We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome safari experience”
Review of Tydon Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tydon Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome safari experience”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My friend and i had limited time so just booked in for a 3 day safari and weren't sure if this would be enough. On reflection i think we should have adjusted our safari to at least 4 days but had a fantastic and saw so much in the time we did have including the big 5 and many more. It was great going into kruger but we really enjoyed sabi sands too as we were able to go offroad and for night time drives to see different aspects that we couldn't in Kruger. The accommodation was fantastic, basically a nice hotel room but just in a tent. The hospitality far exceeded our epectations. We were picked up from J'burg by Gavin and taken to the camp, on arrival we were greeted by the rest of his family and the guides. For the rest of our stay they were always on hand to make sure we were ok, comfortable and most importantly had a drink!. The evening were really nice spent around a campfire listening to their stories of game drives, animal sitings, life in kruger etc. and eating delicious food, with the wine flowing. The weather was gorgeous while we were there (beginning of october) so it was nice to relax by the pool in the daytime. It got a bit cooler at night on the game drives but a jumper was fine for this. All the game drives were really fun and our guide (Debbie) was really good at explaining all the different birds/animals we saw and giving some info about them. We were then driven back to j'burg via the panorama route which was an added bonus as we wouldnt have got a chance to see God's window etc. if this hadnt been offered. All in all we had a really fantastic time and would highly reccommend Tydon. Definitely go for at least 4 days if you can to enjoy a bit more time in sabi sands and hopefully a walking safari which we missed out on due to time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    25
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
126
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Tydon Safari Camp is a truly amazing place. We had 4 days of exceptional wildlife watching in Sabi Sands and Kruger National Park, spotting the big 5 and so much more.

The level of service at the camp is exceptional. Gavin, Debbie, Jackie, Liam and Steve ensured that every moment of our stay was perfect. Their knowledge of both parks and the wildlife therein provided us with so many amazing sightings including mating leopards on our first evening, 3 rhinos on the walking safari, 4 other leopard sightings and a family of cheetahs on our final afternoon. Back at the well designed camp they ensured that the atmosphere was very relaxed and that we were well fed and entertained.

We had considered driving around Kruger in a hire car and I can't stress how pleased I am that we chose Tydon instead. I doubt the experience would have been half as good without the ability of the guides to find an abundance of wildlife on which they could then educate us, not to mention the great views available from the jeeps.

We're desperate to go on safari again and will definitely return to Tydon when we next visit Kruger.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I feel the description of Tydon needs to be broken into two parts, the hospitality (tents, food, hospitality) and the Safari (tours, guides and vehicles).

Additionally, the time of year you visit and the weather you encounter will color your opinion of your trip. We were fortunate to be at Tydon at the end of August and the weather was decent (hot and cold but no rain).

Hospitality:
Gavin and Vangie run a first class operation. To begin with, the staff is amazing. The food is great and plentiful; the tents are very comfortable and spacious. We had a lovely Boma dinner the first evening we arrived. It was fun to enjoy the camp fire and company.
The tents allow for ample room and provide hot and cold showers. I admit I was hesitant at first for the idea of tents, but found the experience to be worthwhile and not Spartan as I feared.


Safari:
The location is great and allows access into both Sabi Sands and Kruger National Parks. We were able to do night safaris in Sabi Sands, seeing a bush baby, giraffe, elephants, cape buffalo, a hyena and more. Each of the guides we worked with (Debbie, Jackie and Steven) were knowledgeable and extremely personable. If you get a chance to take a walking safari with Steven you will learn more about animal tracks and poop than you can ever imagine. Debbie was very helpful taking photos for us of a leopard cub (due to crowds and jeep placement she had the best angle) and Jackie shared her great knowledge of the animals and flora we encountered.

We had two days in Kruger and were very fortunate to see the Big 5 both days. We also saw a honey badger, zebras, giraffe, hippos, hyenas, tons of birds, baboons, vervet monkeys, wildebeest, warthogs and the list goes on. Our second leopard sighting was amazing as were two of the lion encounters.

Tydon uses two types of jeeps, covered for Kruger and uncovered for Sabi Sands. It was nice to experience both. On cool mornings or evenings make sure you ask for a blanket to block the wind.

Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: There are no bad tents at Tydon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica_H_513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed with the Tydon gang from 29th Aug-31st Aug on our first family safari & already are looking forward to a possible second time with them;) While booking our trip, we had many options, but the deciding factor was the fact that they did their game drives in 2 locations, Sabi Sands & Kruger park, making sure that you get the best of both. Price wise, it is similar to other lodges in Sabi Sands( I did a lot of shopping around & price comparisons before deciding on them) but what sets them apart is the personal experience. From the email exchanges with Gavin & his wife Vangie(who answered my multiple questions every time), to the excellent guides Debbie & Jackie, to the great tasting food & the very comfortable tents with everything that you need, what sets the experience apart is the personal touch. Gavin himself picked us up from Johannesburg airport & drove us back to camp( a 10 hour round trip). Then he still cooked for us that night. Our sons who are predominantly vegetarian, even converted to eating chicken, once they had tasted a bit of mine;)

The game drives were excellent, with Jackie, our guide willing to patiently stop & wait while we took pictures of the game. Her knowledge of the animals & birds was extensive. And then after long drives through the park, we would come back to a delicious dinner, prepared by Gavin & everyone would gather around the fire to swap stories & pictures about the day. Dinner was always followed by delicious desert. The wine was plentiful;) No better way to end the evenings!

Everything that we wanted was provided for- from a basket of laundry(N$150-well worth it) to Jackie sitting with us at breakfast that last morning & identifying every animal we had seen from our photos(so that we didn’t forget any by the time we got home) to the boys having their own tent. We loved it;) And the icing on the cake was seeing the big 5!;)

Are there cheaper or fancier options out there-sure! But like they say, you get what you pay for & we found our experiences & our memories well worth it! Would not hesitate to recommend them very highly!

Gavin is also opening a newer, slightly more posh camp in November- we hope to go back some day & revisit;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manasi_kar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Tydon Safaris offers the best of the bush with the comforts of home. We did the 4 day Kruger Park and Sabi Sand Experience. This all-inclusive package provides the best of both worlds with everything taken care of in between!

From the beginning, Gavin responded to all of our inquiries in a prompt and professional manner. Our guides, Liam and Debbie were absolutely excellent! They really shared their passion and knowledge of the bush and animals; it was really special to watch them at work.

The camp is wonderful - definitely a labour of love with impeccable attention to detail! The limited number of tents makes it feel like a more genuine and personalised safari experience.

Thank you Gavin, Vangie, Liam, Debbie, Jackie (even though we only met you briefly!), Tyron, Donovan, and the rest of the team for all of your hospitality and a really special safari experience!

Tydon Safaris combines a high degree of professionalism and attention to detail with a homey atmosphere in the bush! I would not hesitate to recommend it 100% and I cannot wait to return!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

If tripadvisor had a 6 star rating, Tydon Safaris would definitely deserve it! I am a young professional from Toronto currently working in Johannesburg. I recently visited Tydon Safaris with two of my co-workers over an extra-long weekend. Gavin and his staff provided us with the perfect safari experience! We did the 4 day Kruger and Sabi Sands package and were very lucky to see all of the big 5 (including a baby leopard!!). Gavin’s rangers (including his 2 sons) were amazing! They were extremely knowledgeable and taught us a lot about the bush. Everyone at Tydon was very friendly and approachable – it felt as though you were visiting friends for a weekend. Although the atmosphere was laid back, every aspect of this family-run business exuded professionalism. Their attention to detail in every aspect of the weekend did not go unnoticed. It is apparent that they have put a lot of effort into ensuring they provide their guests with a flawless visit and they have definitely succeeded in doing just that! The amazing food (based on family recipes) and the tent accommodations completed the perfect bush experience while providing all the comforts of home. The thing that sets Tydon Safaris apart from their competition is Gavin and his family. You can immediately tell how passionate they are about the bush and that they are dedicated to providing a top-notch experience to each and every one of their guests. The only complaint I have about my time at Tydon Safaris is that it was not long enough! I will definitely be returning to visit my friends at Tydon again and I recommend that you do the same – I promise you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family of 4, kids age 9 and 14, have just returned from the best trip we've ever taken.
Gavin recommended a guest house in JoBerg, they met us at the airport and our guide drove us to camp the next day. We had 7 unbelievable days of game drives at Kruger and Sabi Sands, we saw literally hundreds of animals. The Big 5 were seen in close proximity within the first 24 hours!
The tent accommodations were more than comfortable. They are more like upscale canvas cabins. The food was very tasty and plentiful, we all enjoyed trying the South African dishes. Dinner by the fire was a real treat, giving us a chance to mingle with guests from all over the world. Wine and beer was always available, and again very tasty.

Thank you Gavin, Vangie, Jacky, Lyam, Debby, and all the rest, for an experience my family will never forget! We hope to be back some day.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RtcLopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
4.4 mi away
Notten's Bush Camp
Notten's Bush Camp
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
538 reviews
11.6 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
385 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#6 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
384 reviews
12.0 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
397 reviews
9.1 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tydon Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tydon Safari Camp

Property: Tydon Safari Camp
Address: Shaws Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the shade of indigenous trees, this visual oasis of inspirational elements combines to culminate in this magnificent Tented Safari Camp. Intimate and comfortable, yet simplistic combined with excellent service, the Camp creates a traditional African Safari feel to your journey, and you can be forgiven for thinking you were transported back in time to an unspoilt and unexplored Africa. Sharing its borders with the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve which forms part of the Greater Kruger region due to having unfenced borders with the Kruger Park, Tydon Safari Camp offers guests a unique opportunity of staying in permanent semi luxury tented rooms and experiencing wildlife game drives and bush walks in the Sabi Sand as well as the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tydon Safari Camp South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing