 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
453 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
326 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Plains Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Plains Game Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $481 - $834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Plains Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Plains Game Lodge is situated in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve, which forms part of the Greater Kruger National Park. This owner-run lodge caters for the discerning traveller, with a variety of accommodation options including 5 Rondavels, 6 Luxury Suites and a Honeymoon Suite. Activities include two daily game drives and a bush walk. The lodge also offers a spa, gym, conference facility / TV room, games room, small library and two swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Elephant Plains Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Plains Game Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Elephant Plains Game Nelspruit
Elephant Plains Game Lodge South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing