We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I just came back from an amazing holiday in South Africa and Zimbabwe.
The three nights in Founders Camp with 6 extraordinary trips in the bush with an excellent ranger and guard were definetely the climax of all. The personal staff at the lodges are friendly and highly motivated to provide a perfect time. The lodges are nicely eqipped and the catering is absolutely superb.
Never ever was so sad that the time went on to leave the camp. Thanks to all that made it a fantastic period of time.

Room Tip: I can only say that lodge 9 is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Armin K,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and of course visit Londolozi. We are so pleased that you got to experience the magic of Africa here in South Africa and Zimbabwe as well.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at Founders Camp so much, I will be sure to pass on your review to all the staff.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
125
211
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went to Londolozi at the end of an absolutely amazing trip to South Africa. Everywhere we went, we had superb accommodation, service, and food.So we arrived at Londolozi with very high expectations and it did not disappoint. I hate early morning rises, but loved the game drives so much, it was no hardship at all. Our ranger was very knowledgeable, and patient with the questions only city folk, completely unfamiliar with the bush, could dream up! The butlers who served us our meals, made sure our every need was catered to with such warm enthusiasm, and the young and enthusiastic management team, were all integral in creating an experience we will long remember, and look forward to doing again, and again!

Room Tip: We stayed at Founders Camp, and the rooms were very comfortable and adequate, given that we spent on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Hazel P,

Many thanks for your kind review and for visiting us at Londolozi. We are very pleased to hear that your stay with us was such a wonderful experience, despite the early morning risings :-)

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon and hope to see you on our blog until then.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

As I skimmed the other reviews on the site once I returned from my stay at Londolozi, I have to say that I wholeheartedly agree with everyone's comments. My friends and I stayed at Pioneer Camp for 5 nights in early September 2012. From the moment we arrived to seeing Sean, Dani and Richard waving to us from the plane as we departed, we felt so incredibly pampered and well taken care of. But there is an amazing ease about how everyone at Londolozi does it - it feels natural and you relax with the service.

Pioneer Camp has three lodges and with our party of 5, we essentially had a private experience, with our own ranger (Sean), tracker (Richard), butler (Trevor), cook (Petunia) and Dani, who was running the entire Londolozi shop while we were there spent a significant amount of time with us as well. I highly recommend if anyone reading this is considering taking a safari in South Africa, to do it in a group of 5-6, and choose Pioneer Camp so you can have the place to yourself.

I have amazing photos and video of lions mating, of a cheetah with its steenbok prey and a hyena stealing it, and tons of impala, wildebeest, giraffes, zebra, etc. You definitely see the Big 5 here, and we saw 4/5 on our first drive!

Like someone else said here, I cried as the plane took off to leave, knowing that I've had one of the most enriched experiences of my lifetime. And a new appreciation for wildlife conservation that I'll take back to the big city with me. THANKS to everyone at Londoloz for an amazing experience!

Room Tip: Pioneer Camp is at the west end of all the lodges and our lodge (#1) was the most remote. Travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Doug J,

Many thanks for such a great review, we are just so delighted to hear that your time at Pioneer Camp was so fantastic and that your safari experience matched that as well!

I will be sure to pass on your review to the Pioneer Camp team as well as Sean and Richard who will be pleased to receive it.

If you have any photos or videos that you would like to be featured on our blog, please get in touch through the channels on the site as we would love to showcase your media.

Thank you for visiting, we so look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rising sun
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The only word that comes to mind to describe our trip is WOW! Wifey and I traveled traveled for a total of 3 week, Europe then to Londolozi in S. Africa for the final week. In hindsight we now wish we had just gone to Africa for the entire time :-)
My wife and I have been lucky enough to do some really amazing things in our lives, this trip to S. Africa and Londolozi has immediately spring boarded to the greatest thing we have ever done. As for Londolozi, the service, treatment, surprises, attention, and overall experience is unparalleled by any place we have stayed. Everyone we met there was pleasant and friendly, the accommodations and food are phenomenal, and the safari experience was mind blowing.
We got home smoothly and safely on a Sunday. Monday I started saving for our next trip to Africa ;-)
We took almost 3000 pictures, have memories to last a lifetime (or until the next trip), and stories long enough to bore our friends to sleep.
I cannot sing the praises of Londolozi loud enough. Thank you so much for the part you played in our trip of a lifetime. I blogged and posted pictures about our entire trip at jimmysellers.com

THANK YOU LONDOLOZI!!!

Room Tip: The Granite Suites only have 3 rooms in the camp. It is intimate and full of special attentions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear jimmy s,

Thank you for such an incredible review and of course for visiting Londolozi. We are so happy that you had such an incredible time and that you found the whole experience to be so mind blowing.

Your blog articles are great and we appreciate the time you took to write and update them. We hope that you will stay connected to us through our blog until your next visit to Londolozi.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are fairly understated people and not prone to exaggeration, but Londolozi really blew us away.

We spent 6 wonderful days and nights at Londolozi during the South African winter. The visit was made so wonderful by numerous things: 1) the amazing game viewing and weather this time of year; 2) the expertise and dedication of James (our terrific ranger) and Richard (our legendary tracker) who helped make the game viewing so memorable; 3) the first-rate facilities at Londolozi; and 4) last but not least the fantastic service of the always friendly, thoughtful and beaming team of Georgia, Kerri, Tricia and Coleman (and many others) back at camp.

In terms of game viewing, we saw more than we could ever have hoped or wished for on a safari, including the big 5 (several times over!) of lion, leopard, elephant, rhino, and buffalo. Of course hyena, crocodile, eagle, giraffe, zebra, hippo, wart hog, impala, bush buck, water buck, baboon, monkey, and many, many beautiful birds were also plentiful, as well as cute "baby versions" of many of these. And as a bonus, we were also privileged to witness lions mating, leopards feasting and fighting over kill, a baby giraffe dancing, four adult male lions on the move together, a pack of African wild dogs hunting, and a cheetah stalking its prey for an hour!

As a private reserve, Londolozi has many advantages in terms of game viewing: an intimate knowledge of all the animals (including the family trees and changing territories of all the big cats); the ability to drive off-road and follow and observe these magnificent beasts and their behaviours close-up (typically just 2-5m away); the luxury of often being the only vehicle with the animals; and of course, always having a "window" seat (although the comfortable open vehicles of course have no windows).

These wildlife were all tracked with expertise and persistence by our dynamic duo of James and Richard, and their Londolozi colleagues. James always embellished the viewing experience with knowledgeable behavioural insights and optimal positioning of the safari vehicle for photographers (as well as being an amazing driver in general), while Richard's keen eyes and ears, and his deep understanding of the Londolozi animals left us in awe of his skills (as well as delighted by his gentle humour). And when we moved camps on our final night, they moved with us to ensure that our experience was an absolutely seamless one. Looking back, we also appreciated the fact that they were always passionate and always excited about the viewing (which made us feel even more privileged) despite the fact that they must have seen it all many times before.

The amazing viewing was complemented by the luxurious camp and gorgeous setting overlooking the Sands River. We spent 5 nights at the main Varty Camp with its fantastic "tree house" reception area and atmospheric and historic boma, where we had dinner by the campfire most nights. On our final night we were upgraded to the even more luxurious Pioneer Camp. (This was but one of three wonderful surprises back at camp - we won't reveal the other two but they were also very special and a real delight.) While there are some differences between the five camps, we doubt that anyone would be disappointed by the facilities or service at any of them, and we have stayed at many first-class properties. The food was also a delicious surprise - plenty of variety, plentiful, flavourful and always fresh (including freshly-baked croissants and freshly-sliced prosciutto in the morning).

We also loved the fact that Londolozi is so committed not just to the wildlife, but also to the sustainability of the environment and the original Shaangan peoples living in the area. We had the chance to visit the nearby Shaangan village and learn more about their culture and history, and how Londolozi provides them with an education, an even broader family, and a fulfilling livelihood (working as traditional trackers, rangers, chefs, butlers, suppliers of fresh local produce, local handicrafts etc.).

Finally, we must of course highlight the amazing team of Georgia and Kerri for overseeing Varty Camp and giving it such a warm, family feel right from the very moment we arrived, and our good-natured butler Coleman who had a delightful sense of humour. We spent only our final night at Pioneer Camp, but Tricia helped to make it a fantastic send-off: definitely not a goodbye, but merely a fond "see you again soon".

We will indeed be back at Londolozi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Justin267

Many thanks for your kind and detailed review of your stay at Londolozi. It is fantastic to hear that you were looked after so well by James and Richard as well as the rest of the Varty Camp and Pioneer Camp teams.

We are very pleased that you got to see so much wildlife whilst at Londolozi and that you also explored the variety of different activities on offer, such as visiting the Shangaan Village and learning center.

We sincerely hope to see you back with us again in the very near future and look forward to seeing you on our blog until then.

Much Love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Where do we even begin to describe our outstanding stay at Londolozi Tree Camp? We spent the beginning of our honeymoon at Londolozi Tree Camp and had the time of our lives. Everything was perfect and it was truly the trip of a lifetime. The staff at Tree Camp, Marc, Jess, Robert and our ranger and tracker, Tom and Jerry were all fabulous. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with smiles and warmth. Everyone knew our name, congratulated us on our marriage and honeymoon and were extremely personal. Marc, Jess and Robert were absolutely amazing and very friendly. It was very special because by the time it was time to leave, we truly felt like we were friends with each of them.

The accommodations were beautiful and extremely comfortable. The food was amazing and we enjoyed it so much that we left with several recipes and begging the staff to put out a cookbook. Our game drives were incredible. Tom and Jerry are an incredible team and their enthusiasm for their jobs was unparalleled. Without Tom and Jerry's expertise our safari experience would have have been what it was. Tom and Jerry's close relationship with each other and with the animals was amazing to watch. Every game drive brought an exciting experience and their unbelievable tracking skills led us to all of the animals and witnessing incredible experiences. Tom and Jerry are wonderful and caring people. Their positive attitude, love for the bush was contagious. They were always checking in with us during the game drives to make sure we were comfortable. We felt very lucky to be matched up such an amazing team. The various activities that they organized at night, from the wine pairings to cocktails and star gazing in the bush were exceptional. They really think of everything and the experience at Londolozi is relaxing, entertaining and a wonderful learning experience.

Londolozi is a remarkable place and truly feels like home. The staff takes great care of making sure every guest has the trip of a lifetime and makes sure every experience is the best it can be. This safari experience at Londolozi was like nothing else we have ever done and exceeded every expectation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmhrtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear cmhrtb,

WOW! Thank you for such a comprehensive and kind review of your recent stay with us at Londolozi Tree Camp. I will be sure to pass it onto all the Tree Camp staff as well as Tom and Jerry who will be delighted to read such positive feedback.

We are so pleased that you visited Londolozi for your honeymoon and sincerely hope that it will remain and special and sentimental place in your hearts and in your relationship for many many years to come.

We so look forward to having you back to stay with us in the years ahead as well as seeing you on the Londolozi blog until you next return.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

March 2013 will be our 2nd trip to Londolozi in 2 1/2 years. We have been dreaming of our return ever since. How about unbelievably awesomely, fantastic ,heart stopping, thrilling, tear-jerking, funny, delicious, comfortable, luxurious, friendly, helpful, caring, experience--shall I go on? I even have an elephant tattoo on my ankle as a reminder.

Room Tip: Any room is magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arden Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londolozigamereserve, General Manager at Londolozi Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Arden Z

We are so looking forward to having you back at Londolozi in March 2013 and cannot wait to show you a great time both at lodges as well as out on safari. It is wonderful to hear how fantastic your last trip was and yes please do go on!

We hope to see you on the Londolozi blog until we do in person in March.

Much love,
The Londolozi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sabi Sand Game Reserve hotels
7.4 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
388 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#8 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
300 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
396 reviews
2.8 mi away
MalaMala Main Camp
MalaMala Main Camp
#1 of 3 in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Londolozi Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Londolozi Private Game Reserve

Property: Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Address: Londolozi, Sabi Sands Game Reserve | Benmore, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Londolozi Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Londolozi Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londolozi Private Game Reserve Hotel Sabi Sand Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve South Africa/Sabi Sand Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing