We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LONDOLOZI - THE ABSOLUTE BEST EXPERIENCE OF YOUR LIFE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“LONDOLOZI - THE ABSOLUTE BEST EXPERIENCE OF YOUR LIFE!”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Caveat: My wife and I have traveled to popular and exotic locations across the globe for over 15 years. We typically buy on value, yet often stay in 5-star hotels.

Whatever words I write will under-express my wife's and my recent experience under the care and feeding of the fine people and accommodations at Londolozi. It's among the most valuable and rewarding money I've ever spent. We can't wait to return.

-Location & Game Drives: The most abundant, most diverse game reserve in the world. We saw EVERY creature imaginable--multiple times--thanks to the brilliant work of Ranger Malvin and Tracker Milton.

-Accommodations: A more intimate Four Seasons/Ritz Carlton in the middle of the African Bush. From our personal Chalet with private deck and plunge pool, to the common areas where we enjoyed hanging out with fellow guests and staff, we could not have been more impressed.

-Staff: The friendliest and most attentive in the world.--and passionate about what they do and where they do it. Nicole (camp manager) and Nomsa (chief of everything else) could not have been more on their game. Duncan (overall property manager) is the class of South Africa. Malvin and Milton, our Ranger and Tracker, are the best in the business and now personal friends.

-Food & Beverage: Diverse, exotic and filling (we ultimately began skipping lunch to make room for the spectacular dinners)!

-Fellow Guests: Lot's of unique people from all over the world, whom we got to know personally.

Two Notes:

-We stayed at the spectacular Tree Camp, but checked out the other four camps while there (and are in easy walking distance). Each is unique and beautiful in its own regard. When we return, we quite likely will consider Varty Camp as the price point is a bit lower due to slightly smaller rooms, yet you still enjoy the full game drive experience, which is what this trip is all about.

-Londolozi is family-run by Shan & Dave Varty (whom we had the pleasure to meet). The family-owned nature of the operation made an intimate impression during our stay and I believe would be very difficult (if not impossible) to replicate at a corporate-owned lodge.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironwine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
121
205
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

After having bitten by African bug in 2008, we decided to go back to Sabi Sands for game drive experience in Nov 2010. This time, my wife and couple other friends stayed in Londolozi Tree Camp for 3 nights.

Tree Lodge in Londolozi excels in many ways. You get all the high quality service standards a hotel can offer and more. We felt as part of the londolozi family rather than a guest, because the staff were extremely friendly. The rooms were spacious and comfortable enough to make you feel at home.

However, we were more interested in the game drives than the accommodations. We had 6 exceptional game viewing, all big five, leopards mating, baby giraffe and elephants and zebra fowl - all exceeded our expectations.

It was also nice to know the family makes substantial contribution to preserve nature. We hope to go there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TolgaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

A collegue and I decided to take a side trip to Londolozi, in between a two week business trip to S. Africa. After a few hours of drive, we got there in the dark. From the minute we pulled in the camp, to the minute we left, we felt being taken cared to every detail. It is hard to believe there is such place on earth, basically, a few extremely nice huts in the middle of total wilderness. The food was fantastic, and they fed us all the time. We went on to three game drives during our two day stay there, saw all "Big five" and more. The ranger and spotter were great guys. They knew the animal very well, and got us within a few steps of lions and leopard. Another nice thing about here, we didn't see any other trucks during our game drives. They planned it out so they won't run into each other. We had the feeling we were the only ones out there, with the animals.

All and all, it was a fantastic weekend. I'll do it again in a heart beat, if it is not for the long flight (over 24 hrs) from US.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TX1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We spent a week at Londolozi and stayed at two of the lodges while we were there -- Granite Suites and Pioneer. From the minute you step off the plane, you know you are someplace special. We had read about how amazing the Londolozi staff are before going but what we experienced far exceeded any of our expectations. Kate and Cry at Granite and Trish and Trevor at Pioneer were incredible. Rangers David and Jess and Trekkers Lucky and Jeffrey just simple rock. The amount of knowledge they shared, ability to find the animals and just pure love of what they do came through time and time again. The accommodations are beautiful, the food delicious, the animal viewing superb -- we saw at least 4 of the big 5 if not all 5 everyday we were there. Everyday the staff seemed to have sometime "special" planned just for us -- picnic at the Lookout, private candlelit dinner on our deck, and more. This is a place you could return to time and time again -- and when you leave, you feel like you have gained a new family. Already planning the next trip back. We have travelled around the world and both agreed at the end our our visit to Londolozi that it by far was top of the list of all the places we have gone. Kudos to the Varty's and the Londolozi family for creating such a special place.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Teka0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Where do I begin...my head is still spinning from such an absolutely amazing experience. Londolozi is indeed very special. From the moment we arrived we were treated like honored guests. The attention to detail and the desire to surprise and delight with special events (eg. lunch in a secluded tree house with elephants below, a special wine tasting because I'm a wine nut, etc) was truly incredible. One particular event is worth sharing with you. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary so one night we had a private dinner on our balconey which was very nice but the truly enchanting aspect was that they had drawn a warm bubble bath with candles and rose pedals laid on the floor with a bottle of chilled champange. Very romantic.

The Ranger, John, who is extremely enthusiastic about nature and the animals, was the nicest guy. We naturally saw all of the "Big 5" but perhaps the most amazing event was the very rare sighting of wild dog. As a dog loving person I was mezmerized.

Well I could go on and on but I think you gather from my effusive expressions that Londolozi is a special place that, if you can afford it, should be your frist choice for a game reserve in South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socal7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Unforgettable safari camp experience. This was our first trip to Africa and we had been to three other safari camps before Londolozi. The others were great, but we saved the best for last. The guides and trackers are incredible. Accommodations are top flight. We stayed at the Varty camp, due to the number of friends we were traveling with. You can't go wrong adding Londolozi to your itinerary.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The lodge has been built in such a way that your luxurious accommodation and the wild outdoors seem to be one common space. The service we received for the duration of our stay was absolutely wonderful. The game drives were spectacular and we saw leopard on all drives that we were privileged enough to go on. There is a strict rule that no more than two vehicles can be at a sighting at any one time so you do not have an excessive number of tourists disturbing the game. I definitely look forward to returning to Londolozi again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBinGhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
7.4 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
372 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
324 reviews
12.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
MalaMala Main Camp
MalaMala Main Camp
#1 of 3 in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
292 reviews
10.3 mi away
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
478 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Property: Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Address: Londolozi, Sabi Sands Game Reserve | Benmore, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Londolozi Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Londolozi Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londolozi Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing