We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Rivers Edge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The River's Edge Best Western in Red River is so peaceful and relaxing. The river is flowing right behind the hotel and the sound of the rushing water is very calming and soothing. If you are lucky and get a room on the backside of the hotel, the room has a porch that you can sit on and enjoy the river. There is a sidewalk not far from the hotel that goes along the river for some distance and you can take an enjoyable walk and listen to the river. We actually had 2 mother deer along with their babies come up as we walked along and saw a small buck in the distance. The town is fairly quiet during the week (which is great) but activity picks up on Thursday and is a busy place on weekends. There are many stores to shop and things to see that you don't feel crowded. It is just a nice, peaceful place to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 2006ranchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 565 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our three night stay. Excellent room overlooking the river with nice seating area right on the water. GREAT value considering we had a microwave and fridge along with an AWESOME HUGE new flatscreen TV!

The staff was laid back and friendly. Easy check in and a great breakfast- my wife lived her eggs.

One recommendation- ask guests not to smoke while standing on the upper balcony. Open windows and mountain air are spoiled by nasty cigarette smoke.

Even though we did not take advantage of it, this property is pet friendly and that is huge to us dog lovers!

Oh, and pay no attention to the bear footprints in the parking lot- they only eat people that complain about trivial things on Tripadvisor! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gtm7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed two nights in September of 2013. We were here a year ago and it was great to see Mike still working there. He is very friendly and will go out of his way to accomodate you. The entire hotel is clean and has a great location in town. The river is right behind it and the grocery store one block from it. The rooms are immaculate, the decor is spot on, the T.V. is huge, and no issues found with the rooms. Now talk about a personal touch, the breakfast here is cooked to order. No powdered eggs or road-kill breakfast sausage like all the other locations I have stayed at. Obviously I highly recommend this place, but advise to make your reservations early. This place always seems to be booked (I wonder why). Tell Mike the motorcycle riders from Cypress/Houston Texas sent you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JG-II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This BW is in a great location, right on the river. The staff was pleasant and friendly. Great value for the price I paid. Breakfast was great. I would stay here again if passing through the area. It is a great place to stay for hikers that are visiting the many great hiking spots in the area, especially the Rio Grande Del Norte National Monument.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank ginaceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this inn on the nights of Sept. 8 - 9. On Sept. 8, the whole area, including Taos which is 37 miles away, experienced a power outage for about 2 hours. The manager stayed outside the property, where he could more easily be seen by guests, for almost the entire time so that he was available to help in whatever ways he could. He built a fire in the firepit on the patio, and a number of guests gathered there for light and company. He kept calling other business owners in the area and kept us informed about who had seen power crews, who had their lights back, etc. He handed out flashlights and emergency candles, and the front desk clerk even went to retrieve more from her own home. The power came back and the next morning, we had a very good breakfast considering the small space and lack of a full kitchen. Bacon and eggs to order and waffles are made for every guest who requests them. It's a well-maintained property in a beautiful location, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back, facing the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revrenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was one of the strangest motel experiences I’ve ever had.

When we checked in Friday, Sept.13, there was no one at the front desk but there were envelopes placed on the counter with our names written on the outside. Inside the envelope were the key cards and the small envelope with the room number written on it.

We rang the bell on the counter, but no one came. A sign on the door listed the office hours ended at eight p.m. and here it was just a few minutes past eight p.m. I then went outside to the red “house phone” and dialed 0 only to get a voice message that said office hours ended at nine p.m.

I wandered around outback following the sound of music to find a guitar player entertaining a group of people but no one there identified as motel employees. We finally decided to wrestle all of our gear up to the second floor room to which we were assigned. I should note that there are no elevators in this motel and the stairs are not well-marked. A little while later, I returned to the lobby to find someone there and when I asked about our first floor request, I was basically told “tough” because central reservation service doesn’t know anything about room locations — just room types.

At this point, I should note, that beyond being told very nicely that there was nothing that could be done about honoring our room request, we were offered complimentary cocktails, which we took advantage of because we were in great need of some sort of calming influence.

The check-out on Sunday, September 15 was equally automatic and impersonal. The bills were laid out on the counter just as the envelopes were Friday night. The difference, however, was that they were not in envelopes and so any of the personal information was available for all to see. Furthermore, it was impossible at this time to ascertain whether our Best Western reward points would be credited to our account. Further, our bill contains a $10 per day that charge when I understood that the charge was to be $10 per stay.

Perhaps I am being too “citified,” but I consider both check-in and the check-out process and egregious breach of confidentiality and security. What would stop a stranger from coming in to the lobby, taking the envelope and helping himself to the room, perhaps in wait to rob or otherwise harm an intended customer? And, with the identifying information on the bills left at the counter, what is to stop someone from notifying an accomplice that there is an opportunity at a vacant home?

This motel staff makes a “big deal” about its breakfast offerings, but both days the eggs were bland and the bacon tasteless. The coffee served at breakfast was more like punished water than real coffee. The lobby is really not set up for serving breakfast inasmuch as there are only counters at which to sit instead of tables.

None of this information is available prior to or without visiting this facility.

On the upside: The room itself was clean, spacious and well appointed. The Internet was fast and easy to access. It’s not the staff wasn’t friendly; they were. It’s just this was not the type of accommodation we would’ve expected for the price point or from a Best Western franchisee.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newsguygeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwriversedge, Owner at Best Western Rivers Edge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for mentioning that the room was clean, spacious and well appointed, and that the staff was friendly. I'm sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request for a downstairs room at check-in. If downstairs is an absolute requirement, please always mention it in the special requests when booking through Best Western as you did, or call us directly after making the reservation - we will do the best we can. Unfortunately you were one of the last arrivals on a night every room was full, so there was not much we could do. I'm sorry we got off on the wrong foot. Our office is not open 24-hours as we have only 31 rooms (we are available after-hours in emergencies), so we do use the electronic-room-key-in-a-sealed-envelope system for after-hours arrivals. I promise you we do take security seriously. For example, if someone WERE to take your envelope and room key, then you would necessarily need to contact the front desk to get a new room key and number. At this point, the front desk clerk would realize that someone else had mistakenly taken your envelope and room key, and investigate to make sure no one was in your room. We would then deactivate the old room key and issue you a new room key. As each room door is metal with a lock, deadbolt, swing-latch and peephole, you would be quite secure. I hope this helps keep your mind at ease should you encounter another small hotel that uses this after-hours method of check-in.

sincerely,

Courtney Henderson, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I don't remember my rewards #. How can I get this information and my rewards. The stay was comfortable and I enjoyed my stay. The breakfast and the area was not the best. Way too many people for such a small area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 9 in Red River
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#9 of 9 in Red River
55 reviews
8.1 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
96 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
8.2 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Rivers Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Rivers Edge

Address: 301 W. River Street, Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Price Range: $110 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Rivers Edge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only franchised lodge in town, the River's Edge Lodge provides several amenities found nowhere else in Red River, such as air conditioning, free hot breakfast each morning, 42" HDTV's & HBO/SHO/250+ HD channels, and the assurance that we are meeting all of Best Western's increasingly stringent standards. We have the best location in town, with the Red River wrapping around the property's quiet, park-like setting (coming within 20 feet of some of the rooms). The Carson National Forest and a nature trail stretching for miles lie just across the river, and the Red River Ski Area's main Platinum chair lift is literally a few dozen steps away from our lobby's front door. The town's only grocery store and most of the best restaurants are similarly located within a very short walk. Come stay with the River's Edge and we will go the extra distance to make sure your every need is met. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Rivers Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western River`s Edge Hotel Red River
Best Western Red River
Red River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing