We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Rivers Edge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Great staff service. the manager make you hot egg and waffle ont he order despite the advertise of 'continental bf'.

we forgot a pair of glasses and they took the trouble of tracing us with different phone numbers so that we can turn back in to retrieve it.

the property is right next to the red river......you may want to call to request a room facing the river.

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank dan8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Rivers Edge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 553 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed at the Best Western, Red River NM, for two nights. The rooms were clean, and they recently installed flat-screen tv's (42"+) in all the rooms. Yeah, the walls are a little thin and you can tell when others are showering; but we did not go there to lounge a whole lot...we went there to ski !! Other guests at the Best Western seemed to be there at Red River for the same reason we were, as things quietened down at a reasonable hour, and we slept well. The mgr. at the Best Western is real nice. He cooked breakfast the second morning we stayed, and everything went fine. There is another guy, though, that cooked the first morning we were there...and let me tell you, he is a jerk! He had a real attitude [problem], and we finally went somewhere else to eat. We wanted to eat the free breakfast both mornings, but this guy's attitude cleared the room. Maybe that was his plan..?? Other than "The Chef" guy (the first morning's cook), we had a good time. The skiing was good, too. We will definitely stay here again, hoping that the "chef with the attitude" is long gone!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TexasSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We booked an online reservation October 9th. We received a confirmation number. We then called the hotel to inquire about additional nights since the website said they were booked other than the two nights we reserved. The person we spoke to, which we did later learn is the general manager, told us that there was no additional availability. At no time did he say anything about the two nights that we already booked as not being available. Six weeks later, we receive a phone call from the desk jockey there telling us that we did not have a room AT ALL due to the hotel being "overbooked". He had no explanation nor any alternatives just a tuffsie [-] attitude.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank txstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

1) old, run down, poorly maintained.
2) no closet space, no closet in fact (???)
3) noisy appliances, very bad soundproffing, could hear running water from next room.
4) looks like door had been kicked in recently, door would not close and lock properly. Told desk clerk the next day and he said they were aware of it (and obviously did nothing)
5) attitude from the desk staff.


this is not Best Western level of quality. Saw from other reviews that any complaints fall on deaf ears at corporate. Maybe I should re-think using BW in the future.

Very similar exp to a review here in '07, poster from bkwebb from abq.

Maybe they don't like military/govt bookers from Albuquerque., and gave us their crappiest room.
Who knows.

Hope this helps someone from making the mistake we did.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DrBobNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

I stayed (along with two friends) in room 204 and we all agreed that Red River was the best place we could have chosen to vacation in this part of NM -- beautiful and charming town.
This hotel was quite adequate and also charming in its own way. I would recommend a room in the backside of the hotel which faces the stream, in particular rooms 202 and 204 or the equivalent rooms on the lower level.
Positive - a great all around location
Neutral - breakfast, the staff
Negative - nothing

PMV
Wichita, KS

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PMV66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We liked it. The room was clean and comfortable. They have fabulous linens on the bed which I really liked. The walls did seem thin and we could hear the neighbors using the toilet …but, oh well. We were not in the room that much anyway. Too much to see and do. The owner and his wife stopped by and said Hi as we were sitting on the deck in the evening. The hotel is right on the river and everything is within walking distance. Next door is the chair lift to the top of the mountain and that was very cool. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamanthaRevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise! We booked 2 rooms for only one night - just passing through. But the hotel was clean, and an excellent bargain. The lobby had great homemade chocolate chip cookies set out regularly. Our rooms were on the back right next to the river - which provided beautiful "music" through an open window all night. A personal story may tell you about the management. Just before dark, we sat on the deck outside our room enjoying the river. Somehow, I carelessly dropped my diamond solitaire ring. It went through the boards and fell underneath. We frantically started searching, but were not really able to get under the deck. The owner heard what happened and he and another gentleman came with flashlights and a willingness to do whatever was required. They both crawled under the deck and spent quite a while looking. Finally, one of them spotted it where it had bounced a good ways from where I dropped it. Without their help, we probably would not have found it, and I would have been crushed!
The new owner is personally upgrading the hotel as quickly as he can. I suspect that it will be even nicer soon.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sajac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#4 of 8 in Red River
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
54 reviews
8.1 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
95 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
98 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rivers Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rivers Edge

Address: 301 W. River Street, Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Price Range: $111 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rivers Edge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only franchised lodge in town, the River's Edge Lodge provides several amenities found nowhere else in Red River, such as air conditioning, free hot breakfast each morning, 42" HDTV's & HBO/SHO/250+ HD channels, and the assurance that we are meeting all of Best Western's increasingly stringent standards. We have the best location in town, with the Red River wrapping around the property's quiet, park-like setting (coming within 20 feet of some of the rooms). The Carson National Forest and a nature trail stretching for miles lie just across the river, and the Red River Ski Area's main Platinum chair lift is literally a few dozen steps away from our lobby's front door. The town's only grocery store and most of the best restaurants are similarly located within a very short walk. Come stay with the River's Edge and we will go the extra distance to make sure your every need is met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Rivers Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western River`s Edge Hotel Red River
Best Western Red River
Red River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing