We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger in Roswell”

Big D's Downtown Dive
Ranked #1 of 127 Restaurants in Roswell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Roswell, NM
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Roswell”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This place has the best burger in town and if you're a Philly cheesesteak sort of person, my buddy had one of those and said it was better than in Philly

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    138
    30
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“awesome burger and catfish sandwich”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were on a roadtrip down to Carlsbad Caverns from Albuquerque and we thought we would choose one of the top 5 on Tripadvisor. It was a little hard to find but well worth it. My daughter had an awesome guacamole burger oozing over the sides with guacamole. My husband had an awesome catfish sandwich and I had a spicy chicken soup with avacado in it. Good food and friendly people.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint! ”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Coworker had the pork belly sandwich and gave it her thumbs up, (and she's very picky). I had the salmon sandwich and it was perfectly grilled, just salty and crispy enough on the outside while still moist on the inside. The bread pudding was massive and also was well balanced between being moist while not falling apart, and being sweet without being overwhelming. The ambiance was what you would expect for a busy sandwich place. It's all about the food, but the service was quick and overall above and beyond. Look forward to coming back!

Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Funky and delicious food”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a casual place where you order at the counter and they bring your food to you. It is crowded at lunch time but there is a reason. The food is excellent, individually prepared, and has good twists. Shrimp tacos, chicken tortilla soup full of avocado chunks, unusual burgers, etc. A gourmet casual place. You may need to wait for a seat or sit at a window side counter and move when a table opens up if you care to.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ingrid c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I must have ordered the wrong sandwich - pork belly - as it was terrible. I was expecting some type of pork meat, but it was nothing but fat. My wife has the Monte Christo and it was tasty but not much meat and mostly batter. If you are local and know the menu you may fare better but I would not recommend the place to travelers. Bill was almost $20. Maybe the burgers are better. I doubt it is the best restaurant in town.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PrimoKimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big D's Downtown Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing