We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian!”
Review of Joe's Pasta House

Joe's Pasta House
Ranked #1 of 128 Restaurants in Rio Rancho
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: "Our Focus is on Quality Ingredients, Great Atmosphere & Personal Service." Voted Best Italian Restaurant Albuquerque 2013, Best Pasta Albuquerque 2013 & Best Dessert: Tiramisu; as voted on in Albuquerque the Magazine, The Weekly Alibi & Best of Taste of Rio Rancho 2014! Serving Rio Rancho & Albuquerque, New Mexico area for over 14 years & reviewed as one of the Best Restaurants; Joe's Pasta House proudly shares with you the traditional Italian American cuisine created with immigration recipes taught to Joe while growing up in his grandmother's kitchen. Working in the family bakery, Joe also learned the pastry trade from his father; but his heart remained in grandma's kitchen. After reiceving culinary training in NYC; Joe started out in the restaurant business as dishwasher, then a cook while also serving & he worked his way up. Being experienced with working with several chefs, he started his first business with Dagwood's Restaurant following with Avanti's Pizzeria & Dakota's Catering. Kassie (KC), Joe's wife, started out as server in her teens, working her way up to food & beverage management by her early 20's; both in restaurants & catering. Together Joe & Kassie Guzzardi team up to serve you with over 50 years combined restaurant & catering experience. It is our joy & pleasure to serve you.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Joe's food is quite good and they do an excellent catering service. The dessert cannoles (sp?) are incredible! I buy them for Italian meals in my home.

Thank jaruwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you, it is nice to hear you enjoy both our restaurant & catering. Did you know we do custom catering too (not just Italian)? The Cannoli is Papa Joe's recipe (Joe's dad) & we really appreciate that you like them so much you take them home with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 378 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Wow...a great dinner last night. The food was amazing and the portions were large. I am in town for business and love it that I can check out Tripadvisor for recommendations. Do not miss this place. The bruschetta is delicious. A must visit. The salad was fresh and the entree was hot and tasty! Wait staff attentive too. What is not to like?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank motherjanegoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

We love getting comments like "Yummy!" - it sounds like you really enjoyed every aspect of dining with us! There are so many different details that come into play to be able to get a great review like this; thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Mussels are a specialty on those nights and worth checking out. We did not find the bread to be anything exciting, although the dipping sauce (more like a salsa) was delicious. The antipasta plate is delicious and huge, especially for an appetizer. This could easily be shared between two as a main salad. Service was very good, even on a busy weekend night. Consider going early. When we left the place at 7pm, there was a long line of people waiting for tables.

Thank sttdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed our fresh steamed mussels; we may have them during the week, as well (when we can get them in fresh), if you prefer dining on an evening that might be possibly slower; just give us a call & we will let you know if they are available. With our evening bread service, we offer the first serving of the Bruschetta Pomadora (diced tomatoes, olive oil, onions, garlic & local/organic basil) at no charge... many patrons really appreciate this specially when so many restaurants are discontinuing free bread service & seem to charge $7.95-$10.95 for the Pomadora. We are very pleased to hear that the service you received was very good & I our staff will be very happy to hear it too; they take a lot of pride in doing their jobs well. Thank you again, we appreciate you taking time to share your dining experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Food was really good! Before the meal they give good italian bread with this really good tomato/garlic spread, almost filled up on that alone. Slightly pricey, but will eat here again.

Thank SGarciaABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoy our food; the sauce, bruschetta pomadora & bread are all house made (as is most of our menu items). We do our best to provide fresh, wholesome food that includes local organic basil, no hydrogenated oils & minimal processed ingredients. It is important to us in serving family recipes that we are serving the same quality of food that we would serve to our family. It is really great of you to take the time to let us know how much you appreciate our food; thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We tried Joe's based on a friends recommendation and because we had a coupon. It was okay because we had a coupon but we didn't like it enough to go back and pay full price. In fact, my husband was very disappointed in his meal. Mine was okay, I've had better, but my husband ordered basic cannelloni and he was very disappointed. He even mentioned it to the manager who responded like it was a personal attack on his family recipe. We have a number of Italian friends who make a much better cannelloni - thankfully. Needless to say, we won't be going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCGuzzardi, Owner at Joe's Pasta House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

We are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your dining experience with us & that the manager didn't follow proper procedures when checking in with you; you see the whole reason we check with each table is to assure that all of our guests are happy. If we find guests that are not happy with their meal, then we have the opportunity to fix the problem before they leave. We will be sure to reiterate this procedure to our management staff & very much appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Pasta House also viewed

 
Rio Rancho, NM
 

Been to Joe's Pasta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing