We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for Business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western El Rancho Palacio
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Roswell
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Pleasant property with decent amenities, nice rooms, and ok rates. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast provided, but limited and repetitious if you're staying more than one day. Toward the north end of town (near NMMI).

Room Tip: Recommend the back of the property so you're away from the noise of the main street out front.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal L, Manager at Best Western El Rancho Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking time out of your day to post a review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. I will be sure to tell our staff to keep up the good work and continue doing what our guests have come to expect. If you happen to come back to the Roswell area in the future, we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Best Western El Rancho Palacio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 422 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Don't bother paying over a hundred bucks a night for the most expensive hotel in Roswell - if you can live without a pool, the Best Western El Rancho Palacio is the way to go! It's recently been renovated and the pictures that you see on the website are EXACTLY what the rooms look like. The rooms are incredibly clean and feel brand new. They have great lighting, comfy beds, cozy bedding, big TVs, luxurious bathrooms, and even beamed style ceilings! I was hesitant when I first pulled in the parking lot (errrr, arrived in Roswell in general) and was so surprised. Even the breakfast is great, and the price you CAN NOT beat.

Because of hurricane Sandy, I was delayed getting back to New York by three days. I had already checked out of this Best Western, and decided just for kicks I would book a night at the Best Western Plus Sally Port Inn across the street - I really did need to use a computer/business center, which they had. I couldn't believe it - the El Rancho Palacio was 10x nicer. The Best Western Plus had big, stark rooms that just don't feel as cozy (not enough blankets, either) and by the looks of the bathroom tile it hasn't been updated very recently. You even needed a "ticket" to get your breakfast - weird!

My sincere hope is that this review will convince anyone going into Roswell blind like I did to book their stay at the Best Western El Rancho Palacio. I wound up staying in six different hotels on my way back to Texas, and then New York - this was the nicest one, and one of the best values I have ever come across. Thanks BW!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaEggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal L, Manager at Best Western El Rancho Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! This is such a super review of our hotel and I will make sure my staff knows to keep up the good work. Happy travels and should you find yourself in Roswell again we will look forward to serving you again. Thank you, again, for making our day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Happened to pick the hotel, the night they had just repaved most of the parking lot, got the last of the remaining spaces, can't really fault the hotel, it was a Sunday probably lowest reserved room night and best night to do this on. Except unlike what others have said all that was in walking distance was uninteresting chain and fast food, and i prefer local when traveling. There is a mexican restaurant next door but closes early. Had an issue with the smoke detector going off in the room and the front desk clerk was very prompt in getting this issue taken care of. Overall very clean, moderately sized rooms, suggest going with second floor for the higher ceiling with wood beams gives a room more feeling of space. All the basics, and a good comfy bed... would definitely stay again and recommend. Arrived at breakfast late, so no problems with many people being there, like others have said, decent warm breakfast, with a nice cheese egg wrap.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northernk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal L, Manager at Best Western El Rancho Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to make each guest's stay comfortable and pleasant. We are happy to report that our parking lot project is complete. Should you find yourself in the Roswell area again, come stay with us, we look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The front desk person, Jinny, was very helpful. She gave us websites for local movie theaters when we mentioned we would like to relax by seeing a movie. The room was clean, and bed comfortable. Breakfast was good, although the breakfast room is very small and was packed with people. This hotel is right off the main drag, and there are plenty of restaurants closeby. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluemountain24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal L, Manager at Best Western El Rancho Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is always nice to hear when a member of my staff has done a job well done. I will tell her about your comments about her hospitality and tell her and my housekeeping staff to keep up the good work. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here one night while visiting Roswell. The girl running the front desk was by far the most friendly and helpful we had met during our cross country trip. The rooms were your standard hotel room but very clean and comfortable.
We were able to walk to restaurants and other shops from this location (which was good since we had a truck pulling a trailer and difficult to get around in town with it).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosRides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal L, Manager at Best Western El Rancho Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will most definitely tell our staff about your comments. Should you find yourself in the Roswell area again, we will be happy to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and have always been very satisfied. The manager ,Chrystal, does a great job and has the best people working with her. The rooms are always very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is always good and adequate and the lady who takes care of the breakfast area is there constantly keeping things well stocked. This hotel is a great value and I will always stay here on my visits to Roswell. A special comment goes to Lupe at the front desk. What a breath of fresh air this young lady is. She could not have been nicer, more polite and knowledgeable. She is a very smart young lady with a great sense of humor also. She is wonderful. Great job Chrystal for having the right people working with you. No negatives at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jrqent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal L, Manager at Best Western El Rancho Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out to post a review about your stays on Trip Advisor. It's always nice to hear what we are doing right and what we should continue doing to make our guests stay comfortable and pleasant. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The staff is very friendly! The room was very clean and nicely updated. The pool was cold but clean and deep. Our only complaint was the noise from Main Street traffic went on all night. Didn't bother me but kept my son awake. Roswell is a bustling little town. Would stay here again. Great value!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2462skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal L, Manager at Best Western El Rancho Palacio, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review about your stay at our property. I'm glad you found your stay to be enjoyable. I would like to address your issue with the traffic, I sincerely apologize that your son was unable to sleep well, perhaps we could make your next stay more comfortable by reserving a room further away from the highway? We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roswell hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roswell
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Roswell
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Roswell
Comfort Suites Roswell
#6 of 22 in Roswell
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Roswell
Holiday Inn Roswell
#2 of 22 in Roswell
278 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Roswell
Rodeway Inn Roswell
#5 of 22 in Roswell
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Roswell New Mexico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western El Rancho Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western El Rancho Palacio

Address: 2205 North Main Street, Roswell, NM 88201-6458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Roswell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Roswell
Price Range: $79 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western El Rancho Palacio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western El Rancho Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Roswell
Roswell Best Western
Best Western Roswell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing