We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing game drives, exclusive lodge with history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2010

After having bitten by African bug in 2008, we decided to go back to Sabi Sands for game drive experience in Nov 2010. This time, my wife and couple other friends stayed in Londolozi Tree Camp for 3 nights.

Tree Lodge in Londolozi excels in many ways. You get all the high quality service standards a hotel can offer and more. We felt as part of the londolozi family rather than a guest, because the staff were extremely friendly. The rooms were spacious and comfortable enough to make you feel at home.

However, we were more interested in the game drives than the accommodations. We had 6 exceptional game viewing, all big five, leopards mating, baby giraffe and elephants and zebra fowl - all exceeded our expectations.

It was also nice to know the family makes substantial contribution to preserve nature. We hope to go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TolgaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 468 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2010

A collegue and I decided to take a side trip to Londolozi, in between a two week business trip to S. Africa. After a few hours of drive, we got there in the dark. From the minute we pulled in the camp, to the minute we left, we felt being taken cared to every detail. It is hard to believe there is such place on earth, basically, a few extremely nice huts in the middle of total wilderness. The food was fantastic, and they fed us all the time. We went on to three game drives during our two day stay there, saw all "Big five" and more. The ranger and spotter were great guys. They knew the animal very well, and got us within a few steps of lions and leopard. Another nice thing about here, we didn't see any other trucks during our game drives. They planned it out so they won't run into each other. We had the feeling we were the only ones out there, with the animals.

All and all, it was a fantastic weekend. I'll do it again in a heart beat, if it is not for the long flight (over 24 hrs) from US.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TX1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We spent a week at Londolozi and stayed at two of the lodges while we were there -- Granite Suites and Pioneer. From the minute you step off the plane, you know you are someplace special. We had read about how amazing the Londolozi staff are before going but what we experienced far exceeded any of our expectations. Kate and Cry at Granite and Trish and Trevor at Pioneer were incredible. Rangers David and Jess and Trekkers Lucky and Jeffrey just simple rock. The amount of knowledge they shared, ability to find the animals and just pure love of what they do came through time and time again. The accommodations are beautiful, the food delicious, the animal viewing superb -- we saw at least 4 of the big 5 if not all 5 everyday we were there. Everyday the staff seemed to have sometime "special" planned just for us -- picnic at the Lookout, private candlelit dinner on our deck, and more. This is a place you could return to time and time again -- and when you leave, you feel like you have gained a new family. Already planning the next trip back. We have travelled around the world and both agreed at the end our our visit to Londolozi that it by far was top of the list of all the places we have gone. Kudos to the Varty's and the Londolozi family for creating such a special place.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Teka0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Where do I begin...my head is still spinning from such an absolutely amazing experience. Londolozi is indeed very special. From the moment we arrived we were treated like honored guests. The attention to detail and the desire to surprise and delight with special events (eg. lunch in a secluded tree house with elephants below, a special wine tasting because I'm a wine nut, etc) was truly incredible. One particular event is worth sharing with you. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary so one night we had a private dinner on our balconey which was very nice but the truly enchanting aspect was that they had drawn a warm bubble bath with candles and rose pedals laid on the floor with a bottle of chilled champange. Very romantic.

The Ranger, John, who is extremely enthusiastic about nature and the animals, was the nicest guy. We naturally saw all of the "Big 5" but perhaps the most amazing event was the very rare sighting of wild dog. As a dog loving person I was mezmerized.

Well I could go on and on but I think you gather from my effusive expressions that Londolozi is a special place that, if you can afford it, should be your frist choice for a game reserve in South Africa.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socal7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Unforgettable safari camp experience. This was our first trip to Africa and we had been to three other safari camps before Londolozi. The others were great, but we saved the best for last. The guides and trackers are incredible. Accommodations are top flight. We stayed at the Varty camp, due to the number of friends we were traveling with. You can't go wrong adding Londolozi to your itinerary.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The lodge has been built in such a way that your luxurious accommodation and the wild outdoors seem to be one common space. The service we received for the duration of our stay was absolutely wonderful. The game drives were spectacular and we saw leopard on all drives that we were privileged enough to go on. There is a strict rule that no more than two vehicles can be at a sighting at any one time so you do not have an excessive number of tourists disturbing the game. I definitely look forward to returning to Londolozi again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBinGhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

I almost don't want to tell you about this place because it is so special. Id love to keep it all to myself but you all deserve to know quite how wonderful it is. We stayed in one of the 3 amazing lodges at Granite Camp. We had Lodge #2 which I think has the best with views down to the river and a mini swimming pool. Every day we were visted by a huge male buffalo and one morning a heard of elephants walked through our garden. The lodge itself was enormous but incredibly chic, sylish and comfortable. All food, drinks, and two game drives a day are included in the price at this wonderful Game Lodge. The staff really can't do enough for you but are discreet and courteous. The food is all made on site and tastes as good as you get in a top class restaurant. I really couldn't fault this place other than we wanted to stay longer. The game drives (one at sunrise and one at sun set) really are indescribable. Make sure you wrap up warm (wooly hats, scarves and gloves a must for when the sun goes down). We saw the big five and were treated to 4 leopards all on the same day. Our guide and tracker were hugely knowledgable and also great fun. They had a great sense of humour and our 7 hours a day out in the bush flew by. Londolozi itself invests hugely in the local community with an onsite school and adult education centre. The work they are doing is really to be admired. This is a real once in a life time place. It is certainly not cheap but we stayed 3 days and 3 nighrts and it was worth every single penny. If you can't get Granite Camp, then any of the other 4 all looked equally amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionathomsonhoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
13.3 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#3 of 13 in Kruger National Park
441 reviews
7.4 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
433 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#11 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
456 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 43 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
359 reviews
8.2 mi away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Address: Londolozi, Sabi Sands Game Reserve | Benmore, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $387 - $2,080 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Londolozi Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Londolozi Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londolozi Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing