We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting, Exciting, Exciting!”
Review of Cheetah Plains

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cheetah Plains
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Exciting, Exciting, Exciting!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you are looking for an exciting Safari experience; this is the place. Action packed activities, great smorgasbord food choices, small intimate camp. We even saw a Leopard from the Lodge, via their spot lighted area across a pond.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chances99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed all aspects of the lodge. That open area infront of the lodge is also one of my favourite spots, especially when the spotlight is on during dinner time in the boma, there is always something to see out there.
We hope to see you again soon, please stay in touch
Wild wishes
Willem du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    36
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
65
114
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cheetah Plains. The entire team made us feel welcomed upon arrival until the sad day when we had to leave. We selected Cheetah Plains as the camp size seemed fairly small and it didn't feel to touristy or commercial rather. Our rooms were cosy and we appreciated the air conditioning. The outdoor shower had plenty of hot water. The food was tasty and of course the drives were incredible! We saw EVERYTHING! Prides of Lions and lion cubs, packs of elephants, cheetahs, giraffes and more! When we weren't on a drive the camp was quiet making a nap around the pool or reading a book in a hammock relaxing and peaceful.

Overall our visit to Cheetah Plains was perfect and I would recommend this special place for anyone considering a safari holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffSeattleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Jeff,
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it. All of us here at Cheetah Plains really enjoy what we do, and we are always happy to share our beautiful corner of the world with our guests.
Cheetah Plains, is ultimately a traditional bush lodge, and we would like nothing more, than for our guests to experience an authentic safari, with great game viewing experiences, fire cooked meals and great conversations around a crackling camp fire and just relaxing. We are very pleased that that was your experience.
We hope to welcome you back to our lodge soon, please stay in touch
Wild wishes,
Willem du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was truly a great experience and I will highly recommend to anyone looking for a experience of a life time with great friendly staff, excellent cooks and extremely knowledgeable rangers. The grounds are well maintained along with great accommodation. I would suggest avoiding rainy season, as game drives are very dependent on road conditions. Also plan for no less than a week to really experience the nature and wild life at its best. I want to specially thank the following folks for making my trip a memorable one.
Andrew for always accommodating and being an amazing ranger with deep knowledge of nature and wild life
Richard for great food
Goodman for night walks and morning wake up calls
Kelly for listening
Candice for my massage
Thank you all!!!.
Simi

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
“Experience of a Life time!!!”
Hi Simi,
Thank you for your kind words. I have shared your review with all the staff mentioned and they were all very happy to hear your feedback. We are very pleased that we could all play a part in ensuring that you have the experience of a lifetime.
You have a very valid point regarding the rainy season. If we had heavy rains for a couple of days, we are restricted with the roads that we can use, and the amount of off-roading we can do. However, luckily we have a very large traversing area, so it ensures that there are enough “hard” roads to also travel on, till the smaller roads dry out again.
Please stay in touch, you are very welcome to share some of your pictures with us on Facebook, we would love to see them.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Wild wishes,
Willem du Toit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Cheetah Plains during our honeymoon. We cannot say enough about this amazing experience and the great team that made it all possible.

First, the facilities... Cheetah Plains has impeccably groomed grounds and lodging. We've heard horror stories about some outfits but this team makes sure the grounds, lodging, meal areas, everything is clean, tidy and accessible 24x7.

Second, the safari.... wow. this is different than a Kruger experience where you see large groups of animals far off (no knock on Kruger since game can be close up to). Cheetah Plains has a perfect location with HIGHLY skilled guides that track game ensuring you will not only create the best chance of seeing the Big 5 but they will get right up next to them! I have pictures of lion prides from 7 feet away, a herd of elephant 5 feet away and numerous other species. Their guides will customize to what you want to see that day as well!

Finally, the people... the staff at Cheetah Plains takes pride in their lodge and work. Everyone is cheerful, helps with any and all questions and in general goes out of their way to make sure you enjoy every part of your stay.

I've already referred Cheetah Plains to friends who were in awe of our photos.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
“Lasting Honeymoon Memories!”
Hi Mike,
Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate it. All the staff are very pleased at your kind words, and we are delighted that you enjoyed everything at our lodge.
We all love what we do, and are happy to share our wonderful bush home with our guests. We are honored at we could play our part in ensuring that this special honeymoon trip of yours is more memorable.
Please stay in contact, you are most welcome to post some of your pictures on our Facebook page, we would love to see them. Thank you very much for also referring us to your friends.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Wild wishes
Willem du Toit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have just returned from 4 days in the Sabi Sands , staying at the Cheetah Plains lodge . The staff , accomodation , meals and game drives were excellent . The only difference from previous experiences at other "famous" lodges in the area , was the price which was 50 % cheaper .
I must make a special compliment to Andrew , the Game Ranger , and Michael the Chef .

Room Tip: Room no 8 is bigger , but all the rooms are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andycluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Andy,

thank you for your review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Cheetah Plains.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Wild wishes,
Amanda Vermeulen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The accommodation is very small and basic (yes I know we are there to see game but compared to other places and the price you pay it was disappointing). The greeting we received on arrival was tired and unwelcoming. The whole place felt like it needed to be managed more effectively. Our driver "Doctor" was the worst we had in our 5 lodges we stayed at. Constantly reversing and attempting to follow tracks which never seemed to bear fruit. He is quite arrogant also. The other terrible (and I mean terrible) thing about this place are the game viewing trucks. Everyone is seated a long way back from the driver so you can't hear what is being said. All the seats are on the same level too which means the back two rows get views of the back of the heads of the front row(s). The swimming pool was uninviting as you couldn't see the bottom due to much cloudiness. At least the drivers could go offroad but still glad we only spent 2 days there.

Room Tip: No room to unfold suitcases
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bigbruceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Public Relations Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Bruce,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that Cheetah Plains did not live up to your expectations. We are proudly a traditional bush camp, with standard, comfortable rooms and very competitive rates.

Our staff are warm and friendly, all our guides are qualified and experienced. Your feedback on Doctor, comes as a great surprise to us, as guests who have driven with him in the past, have been complimentary about his communication skills and level of experience, as well as the game viewing opportunities he found for them. In order to find animals it is often necessary to stop and reverse to check tracks, especially if you are looking for a specific animal. Often the tracks are old, in which case you have to abandon them and look for new ones. It is all part of the game drive experience.

We have noted your comments about our game drive vehicles. All our game drive vehicles are new and in a pristine condition.

In summer, when we have rain often, it is unfortunately not always within our control to have a sparkling blue pool all the time, please be assured however, that our groundsmen, clean the pool twice a day, and tests the water regularly to ensure that imbalances are restored as quickly as possible.

Trust this will assist you,
Wild Wishes
Amanda Vermeulen
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hahei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was an amazing experience with , great staff who loved to share their love of the game park. We were made to feel very welcome and would certainly love to go again, and we recommend if you want to go to a game park in South Africa to go to Cheetah Plains..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemdutoitgm, General Manager at Cheetah Plains, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
==============================================================

“Game Reserve Experience”
Dear Maureen,
Thank you for your kind review. I are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we also hope to have you back for another visit sometime in the near future.
Wild wishes,
Willem du Toit
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
2.5 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
402 reviews
6.9 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
446 reviews
5.7 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#15 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
320 reviews
11.7 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheetah Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheetah Plains

Property: Cheetah Plains
Address: Sabi Sand Game Reserve | Sabi Sand Game Reserve, Mpumalanga, South Africa, Kruger National Park 1383, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheetah Plains is a small, authentic bush camp in the world renowned Sabi Sand Game Reserve, with 500 hectares of privately owned land & another 8000 hectares of additional traversing - you can be assured of exceptional game viewing - especially leopard and the rest of the "big 5". Cheetah Plains has only 8 traditionally thatched rooms - set amongst indigenous gardens - creating a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.We focus on freshly produced meals in wonderful surroundings - complementing the friendly and attentive service from all at Cheetah Plains. We look forward to welcoming you to our special bush home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cheetah Plains South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing