We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my expectations have all been exceeded!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tydon Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tydon Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“my expectations have all been exceeded!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had a quick safari with Tydon tours, 3 days and 2 nights! The location and rooms were so comfortable and absolutely safe! The food, hospitality and homely environment of the accommodation made me feel, a solo traveler feel extremely relaxed! I appreciated the attention to detail, and the obvious passion that all staff had for their jobs! Each person I met, Gavin, Debbie, especially made the safari a special experience! The game drives were highly professional and very intimate. Debbie my guide was thoroughly educated and really tried her best to make the most of the short time that I had to see the animals! Thus experience could not be topped - amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmySkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
82
123
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have arrived to Tydon purely based on Tripadvisor recommendations, and they were all correct.
The place lives by the great hospitality of the owners, and the professiionalism of the guides.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay, and do not be concerned about the "tents" - they provide a better frame of mind for getting close to the the safari feeling.

A longer and more detailed report after we unpack our bags, but this is by far our greatest positive surprise

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoram_Shimoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My 13 yr old son and I did a 4 day safari. It was our first experience and it was just amazing seeing so many animals. Gavin and Wengie were great hosts - I did the outward trip from Jo'burg to the camp with one and the return with the other and they gave me such insight into the life in South Africa and their life on the farm.
The guides Lyam and Steve (we did a walking safari with him) were so knowledgeble and taught us so much in such a short time. By the end of the 4 days I felt ready to take people on a safari myself. Lyam was brilliant with the children and even with the adults and their never ending questions. When he picked up and got bitten by a snake he became our Bear Grylls!
We loved both the off road drives in Sabi Sands and the road drives in Kruger. The evening in the camp were magical and the food exquisite!
Even the 'hippo' pool at the camp where we studied the insect life of the bush was very welcome after the hot and dusty drives.
An excellent experience which I would recommend to anyone.The perfect balancebetween a family run atmosphere at the camp and the extreme professionality of the guides.

Room Tip: The tent next to the amazing yellow bird that sings in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 30Bridget1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went on a 6-day Safari with Tydon Safaris, staying at this Safari Camp. "We" were a mature couple and our daughter and son-in-law. It was an unforgettable experience run by a very talented team. Unlike many bigger outfits, Tydon Safaris offers a very personal service, not least because the owner, Gavin, the Camp staff and the wildlife Guides all take part in the daily life of the Camp - and treat you with such thoughtfulness.
The animals and birds, even the flowers were all stunning. The vehicles were really excellent for viewing the wildlife. The combination of daytime road drives in Kruger and daytime offroad drives, walks and night drives in Sabi Sands is perfect, as you see so many completely different habitats and wildlife.
The guides were simply wonderful, not only in their amazing ability to find so many animals and instantly identify just about anything we saw... but in giving us so much of their time, between safaris – sharing tales around the braai under the stars, and helping us identify our animals and birds, while going through our photos over lunch in the thatched lapa.
On the last day, our guide for that day, Steve, actually asked us "what would you like to see", and I'd really been hoping to spot a chameleon. This seemed so unlikely that my family laughed about it... but what was the first thing Steve found for me, that night by torchlight? A flapnecked chameleon!
The Camp is real luxury, the "tents" are more like little houses on stilts, with canvas roofs and ensuite bathrooms! The evening meals around the braai are superb.
The pickup from Jo'burg airport (for my husband and I) was reassuring for us, as I was a bit nervous of the city; but it is quite a long drive. Our daughter and her husband were already in Nelspruit, though, so we collected them from Nelspruit airport on the way to the camp. From Nelspruit to Kruger is very scenic and a much shorter journey.

Room Tip: ALL the "tented rooms" are equally luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran-and-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Tydon provided an absolutely amazing experience!

Gavin and his team and family were so friendly, welcoming and extremely knowlegable about the area and the animals that it gave us a wonderful, full-rounded safari experience! The guides (Stephen and Debbie and tracker, Ty) knew where to go to see the animals which allowed us to see all of the big 5 in just 3 days (including 2 leopards close up in one sighting and a black rhino!). Everything is run like clockwork whilst still remaining relaxed and homely, with wonderful accommodation in luxury tents with ensuite and the best food SA has to offer! They even wake you up in the (very early) morning for the safari trips! We also had no stress in being picked up and dropped off from/to Jo'berg (even going out of their way to find a driver who could take us to where we needed to go). You can see that they really care about the place as well as the environment and animals around them.

Tydon is definitely value for money and we definitely recommend the Kruger + Sabi experience! We hope to go back again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Skhor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I received a short assignment for South Africa and wanted to do a safari - it had to be safe because I was a woman traveling alone. Gavin patiently answered all my questions and provided an awesome experience. This included transport from Jo'burg with Joy - who provided an excellent introduction to many aspects of life in South Africa. The camp exceeded my expectations - truly luxury in a tent! Food - outstanding! Tours included Sabi Sands and Kruger. The camp was near the Sabi Sands fence and yes I heard lions at night! A highlight was a dawn safari in Sabi Sands where we came really close to some napping buffaloes. Our tracker ensured our safety - and was very knowledge about tracking animals for our viewing.

Overall a totally awesome experience. I highly recommend and would choose Tydon Safaris is/when I return to South Africa.

Room Tip: All accommodations are upscale tents - some for couples and some for families. Includes private bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Tydon has raised the bar on hospitality, service and client expereince to new heights! Saying that they care if you have a good time is an understatement! It feels like you are at home with family, with the yummy food, good conversation by the camp fire, and the all day safari trips!
It is worth every penny. Dont be surprised if you hear a pride of lions roaring at night, or a bull in the bush behind or tent or even find lepord prints on the campsites.. it is an amazing yet safe expereince. Our safari was incredible!! We got to be inches away from the animals and got to really experience it up close and personal. The guides take the time out to explain everything to you and are more than happy to answer any questions you have.. no matter how many times they must have heard it they respond like its the first.

We looked into several safaries before booking and I am sure none can match the personal touch Tydon offers!
I have never seen an organization where from the owner (Gavin), to the guides (Debbie and Liam) to everyone else involved show the same level of care, courtesy, and personal touch. It is really a great and unique experience!! We hope to do it again!!!

Room Tip: They have 2 camps and we stayed at the 'smaller' one which is in the wilderness with wild an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
1.2 mi away
Notten's Bush Camp
Notten's Bush Camp
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
526 reviews
4.3 mi away
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
478 reviews
6.2 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
288 reviews
11.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
324 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tydon Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tydon Safari Camp

Property: Tydon Safari Camp
Address: Shaws Gate, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the shade of indigenous trees, this visual oasis of inspirational elements combines to culminate in this magnificent Tented Safari Camp. Intimate and comfortable, yet simplistic combined with excellent service, the Camp creates a traditional African Safari feel to your journey, and you can be forgiven for thinking you were transported back in time to an unspoilt and unexplored Africa. Sharing its borders with the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve which forms part of the Greater Kruger region due to having unfenced borders with the Kruger Park, Tydon Safari Camp offers guests a unique opportunity of staying in permanent semi luxury tented rooms and experiencing wildlife game drives and bush walks in the Sabi Sand as well as the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tydon Safari Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing