We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Sensational - Varty Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our final safari camp on our trip and we were hoping that it would meet expectations (and price). I can say without hesitation that it did and more. This is a true 5 star experience. From the moment we arrived until we departed there was nothing that the staff could not do or try to do to make our stay more enjoyable. We had originally planned to stay at the Tree Camp, but decided on one of the Superior Chalets at the Varty Camp and were exceedingly pleased. We specifically requested Room 9, which is the largest of the Varty accommodations (9 & 10) are the superior suites (I would comment that we did get a chance to see the regular suites at Varty and while they are very nice, they don't compare to the superior suites and I would splurge for the larger one). The room was very large with an beautiful entrance way (including chandelier), his and her sinks, an indoor and outdoor shower, an enormous balcony with pool and a giant closet.

Each of the 5 Londolozi camps are different and separate. The residents of each basically stay within their own camp for meals, drives, etc. We did have occasion to walk to each of the various main camps and were impressed with each of them, but frankly enjoyed the space at Varty best. Varty is the original camp on the property and we were fortunate enough to have John Varty staying at the same time at the camp. A word of note, the Varty and Founders camp are the larger of the 5 camps with 10 chalets (children are allowed at these - fortunately there weren't any during our stay). The Tree camp has 6 and the Pioneer and Granite have 3 chalets each so depending on you personal preference you can choose accordingly. We had no issues with the slightly larger camp and were happy to meet others and share the experience. You do spend a fair amount of time with other people on the drives (at least 6 hours a day) and potentially during meals. We did meet some lovely people who we enjoyed spending time with and our guide Stavros was excellent.

A special comment for the Varty manager, Graeme, who was outstanding and responded to every possible request and really went above and beyond to make our stay magical.

The game viewing was outstanding in the Sabi Sands at Londolozi and we saw every animal we could hope to have seen. Even when we were waiting at the "airport" for our plane to leave, we found out that our plane was going to be 20-30 minutes delayed, our excellent tracker, Exon, took us to the closest watering hole to see a large group of Hippos while we waited. I wish every airport delay could be as wonderful.

Overall, if you are fortunate enough to be able to stay at Londolozi, I can't think of a more wonderful or magical place to stay. I wish we could have stayed longer and would certainly return in a second.

Room Tip: Varty Camp - Room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travbud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Travbud1,

What a special review that you have written and we are ecstatic to hear that you had such an enjoyable visit to Londolozi Varty camp. We will be sure to keep room nine for your next visit!

Much Love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 454 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Londolozi has taken my breath away... The service was nothing short of brilliant, and the leopard spot in particular was the most memorable I have certainly had in the past year of going to the bush.
Londolozi thinks about the small details on how to make you feel comfortable and more than special. They prepared us a sun downer surprise with candle lights, nice food and the background was a beautiful scenery over the moonlight. We both enjoyed the rest of the weekend, and arrived back in Joburg far more relaxed than when we arrived on Friday at Londolozi.
Definitely one of the best places in the world...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Luciana M,

Relaxation is what we want for all of our guests and we are happy to hear that we created aplace for you to go home feeling relaxed! Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I do not want to add to the reviews so far. They are all true and there is nothing to be added on top. It IS! a beautiful place and it is a hospitable place.

I want to focus your attention to the creator: Varty! - I was so lucky to have him around as I was on my Safari in the Founders Camp.

Varty kicked off something what was not possible before.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Kurt C,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and lived up to all the reviews that you have seen! We look forward to having you with us again in the near future. I will be sure to send your thanks onto the Vartys.

Much Love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Wonderful location and area, great camp, lovely staff and management, friendly, efficient and professional. This is the best of the best in every way and I will definitely be returning! Best of all, the game... I've been on a few safaris but the game here was just incredible. Great rangers and guides (Sandros is a star!) help hugely. Thank you Londolozi, my son and I had the most amazing experience and we are very appreciative.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meohmy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Meohmy68

It is so great to hear that you and your son had such a wonderful stay. I will be sure to send your kind words onto Sandros. We look forward to welcoming you 'home' to Londolozi again!

Much Love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Quiet, Picturesque, Wild, Beautiful, Pure, Value, Comfort, Ideal Holiday spot in whole of Africa. Pure Nature at its best. The perfect family outing for 2-3 days. We just loved it, Kids want to go back NOW...!!!

Room Tip: Don't plan let the wild surprise you with its beauty while you are optimally taken care off by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanjivkjetly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear sanjivkjetly,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the future at Londolozi.

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Safari's were the best anywhere! Not only did we see all of the Big 5 (several times), but we saw 4 of the 5 nursing their young! We saw 3 with their "kill"- and an albino baby elephant (first one seen since 1926 when lodge opened). Every member of staff was amazing. Tammy, BeJay, Rich, our trackers were Melvin & Ernest and we even dined with owner Dave Varty who of course was so special! The food was divine- all the freshest most delicious. This place is more than just a lodges it's a magical vortex! I want to live there!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Michele C,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review on Londolozi. I will be sure to send your thanks on to Tammy, Bejay, Melvin, Ernest and all at Londolozi that made your stay so enjoyable.

We look forward to a return visit in the future.
Much love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Showing my kids (10-13) Africa...where to start but Londolozi...
The place where we started ourselves 14 years ago !
First at Varty with the kids, "basic" rooms (connective), so not spoil them with all luxury !
The Africa-feeling matters...and that's what you get !
The second trip (with business-partner) we booked Founders...
I was there before, very nice rooms, ...and still the Africa-feeling ! Luxury, but not too luxury !
Londolozi has GREAT service, excellent food (no bla, bla...but good food !), great care, TOP-ranger/tracker (Byron/Like), excellent bush-dinner,....wildlife as nowhere else !!!
Londolozi...GREAT !!!!

Room Tip: Camps can be devided from basic luxury to exclusive TOP ! Varty has the real Africa feeling, from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Gilrbert V,

Thank you for the wonderful review on Londolozi. It is always so great for us to hear that a return visit is just as good as the first and the memories are just as special.

We look forward to your third visit, hopefully with the children again!

Much Love,
Your Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sabi Sand Game Reserve
13.3 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
400 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
328 reviews
15.8 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
385 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Address: Londolozi, Sabi Sands Game Reserve | Benmore, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range: $145 - $2,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Londolozi Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Londolozi Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londolozi Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing