We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“OMG!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed in tree camp for 3 nights and fell in love with the bush from the moment we arrived - but grew to appreicate our surroundings even more thanks to Lawrence (our guide) whose love of nature filled our days with a million facts & memories. We saw every animal you can imagine including leopard, lion, cheetah, rhino, giraffe, hippo, zebra, elephant..... and some very rare sightings including wild dogs and a 4 week old lion cub. Despite the early starts (4:45 am was a struggle!) we loved every minute of our stay.
The camp is made up of 6 beauifully appointed villas, each with a private plunge pool and the views from the camp are just as stunning as the brochure. Thanks to the perflectly executed back of house support team every day was different. The food (from breakfast to dinner) was amazing, which was primarily due to the resident chef (anna) whose attention to detail was faultless (thanks again for the salad dressing recipe - its become a family favourite) We could not have wished for a better end to our South African experience and can't wait to come back !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi woodsyKent,

Thank you for your kind review, I will be sure to get your wonderful words to all the staff at Tree Camp. We look forward to a return visit.

Much love,
The Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
126
212
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I recently spent three nights in Tree Camp at Londolozi at the suggestion of our travel advisors - ROAR Africa. We absolutely loved every second of our stay!

The staff at Londolozi are incredible - I have never experienced such warm and genuine service. They truly care about making your stay as wonderful as they possibly can. And, their love for their country, surroundings and the wildlife in the bush really comes across from the moment you arrive.

Our guide and tracker were a fantastic pair - they were extremely knowledgeable, fun and attentive. They worked very hard to give us the best safari experience possible.

This was truly one of the most fantastic travel experiences of my life - I'll definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blmattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Blmattern,

It is so wonderful to hear that you had such a great stay at Londolozi Tree camp. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you with us again!

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Londolozi at the suggestion of our travel agent (Rhino Africa) to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary earlier this month. Truly our experience there will last a lifetime....from our first exposure to the wonderful Georgia and her staff, our guide Alfie, tracker Bennet and our butler Excellent, our personalized stay exceeded our expectations in every way imagineable.

We left truly humbled by the quality of our experiences in the bush, the attention to our romantic ideas for our vacation, the delicious food, the value of the customer service that we received from each and every person we encountered there.

We truly feel that this was the trip of a lifetime and cannot wait to come back!

Thank you thank you for making our 10th anniversary celebration so unique and memorable!

Room Tip: I think your room choice depends on what you are looking for....if you want complete isolation/priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momfotwoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Momfotwoboys,

Thank you for your kind words about Londolozi Varty Camp. We look forward to your next visit!

Much Love
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just arrived home in Boston after four glorious, splendid, perfect nights and days at Londolozi's Varty Camp. We travelled to Londolozi with our two children ages 12 and 9 after a few lovely days in Cape Town. It was our first visit to Africa.

From the moment we arrived at Londolozi we were so warmly and genuinely welcomed by staff members that we felt immediately at home. Our camp managers - Jackie, Erin and Richard worked beautifully together to see that every single need was met, and went above and beyond at every opportunity to ensure our individual comfort and happiness -- making special arrangements for our children (e.g. special kid-friendly meals served a bit earlier than the adult meals), to even going to great lengths (Jackie especially!) to coordinate a visit with a relative that lives within Kruger National Park. Not only did Jackie make all the arrangements for our relative to visit us, she even arranged for our relative to share a fantastic Londolozi lunch with us. Needless to say, we were incredibly impressed with the camp staff and it was delightful to spend time talking to them and getting to know them at the wonderfully atmospheric candlelit cocktail and dinner events. Despite the beautiful décor, the amazing food and wines, the over-the-top service, there is nothing stuffy or uptight about this place - it is luxurious, decadent and perfect - without pretensions.

We were so pleased to see that the staff's kindness extended to our children as well, and they too were made to feel extremely welcome. Chinzea, the staff child care specialist, found unique and special activities to entertain and delight our children during the 'down-times' between drives. We did not intend to use any childcare while we were there, but Chinzea was so charming and offered to do things like take the kids "tree climbing" - on mini-tracking safari's to gather lion prints, as well as just hanging out, swimming or playing monopoly - our children always chose to join her for a few hours here and there. One evening she even whisked them away to watch a movie in the viewing room so that my husband and I could enjoy one of the incredibly elegant dinners together alone. Not to mention the lovely staff member that sat with our son for an hour at the evening cocktail event teaching him how to play the African drum.

You will be entirely wowed by the food here....it is all beautifully prepared and presented, but also reflecting the authentic feel of South Africa and Kruger. We had beautiful lamb, beef filets, seafood curry, fantastic cheeses and cured meats - but also the most lovely and innovative salad and herb combinations, grains prepared in the most interesting ways, magnificent fruits and of course the delicious and signature gazpachos served at each lunch time - all unusual and reflecting the unique tastes, herbs, flavors and feel of Africa. The staff preparing and serving the food were so warm and seemed genuinely proud of the elegant and lovingly prepared spreads. It was a pleasure to interact with the staff as they described and served the meals.

Where to begin on our game drives - they were amazing - largely due to the most talented, knowledgeable tracker and guide team you can imagine! Warren, our guide, was incredibly knowledgeable, as well as insightful and articulate - and managed to keep us riveted with facts, stories, anecdotes and educational information during 4 hour plus game drives. Warren's passion and love of the animals was infectious and his ability to engage both us and our children simultaneously was outstanding. Our tracker Andrea was FANTASTIC as well - one of the most impressive aspects of our safari experience was to observe Andrea spotting the animals. He constantly put us on top of the most amazing animals, often jumping off of the vehicle to track a lion or leopard, stopping to look in the air, at the ground, at certain grass movements - using every sense to listen, breathe, look and make the most brilliant deductions. It wasn't just his keen eyesight or his experience in tracking and reading the sights and signs of the bush -- his excitement and passion for the animals was infectious. And it was MOST fun to watch him smile wide, snap both his fingers and say "JINX!" whenever he would spot an especially exciting animal - often Leopards!

We didn't have many specific expectations of what animals we would see but were in awe at the number and the 'quality' of the viewing in terms of being so close to so many magnificent animals. Sometimes the sightings were fast and furious, and sometimes it took some patience to track - but when we would ultimately come upon something special - for example three lions (one female, two male) simultaneously "calling out" within feet of our vehicle, it was worth the moments of thoughtful tracking by Warren and Andrea . But ultimately we saw them all....up so, so close. Leopards, Lions, Rhinos, Elephant, Giraffe, Cheetah, Impala, Kudo, Mongoose, Buffalo, Hippos, too many to name, as well as beautiful bird sightings... Again Warren and Andrea were both magnificent and the minute we returned from each game drive we eagerly anticipated the next one. I should note that I was especially apprehensive about being so close to some of the more dangerous animals. Warren bent over backwards to respect my worries, but he 100% gained my trust in his judgment over the many hours we all spent together, which allowed me to see the most amazing things along with my family.

The accommodations were lovely, the bedding comfortable and immaculate, and we especially enjoyed the very large and very private decks overlooking the river bed. On our first arrival we entered the beautifully appointed main lodge, and saw a large Elephant slowly walking the riverbank with sun behind him. As we sadly left the lodge, we saw another elephant in the same exact spot- it was such a bittersweet moment because it was such a high to see such a beautiful sight on our first day, and very sad to say goodbye on the last day.

We could go on and on but simply put, it was the most incredible experience we have ever had and we are so grateful to the wonderful staff, guide and tracker for the experience of a lifetime.

We will absolutely be back to Londolozi. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBos2N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear SBos2N,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to hear that you had such a superb trip at Londolozi. I will make sure that your kind words are sent to all the staff members at Varty camp! We look forward to your next visit!

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We are getting ready to leave for our 3rd trip to South Africa in 5 years. We are "bush junkies," preferring to spend time viewing animals. We were told we would like Londolozi best of the 5 lodges where we were staying in the Kruger area the first time we went. They were right. The next trip we booked for 9 days, going from there to Botswana.
This year we are returning for 14 days at Pioneer Camp in the Londolozi reserve. Friends will be joining us.
The lodge houses are perfect - spacious, well appointed. Even a long bench in the dressing room where you can not only lay out your suitcases, boots, etc. The staff from the entire reserve - not just your lodge - makes the experience the best of the now 11 lodges where we have been. Food - fabulous - atmosphere also fabulous.
BUT THE BEST is being out on game drives. So many places have quit hiring trackers and you simply ride around in a Land Rover on a road to see what you can see. At Londolozi the trackers and rangers are the perfect team finding leopards and lions every day and so much more. I am going to site their blog so that you can see for yourself.

google: Londolozi Blog to see the week in pictures and get background on the Varty family and view the five camps in the reserve

Pricey, yes, but worth every bit of it. It is all inclusive - game drives, food, alcohol, laundry, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Jo Lynne,

We look so forward to seeing you and Fred again, everyone is getting extremely excited for you visit! Another Boma with guitars will be fun!

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Going on a safari has always been one of the things that my wife and I wanted to do but nothing could prepare us for what Londolozi and South Africa have to offer. We travelled in a party of 6 (3 couples) and none of us has ever been to Africa. While planning the trip for us, I was awed by the images on Londolozi's website. Elsewhere, the real thing cannot match the pictures on websites but that is not the case for Londolozi. The accommodation, the surroundings, the staff and, last but not least, the wildlife were just perfect.

All of us stayed at Founders Camp which is perfect for those travelling in a group as families or friends. The rooms are cozy and huge with large private decks and plunge pools. Although we never used the pools due to the temperature of the water was too cold. We made an effort to visit all the camps and I have to say that the favourite one (apart from Founders) is Pioneer Camp.

Coming from Thailand, we take pride in our hospitality but I have to say that the level of hospitality from the staff at Londolozi really exceeded our expectations. Everybody was friendly and really treated us like we were friends visiting their home. Tammy, Phil and Erin we as friendly as anyone could ask for. Thoko who was our butler really treated us like family serving us all the delicious food and drinks prepared by the chef, Tom.

However, your experience on a safari really depends on your ranger and tracker. Special thanks from us to Sandros our ranger with 25 years of experience (probably the most experienced out of the 5 camps) and Eckson our tracker with 14 years track record. With the combined 39 years experience, Sandros and Eckson knew the animals so well we were stunned by it. Everything Sandros said about the behaviours of the animals were spot on. He said the lion or the leopard that we were watching would do one thing and then 15 seconds later they did just that. While we were watching a family of hippos in the water, Sandros said he heard a cry of a predator making a kill so he raced us to an open plain nearby to find a leopard dragging a dead impala. Sandros said that this Leopard will drag the impala into a thick bush to feed on the kill and then she will go get her cub to feed on it too. That was exactly what happened! There was only enough room for one car so we were the only people who got to witness this moment. Back at the camp, another ranger told me that it has been almost 9 weeks since a leopard has been found with a kill. Also, we got to see not only the Big 5 but also the Baby Big 5. Kudos to Sandros! :)

Londolozi has made a big impressions on all of 6 of us. The experience on the safari was like nothing we have experienced before and we still want more. We don't want to visit a zoo again after seeing the animals in their natural habitat. Now we are back in our "concrete jungle" and I can say on our behalves that all of us miss Londolozi very much and will definitely return!

Room Tip: Founders Camp if travel as a group Pioneer Camp as a smaller group or couples Granite Suite as a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Pahn,

We are so grateful for your wonderful review. It is always special to have guests arrive and immediately feel like family! We look so forward to your return visit and until then you can keep in touch with the family, animals and people, on the Londolozi blog.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Londolozi will make the biggest impression on people like me. I have travelled extensively, but don't make a habit of staying at Relais &Chateaux quality accommodation. For many, an African Safari is a once in a lifetime trip. If the cost of Londolozi makes you wince, please know it is worth every single penny. Londolozi is family owned and operated and this is reflected in the attention to detail that elevates your experience from great to superb. From the minute you are greeted on arrival to the moment you are ( sadly) shown off, guests are made to feel valued, respected and very special. Special mention to our camp manager Tammy and our butler Mendrew.
My teenage daughter and I stayed in the Founders Camp, one of the larger of the five camps at Londolozi. Our room was spacious, private and beautifully decorated. There is a well stocked bar in each room that is replenished daily. Complimentary daily laundry service is a great touch. I also loved the daily yoga class held at noon at Varty Camp.
You are fed very well on Safari. Breakfast starts with a full continental buffet, always beautifully displayed and featured the best cold Norwegian salmon I have ever eaten. Following this, eggs to order and a daily breakfast special are available. Lunch is buffet style featuring a chilled soup, a variety of salads and a roast of some type. The location of dinner changes. Without giving away the secret, one evening's setting rivalled anything you would see on The Bachelor fantasy date. It literally took my breath away. Dinner starts with soup or the Londolozi salad followed by a choice of three entrees , vegetables, sides and dessert. There is no a la carte dining here but the informal "dining in the bush" format is well executed and almost all dishes were excellent.
Lovely accommodations and great food are merely an adjunct to the highlight of your stay which is the game drives. Londolozi is on 57,000 hectares in the Sabi Sands reserve and has reciprocal access to a neighbouring reserve. This is not blindly driving down a road and hoping you stumble on some animals and when you do, having twenty jeeps converging. The land rovers are completely open with "theatre seating" so everyone has a great view. Unless you are a large family, no more than six guests will be in a vehicle. Our tracker ( Life) and ranger ( Mike) made a great pair. From Life's stories, which my daughter loved, to Mike's commentary , each drive was a real treat. So much planning goes on behind the scenes and the result is brilliant and varied game viewing. We had been told many times that late summer was not a great time for viewing, but this was not our experience. Our drives included a mother cheetah and the first cubs seen in Londolozi in five years, a pride of lions, leopards and leopard cubs, rhino and baby, a buffalo herd, giraffe, zebra, hippo, crocodile and the adrenaline highlight: a pack of wild dogs attempting a cheetah kill. Each afternoon game drive featured the very civilized sundowner cocktail. No red solo cups here;it was a sophisticated safari tailgate party enjoyed as the sun went down.
This experience is all the more special when you learn the staunchly conservationist roots of the Varty family and how they have managed to build a world class lodge that works with the local people to provide economic benefit to the area. Dave Varty' s "The Full Circle" is a fantastic read which outlines the history of Londolozi and the creation of CCAfrica.
In closing, if an African Safari is on your bucket list and South Africa is one of your destinations, you will not regret a stay at Londolozi.
TIP:
I walked to all five camps. They are all beautifully appointed. If you are with your family or prefer the energy from other guests, Founders and Varty would be good choices. If travelling as a couple, Tree Camp was the most beautiful and would provide a private ,very exclusive experience. Our regret was not taking the flight into Londolozi's private airstrip but rather doing the two hour drive over mostly rough,unpaved roads to the Kruger airport. Make sure you arrange travel so arrive at the lodge early enough to hit the 4 pm game drive and arrange to leave in early afternoon so as not to miss the morning game drive on the day of departure. They are too fantastic to miss!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aurorof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Auroraof5,

Thank you so much for the incredible review, so wonderful to get such extensive feedback. I will be sure the convey your kind words onto the Founders camp team, they will be ecstatic to hear that they had such an affect on making your stay so special.

Until your next visit, dont forget to get your 'bush fix' from our blog!

Much love,
The Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
7.2 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
402 reviews
6.0 mi away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
Elephant Plains Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
834 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Property: Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Address: Londolozi, Sabi Sands Game Reserve | Benmore, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Londolozi Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Londolozi Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londolozi Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing