We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic bush experience”
Review of Cheetah Plains

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheetah Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Cheetah Plains was the last stop of our two-week SA holiday and it was a great choice! It is a real authentic experience in the bush, you feel close to nature, yet very comfortable.
Doctor was our great guide, he is incredible. We loved his style and appreciated his knowledge, after quite a few safaris, we still learnt a lot. One of the afternoon drive started really quiet, when he spotted many vultures on trees. However first we did not see the hooded vulture that is a clear indication that there must have been a kill. Doctor was absolutely mad to figure out if there is anything, so he looked for the hooded vulture, and guess what? he found them! He drove into the bush and we found seven lions eating on an old buffalo bull. It was a unique experience to be part of his tracking and "expedition". I must also mention the great meals we had: beef lasagne, beans for brunch and mouth-watering steaks for dinner, all just perfect! Friendly people, always smile and help. It was just a perfect finish of our SA holiday!

Room Tip: The normal bungalow was a bit small for 3 of us, next time we go for the bigger ones. Nevertheless i...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zsolt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
African Secrets M, Team Member at Cheetah Plains, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Zsolt M,

Thank you very much for visiting Cheetah Plains and for taking the time post a review with such kind words. We hope that you will return to us when you visit South Africa again.

Until next time!
Team Cheetah Plains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Cheetah Plains
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 269 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

Tour was put together by "The African Adventure Company". Outstanding hospitality including, but not limited to, Jackson, Willem, and Doctor! Exceptional, dawn and after tea game drives. Amazing meals and a beautifully appointed lodge and quarters . OUTSTANDING !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
African Secrets M, Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback Ed and for visiting us! We hope you return again soon.

Wild Wishes
Team Cheetah Plains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a great place to see the Big 5! We even saw them on our first drive!
If you want a relaxing stay, alongside fantastic drives then this is the place to stay - it had everything we wanted.
In the morning you are woken by a friendly member of staff at 5am. The morning drive is a bit chilly - so do take a coat (although they give you blankets as well). After this, there is a brunch at 10am which has a wonderful selection of food and you eat round a large table with all the other guests. This reserve has a very social and friendly feel to it.
You then have some time to relax by the pool watching animals graze - as you are only parted from them by a 1 wire electice fence.
In the afternoon there is an afternoon tea, followed immediately by the evening game drive.
At 8pm there is dinner outside overlooking the reserve, the guests told us that the night before we arrived a lion actually came into the dining area and the staff had to intimidate it to leave! That's just how close you are!!
The dinner was delicious and it was a nice touch to have our driver/tracker Andrew with us for dinner. He was great company.
Andrew was just fantastic on our drives and his knowledge was incredible. The nicest touch was the time he had to talk to us during the morning coffee or sundowner drinks. Hearing about the history of the area, and his town was so memorable. It was lovely to get to know him - he is a credit to Cheetah Plains.

Room Tip: Have a massage - although be careful...if you say hard it is quite painful!! We had a luxury room a...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slaird_215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
African Secrets M, Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us slaird_215 ! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and that we could make your visit a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Team Cheetah Plains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

You go to see the animals " up close", and we certainly did. A long lense for the camera is not necessary. We were in many cases within 5 yards of the animals. We saw the big 5 and much more.

The lodge was clean and well cared for, the meals were great, and the staff was excellent. The experience certainly exceeded our expectations.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ashby_brownii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
African Secrets M, Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are so happy that we could meet your expectations and hope that you will return again soon!

Wild Wishes
Team Cheetah Plains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Loved every second I spent here. Fantastic staff, Willem,kelly,amy, andrew,doc,colen to name but a few
Fantastic food,game drives and a beautifully comfy bed what more could you want. Thanks again for giving me some amazing memories. I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paters2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

You are most welcome for the memories Paters2012! Thank you so much for choosing Cheetah Plains and for taking the time to post a review for us! See you soon.

Wild Wishes
Team Cheetah Plains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived in time to go on the evening game drive on our first day, on that first evening we saw elephants, giraffes, buffalo, hyenas and to cap it all, a female leopard and her cub. We followed the leopards to where the female had made a kill, absolutely amazing!! It just got better and better. On one morning game drive we saw a cheetah, buffalo, lions, a leopard, wild dogs, elephants, giraffes, zebra, hippos and rhino, never mind the big 5, we saw the big 7. How do you top that? Very comfortable accommodation, fantastic food, delightful, helpful staff and the guides who took us out, Andrew and Doctor, quite simply amazing. Their knowledge of the bush and the animals they showed us is incredible. A huge thank you to Willem, Kelly, Amy and all the team but especially to Andrew and Doctor who gave us the experience of a life time. Would highly recommend Cheetah Plains to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BerkshireJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Jenny,

Thank you for the kind words and lovely review! We are so glad we made your holiday a memorable one and hope you visit us again soon.

Wild Wishes
Team Cheetah Plains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fabulous accommodation and game viewing. Our ranger drove right off road so we got the most amazing and intimate views of the animals. Watching a pack of wild dog tearing apart an impala right next to the vehicle was an experience of a life time not to mention a similar close encounter with a lion kill. The staff were all friendly, welcoming and helpful. Just wished we could have stayed longer, one night is no where near enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlamelilyForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

One night is definitely too short FlamelilyForever ! We hope you'll visit us again soon and stay for a little while longer! Thank you so much for the lovely review.

Wild Wishes
Team Cheetah Plains

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
2.5 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
409 reviews
11.7 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
422 reviews
6.9 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
321 reviews
5.6 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
842 reviews
12.4 mi away
Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheetah Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheetah Plains

Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Mpumalanga, South Africa, Kruger National Park 1383, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $139 - $1,894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheetah Plains is a small, authentic bush camp in the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve, with 500 hectares of privately owned land & another 8000 hectares of additional traversing - you can be assured of exceptional game viewing - especially leopard and the rest of the "big 5". Cheetah Plains has only 8 traditionally thatched rooms - set amongst indigenous gardens - creating a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.We focus on freshly produced meals in wonderful surroundings - complementing the friendly and attentive service from all at Cheetah Plains. We look forward to welcoming you to our special bush home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheetah Plains South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing