We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

we booked this trip to be joined with our business trip to south africa. The travel agent recommended this game reserve. We spent 3 days at founders camp at Londolozi. The trip was amazing and the staff were very professional . The room was very sapcious and comfortable. We loved the twice daily games dome by our ranger Danielle and the tracker Like. we recommend this trip as once in a life time beautiful trip. Thanks for the staff and the lovely animals we met!
The only draw back was weak internet service which we needed to communicate with our family back home.

Room Tip: all rooms and food were amazing. just visit between August and October for best animal viewing as re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Lulu a,

We are so glad that you could get a little bit of relaxation out of your business trip and managed to come to Londolozi! Thank you for the kind review!

Hopefully you have another business trip soon and we get to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,
The Londolozi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
125
211
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. myers
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

we had never been to Africa but got talked into going by friend who are more adventuresome than us. we had an incredible time. a little hard to describe the experience but for americans it like Donald Trumps meets Africa. the facilities were great, staff exceptional the Guides and trackers out standing. On our plane ride back to the US we met a couple born and raised in South Africa but now live in the states. they were coming back form the 3 visit to Londolozi. In terms of seeing Animals and being close it hard to imagine you could do better than we did.

we stayed in Varty camp which we loved. unless your and isolationist skip Granite camp.

we had one point of stupidity on our part your should avoid. we got catch in a first class African rain storm. we used the "water proof" pockets of the Land Rovers to protect our camera without success . we lost 3 out of 4 camera we had (but one started working a week later). I now understand that people carry water proof camera bags to pop their equipment in.

I cant image anyone going to Londolozi and not loving it.

Room Tip: your not going to spend a whole lot of time in your room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi Richard P,

Thank you for your great review on Varty Camp, I will be sure to pass on the kind words to all the staff there. It is so wonderful to hear how much you fell in love with the bush as first timers! Incredibly sorry to hear about your camera's, these storms can come so unexpectedly, so glad you managed to get two camera's working again!
Hope to see you in the near future!

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in the Founders Superior room on our first night before moving in to the Pioneer Suites. The Founders Superior room was lovely, we would happily stay there again. That is not to say that the Pioneer Suites wasn't, it was lovely with several rooms including a dressing room! We were spoiled and treated well by all the staff. Our tracker and ranger were Jessica and Jeffery both were excellent and knowledgable. Don't have any hesitation about having a female ranger, Jessica was just as competent as the male rangers we have had in the past.
The food was really good at Londolozi. The sightings were fantastic.
We would compare our visit to Londolizi to Leopard Hills where we have stayed before. Both are excellent although the Pioneer Suites at Londolozi had several rooms but cost you more. Both lodges have beautiful rooms, private plunge pools, great food, service and we had equally good sightings and knowledgeable trackers and rangers at both.
We would happily go to Londolizi again though, we had a wonderful time and it was worth the 4 planes it took to get there from Canada!
Dawn & Kevin- Canada

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi Dawn and Kevin,

Thank you for taking the time to write that wonderful review! It was a pleasure having you with us and Jess and Jeff send their kindest regards, as do the teams at Pioneer and Founders!

We do hope that the long trip will be had again to visit us in the future!

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

we had never been on a safari before so didn't know hat to expect. What an experience! We were treated by Talley (Ranger) and Freddie (Guide) to 3 days of excitement, interest, information and good company. They showed us the big 5. They got us to within a few feet of 4 leopards: they took us to see rhinos, hippos, giraffe, elephants, wilderbeest, impalas, zebras, a pride of lions and so on; and they shared sundowners with us by a waterpool at sunset.
And in the morning it was back to a fabulous breakfast and in the evenings to Braais and outdoor meals in the compound.
We cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our room (Number1 at Founders camp) wanted for nothing inside but was a bit disappointing that It ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardbloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi Richardbloo,

It was so wonderful to have you with us at Founders Camp and we would like to thank you for the wonderful review. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to Talley and Freddie and will let them know about the wonderful feedback!

Look forward to having you with us in the neat future!

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Wallace family stayed at Varty Camp from Feb 6th-10th and we had an amazing time! The service was outstanding and we felt very well taken care of! Our expectations were definitely surpassed! Our guide Rich Carriere and tracker Life were extremely knowledgeable and took extra effort to ensure our kids had an amazing time. We won't forget our encounter with the baby rhino or the baby hippo .... it seems we were attracting the little ones! The food was exceptional and we looked forward to every meal! Thank you to all the folks that made our stay so special.... Rich (& Holly who is far too cute!), Life, Chinzia, Jackie, Rich .... and many more... We hope to get there again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi there the Wallaces,

We are so glad to hear that you were so well looked after at Varty Camp by all the staff! Thank you for visiting Londolozi and for your kind words. I will be sure to pass on your regards to all the staff.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Londolozi in the near future!

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our stay at Granite Suites was exceptional. Not only a gorgeous setting but an unbeatable staff, especially the gracious host Nadia and our guide Lucien, who not only know his animals but has a deep knowledge of the whole habitat of the bush. The drives were extraordinary. Even though it rained the first day we saw many animals and birds. Each drive was a ridiculous amount of fun. Exquisite suite with a beautiful outdoor pool, tub and shower, and all completely private and inviting. The suites are on the riverbank of the Sand River.
The food was perfectly prepared, the menu creative and well considered with an exceptional cook. It was a great pleasure to be introduced to the cook and the other staff.
It could not have been a more wonderful experience and I only fear that since it couldn't have been any better,, it would be down hill for here... but I'll take the risk and am looking forward to a return to Londolozi.
Hillary B, New York

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Hillary,

Thank you for your wonderful review on Granite Camp. Lucien and Nadia send their warmest regards. We look forward to your next visit!

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Well, we are already planning our next visit! We were fortunate to have stayed in the Tree Camp from January 19-22. There was some major rain the day/night before we arrived. Our arrival day was still seeing heavy rains. Our flight was canceled from Kruger Airport to Londolozi, so our travel agent (apparently) arranged ground transport. He took us as far as the Protea Hotel at the Kruger Gate, where we were connected with Byron from Londolozi who took us and another couple by Land Rover (LR2) to the lodge.
Upon arrival, we had some lunch. The food was prepared just for us as we had missed lunch and the afternoon drive due to the rains. Mark Bland, the Tree Camp manager, introduced us to the camp's services and overall layout.
Our room (house, really) was huge. Living room, bedroom, bathroom, everything was perfect. The river was raging outside, as it was swollen from all the rain.
The game drives were excellent. Our ranger, Melvin and tracker, Milton doing a great job. All the servers and staff made us feel as if we were a part of their home and their lives. And we were! We were tremendously impressed with the village and all that the Varty family has done to improve the quality of life for their staff. This is one of the driving forces to have us return to Londolozi.
The main lodge at Tree Camp was beautiful, luxurious and casually elegant. Above and beyond is what every single staff member did. A million thank you's! See you again very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadley_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Scott and Chris,

We look so forward to having you with us again, hopefully the rain will stay away for your next visit! Thank you for your review, I will be sure to send all your kind words onto Mark, Melvin, Milton and the rest of the Tree camp staff. Until your return, keep an eye on the blog for your 'safari fix'!

Much love!
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
7.4 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
2.8 mi away
MalaMala Main Camp
MalaMala Main Camp
#1 of 3 in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Property: Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Address: Londolozi, Sabi Sands Game Reserve | Benmore, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Londolozi Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Londolozi Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londolozi Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing