We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but nothing to write home about ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Rancho
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, NM
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing to write home about ”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I spent several nights at this hotel for business recently and found it "ok" but left me wanting as well. The bed is horrible. I read other rivers that seemed to like it but as someone who likes a truly firm mattress, a firm mattress covered by 5" of foam I sink into is not firm. My back was killing me by the time I left.


It a silly thing, but the bathroom door would not stay open. I had to prop it with a suitcase so it could air out after my shower and so I could listen to news while doing hair and make up. An annoying little inconvenience.

Breakfast not being included added hassle but I should have read that before booking


The location was done and the rest of it was fine but when the bed kills ya, it ruins the experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Staros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review regarding our Hilton Garden Inn located in Rio Rancho, NM.
Sorry to hear that you did not care for the Hilton Garden inn matresses. OUr mattress are designed to fit your preference of soft to firm. They have a self adjusting knob on the side of the bed. The front desk agent should have instructed you how this worked upon check-in. I apologize if you were not told of the flexible bedding firmness. We appreciate your input. We hope to see you the next time you are in Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    171
    85
    33
    20
See reviews for
187
130
53
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel room was nice and clean, did not have any problems other than the pillow being way too soft. Recommend having a better variety of pillows available. Had the breakfast buffet once and all the food was cold. Brought it to the attention of the hostess and she had it fixed (a discount for having to eat cold food would have been nice though). Overall good experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rg21361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent post regarding our Hilton Garden Inn located in Rio Rancho New Mexico. It is good to hear that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us. We have made note regarding your comments about adding a variety of pillows and will submit it to upper management. I personally apologize for the cold food at breakfast. We do have a staff member making sure we change it out in order to keep fresh food out at all times. So we apologize that this happened it is not a norm for our restaurant and will strive to ensure it never happens again. Please come back and see us next time you are in Rio Rancho.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The room was clean. Internet service worked great. I ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast- both were very good. The business center functioned well. Complimentary newspaper. The room was quite (it helped being in a room located on the rear side of the building as the front is off a fairly busy road. I would opt to stay here a gain in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent post on our Hilton Garden Inn located in Rio Rancho New Mexico. We were delighted to read your complimentary post regarding our hotel. We strive very hard to provide quality accommodations and professional friendly serivce. It is good to hear that we are suceeding in keeping our guests needs satisified. Yes please come back and see us next time you are in Rio Rancho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a nice HGI, however when I was in the tub the fire alarm went off. Not a good time for that high pitch squealing to be throbbing my ears. I wasn't too happy about it. The bed was alright but I don't care too much for HGI's bed. The mints on the bed and the cookies upon check-in was a nice touch. Don't know if they do it for everyone since I am a Diamond VIP. The location was good right across the street from the Intel plant. Breakfast was nice and I would have given it 4 stars but the fire alarm got to deduct one star. Moral of the story if you get a Jacuzzi room close the door when you have it on. I kinda wonder if the steam set it off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent post regarding your stay at our Hilton Garden Inn located in Rio Rancho New Mexico. We appreciate your feedback. It is good to hear that your total experience with us was plesant. We do apologize for the fire alarm going off, especially while in the tub. Our engineer has been notified of this and is checking into what may be causing the alarms to go off. Please come back and see us next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our county held a conference at this facility. The service for the breaks was excellent and the meeting space was great.In addition, lunch was provided for the attendees although it was a simple meal (sandwiches) it was very well done. I recommend this hotel for any and all conference needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Hilton Garden Inn Rio Rancho during your SCA conference last week. Our entire staff enjoyed being of service to your group in both servciing your meeting and catering needs as well as your sleeping room needs.
Your attendees were most gracious, we do hope to have your confrence at our hotel once again in the future. Stop by and say hi next time you are in town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The staff was very courteous, especially the cleaning ladies. The hotel rooms were kept very clean, and comfortable. But the beds are really hard, and the TV isn't the best. (i.e. took forever for it to change channels, no guide)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jamie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We appreciate your recent post on Trip Advisor regarding our Hilton Garden Inn located in Rio Rancho, New Mexico. It is great to hear that our entire hotel staff excudes friendliness and professionalism. We are proud of our hotel and so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and see us next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was a very clean hotel. Staff was very friendly, helpful and professional, spoke to you like they knew you. Check in/out was quick and easy. Good location, very clean lobby, rooms and outside area, well lite at night outside. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra T, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent post on tripadvisor regarding our Hilton Garden Inn in Rio Rancho, New Mexico. We appreciate your feedback especially positive ones like yours.
Please come back and see us next time you are in Rio Rancho.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Rancho
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 5 in Rio Rancho
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albuquerque - Rio Rancho
0.4 mi away
Inn at Rio Rancho & Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Rio Rancho
Days Inn Rio Rancho
#4 of 5 in Rio Rancho
293 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albuquerque North/I-25
5.5 mi away
Sandia Resort & Casino
Sandia Resort & Casino
#41 of 144 in Albuquerque
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho
Address: 1771 Rio Rancho Dr SE, Rio Rancho, NM 87124-1052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Rio Rancho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Rancho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Rio Rancho is the premier property located at the gateway to the city of vision. All of our well-appointed guest rooms feature Keurig Coffee Makers, Microwave, Refrigerators and Garden Sleep system beds. We are 25 minutes from the Albuquerque Sunport - located directly across from Intel. We are a short 5 minute drive from the Cottonwood Mall and only 10 minutes from the Balloon Fiesta Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque North/Rio Rancho Hotel Rio Rancho
Hilton Rio Rancho
Rio Rancho Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Rio Rancho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing