We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roswell Museum & Art Center

Roswell Museum & Art Center
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Roswell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1937, the Roswell Museum and Art Center is home to an extensive collection of southwestern art, the equipment and workshop of pioneering rocketeer Robert H. Goddard, and the Rogers Aston Collection of the American West, which encompasses historical southwestern artifacts spanning from the sixteenth through the twentieth centuries.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
171 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a wonderful museum that features a great collection of modern and contemporary art, including installations from New Mexico artists. This alone would have been great, but there is also a historical section with weapons and other artifacts and a great exhibit on early rocket scientist Robert Goddard, including a replica of his workshop! This museum was a great find.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dokness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    65
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

The museum is filled with a variety of newspaper articles, personal letters, photos, and artifacts from those Roswell families who experienced and gave personal testimonies about the crash of the "space object with six small creatures on board." The museum further features a Hollywood movie that tells the Roswell story.

Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Neat Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had some time to kill after the UFO museum and Alien Zone so we decided to head over the Roswell Museum and Art Center. I am glad we did. The museum was free (donations are welcome though). They had some interesting art work on display - some we liked and some we didn't. But sparked some great conversation and appreciation of the work that went into creating some of the pieces. The one thing I didnt like was some of the historical displays had the information about the displays off to the side in a booklet instead being part of the display. That made it harder to learn about a particular piece that interested you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BedfordSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

A very nice art museum which also hosts a replica of Robert Goddard's workshop. Robert Goddard is considered the Father of Rocketry.and did a lot of his work in Roswell. Also a number of paintings by Peter Hurd and others. A very nice presentation. Museum is warm, tho. They could have cranked up the AC a bit (104° F outside.)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Level Contributor
244 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very Well Done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

After a disgusting trip to the Roswell 'zoo', I wanted to absorb something pretty. I was greeted by the nicest gentleman and told what was in each gallery. Although not a huge museum I spent over two hours there, was allowed to take non-flash photos. Didn't want a lot of photos but was go glad I was able to when I got to the Michael Beitz gallery. When I turned the corner and saw his table down the hallway I had to stop and catch my breath. Loved his entire show...excellent! Recognized a fw other names also. Really fun piece in the gallery direct in front of the doors. Good collection of Native items. I love art museums although I'm not a huge painting fan; enjoy other mediums more and there was enough to keep anyone entertained in a pleasant cool environment. Go see it if you are in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Trickstersawpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roswell Museum & Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing