We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve(Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve)
$1,977
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Umkumbe Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
$446
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
$1,531
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ulusaba Safari Lodge(Ulusaba Private Game Reserve)
$989
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulini Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
$1,945
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Sands River Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
$1,450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$84
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveler rating
466
9
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
9
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfounders campgranite suitessafari experienceplunge poolcamp managerlondolozi familystaff villagesand riverland roverfinal nightoutdoor showera special placetree houseonce in a lifetimesouth africalife changing experienceevery turn
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 476 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you would like the quintessential safari experience, this is THE place! Each guest has their own "hut" with the finest amenities - ours had a plunge pool right outside the door, a table and chairs under a thatched area and chaises to relax upon. Rooms were spacious, clean and relaxing. People were terrific. HOWEVER, if you want to see animals - WOW! The animals have grown up with safari vehicles, so they are unafraid of seeing them. This allows you to get soooo close to them, they look you in the eye! Our guide was nothing short of amazing (Lawrence). He was excessively knowledgeable, charming and even had dinner with us a few nights. The number of vehicles are limited to each viewing site, so the animals are not overwhelmed (and you can see them better) and each vehicle has staggered seating, limited to 6 people - so everyone can see and ask questions of the guide. To sum it up, Terrific Place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mod1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Mod1945,

Thank you for your kind review on Londolozi! We are so happy that you had such a great stay! We look forward to your next visit.

Much Love,
the Londolozi Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed 6+ days at Londolozi and to say our visit was fantastic is an understatement! The second time we'd been there, Londolozi is special among safari lodges - yes, great food and fabulous rooms (we were at Tree Camp this time). But more importantly, the wildlife viewing is second to none! The rangers and trackers are pros and every game drive was remarkable. They're sensitive and knowledgeable about photography and see to it that your shot is in the best light and angle available. It's hard to say enough. If you want to go on a safari, Londolozi should be your first choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoonihoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Hoonihoo,

It was wonderful to have you with us again and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much!

We look forward to your next visit.

Much love,
The Londolozi family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary in Africa and stayed at Londolozi for two nights in August 2012. We were greeted with champagne upon arrival and escorted to our our lodge - Granite Suites #3. ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE....... The Suite had amazing decor, heated concrete floors, an outdoor shower, outdoor spa, outdoor tub overlooking the Sand river.......(and baboons!)

The Granite Suites has its own private dining area and incredible view. The food was consistently great as was the service. We did four game drives with a very knowledgeable and personable ranger named Jessica. One game drive highlight was a 17-year old female leopard being six feet away from the truck and making eye contact with it! Our photos are unbelievable!!!

Another special element at Londolozi was our last evening - during our afternoon game drive, the staff had prepared our suite. We arrived back at the lodge around 6pm and the staff had arranged for our suite to be decorated, rosepetals in a pre-made bath, petals on the floor, petals on the bed, tealight candles all over the bathroom with a bottle of champagne on ice. They set up a dining table in the living room and ate dinner in our suite in our robes!!!

We absolutely loved this lodge and our memories. We thank the staff for making our stay a flawless experience.......

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Globetrotter74,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Londolozi Private Granite Suites. I will make sure that your kind words get to the staff. We would love to see some of your wonderful pictures taken during your stay either on our blog or facebook page!

Much love,
The Londolozi Familt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Londolozi is about animals and family. If you want an amazing and heart-felt experience where the staff call you by your first name and where the conservation of majestic animals is the primary ethos of the lodge, then Londolozi is the place for you. Londolozi is filled with the legends of Africa. From the Varty family who built and run the five camps at Londolozi (as well as being the inspiration for the particular safari model for Phinda and other reserves throughout Africa) to men like Elmon Mhlongo who have tracked animals in the Londolozi bush for over 43 years, the knowledge that the folks at Londolozi impart to their guests about animals, conservation, politics, economics, art, culture and frankly, anything else sub-Saharan African, is superb. Additionally, the activities at Londolozi support a 250 person village complete with a fully equipped digital learning center serving the Shangaan community who support Londolozi. On nearly every Trip Advisor review of Londolozi, the reviewers are filled with exuberance detailing the wonderful and impeccable accommodations, the plethora of game viewing activities (along with a dearth of other vehicles), and the efforts by the staff to make a guest’s experience memorable. Don’t get me wrong, ALL of that is spot on and more, and the staff go WAY beyond what they have to in order to accomplish their duties for the guests. But aside from the animals, the true heart of Londolozi is its people. Simply put, the staff at Londolozi are the kind of folks to whom you present an open invitation to stay at your home if they ever make it to your hometown. Thank you to our ranger Dean Smithyman, our tracker Elmon Mhlongo, Cry, Jackie, Talley, Lovey, Phil, and everyone else who make Londolozi the ideal arena to view Africa’s treasures. We are truly indebted to all of you. Kat and Beau.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeauNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I'm not prone to gushing when it comes to travel experiences, but Londolozi was really something special. We spent three nights at Founders, including 6 game drives. Let me first acknowledge our driver, Daniel, and tracker, Sully. Both set the tone for our whole experience. They were amazingly knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to provide us with an incredible game viewing experience and far surpassed all of our expectations. On our final evening, after an astounding drive, we were surprised with a lantern lit wilderness site for snacks and drinks. Never have I experienced such a personal and elegant touch.

The rest of our stay was equally superb. The rooms were luxurious including a large deck with personal pool, outdoor shower and sitting area. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The food was plentiful and excellent provided in open air settings and included an excellent musical performance by staff members.

Londolozi was one of the highlights of my life providing truly an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wally78701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Wally78701,

Thank you for the kind words about your stay at Londolozi Founders camp. It is always wonderful to know that guests enjoyed their stay so much and take the time out to write about it. I will make sure that all the staff receive your feedback.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews