We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“"Fanastic Views overlooking the Lake"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bottomless Lakes State Park

Bottomless Lakes State Park
Ranked #2 of 24 things to do in Roswell
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Slaton, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“"Fanastic Views overlooking the Lake"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Must see Lake if you are in Roswell, NM. It is beautiful and big. There is a beach and it is a very scenic drive around the lake. There is an overlook and you feel like you are high in the sky looking down at the lake. You can hike, go swimming and there is camping available.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    94
    39
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unexpected Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We've visited southeastern New Mexico several times over the years and never knew this state park existed, until now. Wow! We all loved it. It is beautiful and is such a contrast to the surrounding area. We went hiking, exploring and swimming. The geology and history are interesting. I would recommend taking time out to enjoy this beautiful oasis.
Depending on what you want to do, go prepared with swimsuits, change of clothes, hiking boots, food or snacks and lots of water. Don't forget sun protection.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mom23TeenBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's like going to a beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

This beautiful and unlikely find is a pleasant excursion to take to cool off during the summer heat. The drive to the place is rather non-descript but once you get down to the lakes area you will be surrounded by various shades of reds, oranges, and yellows followed by the deep blue color of the water. The area has paddleboats, a scuba area, and a beach area for general swimming. No pets allowed on the beach though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank serendipitycreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We arrived after the paddle boats were closed but that was the only disappointment. The swimming is great, the water is good and cold and clear. We did some jumping off the paddle boat dock after investigating the depth of the water and checking for hidden rocks (we didn't find any) There were a few bad reviews about the flies, just let me say, yes there are flies, they seem to be EVERYWHERE in New Mexico...so, they did not seem to be out over the water. Take a pic-nic basket and enjoy. We did get there later in the day so there was no crowd and it was very nice. My kids want to go back. They liked the clarity and chill of the water!

Oh, there are also outdoor shower/rinse stations to get the sand off!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Wannagrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We took a quick stop and we were so glad we did. This national park was gorgeous at sunset. It could use a little house keeping but it was still worth the stop.

Helpful?
Thank molly a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bottomless Lakes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing