We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Needs Some Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My family just returned from a 5-day ski vacation to Red River. We rented two of the condos as we wanted to use the kitchenette, etc.

Let's start with the pros of Alpine Lodge: Friendly staff - On our first night we arrived late, and the staff was very accommodating in making sure we could get into our rooms. Friendly staff is a HUGE bonus for me, so I say that weighs heavily in it's favor. You can not beat the location - Just a short walk to the platinum lift. Not having to worry about parking and locker rental is a win in my books.

A few cons: Condos were dated. I'm not sure if these are privately owned and let out, or owned by Alpine Lodge themselves, but they could use some serious face lifts. I get that paneling gives the lodge look, but we had a lot of wiring running throughout the place, and the bedding was very much on the cheaper end of things. Which leads me to my next con: We rented a one bedroom queen with a futon sleeper couch for our daughter. I took my turn on both of the beds and each were equally uncomfortable. After a long day of skiing, which comes a long with it's own aches for us not-quite-in-the-best-shape-we-want peeps, it would be nice to lay down on something a bit more comfortable. Just some face lifts, that's all I ask. We also had some conduit running through the shower in our unit....not sure about code on that, but I'm happy to report, we survived! Finally we stayed in a two story unit. Walls are a bit thin, and while we were happy to have fun and stay up a bit later than our norm, the snowboarders above us totally put us to shame. And we could hear them until the wee hours of the morning.

And the final review, which is neither a pro or a con... The Heater. Works like a CHAMP. Meaning. If it's 10 degrees outside, that thing is your best friend. Crank it up and you're roasting in a 30 seconds flat. If your body runs a little warm to start with, just beware. Better to have it warm easily then not have it warm up at all!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoenigKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineManagement, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We realize there are a lot of great options when staying in Red River so we truly appreciate all of those who decide to stay at the Alpine Lodge! Thank you also for sharing with others your experience with us - we appreciate the feedback as we seek to better the ‘Guest Experience’ each and every day.

We are sorry to hear of your concerns with your cabin. We have been updating these units recently but have certainly tried to maintain the ‘rustic’ feel of these at the same time. (Many of these cabins were built in the 1950's at the same time the Red River Ski Area was founded). Your unit had just been done over with aspen accent walls, a new futon, a new refrigerator, a new flat screen, new curtains, etc… We do have fifty units total on the property and many of these are much newer ‘condo’ styled units (and probably would have been more to your liking). Also, we have had to add electrical capacity to some of these older cabins. The work was done by certified electricians and has been inspected and approved by both the Town and our insurance company so there are absolutely no safety concerns.

Thank you again for staying with us. We are sorry you had issues during your stay. We certainly understand if you choose not to stay with us again but we do hope you come back to Red River in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Lodge & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 237 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I have rented houses and stayed in condos many times in Red River. We booked the honeymoon sweet. The view of the "face" was perfect. The room was pretty basic, which is what we were going for. After seeing the great view, the next thing we noticed was all the quiet time signs. In most Red River condos and hotels, you have to deal with the kids constantly running up and down the halls and stairs (usually with their ski boots on). This is NOT that place. After a full day of skiing, you can come back to your room, sit on the balcony, and just chill. Another thing we loved about this place was the ability to park our vehicle on the day we arrived and not have to drive it until the morning that we headed home. Perfect location for walking to the ski lift and walking all over town. I would have given an "excellent" review but the pillows and bed were not real comfortable, but I can live without a great bed. Very clean place, the owners seem to actually take their business seriously...which is not always the case in Red River.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottmichaels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineManagement, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We realize there are a lot of great options when staying in Red River so we truly appreciate all of those who decide to stay at the Alpine Lodge! Thank you also for sharing with others your experience with us - we appreciate the feedback as we seek to better the ‘Guest Experience’ each and every day.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our “Honeymoon Suite.” Being on the 3rd floor of our Main Chalet, it does have great views of the “Face” and has been one of our most popular rooms over the years. Thank you also for recognizing that we try to make the property as serene and peaceful as we can for our guests.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Property is older but still very nice, certainly convenient to ski lifts, and with a really nice staff. It is definintely not a "cookie cutter" hotel and was exactly what we wanted on our vacation in Red River. Our room had two queen size beds (not doubles like in many other hotels) with coffee provided in the room, and best of all, a view of the ski runs. Everything was immaculate, property was very peaceful, parking convenient, hot tubs clean and hot, and we loved the campfire at night. The only things we had issues with were our cell phones not working consisently in Red River and wifi not reaching all the way to our room. Still loved the place and will return.

Room Tip: Rooms along Pioneer Road have views of the ski runs.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineManagement, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We realize there are a lot of great options when staying in Red River so we truly appreciate all of those who decide to stay at the Alpine Lodge! Thank you also for sharing with others your experience with us - we appreciate the feedback as we seek to better the ‘Guest Experience’ each and every day.

We are so glad you loved the place and that you had a great stay with us. We do have a lot of units that offer great views of the Red River Ski Area – these are popular in the winter, of course, but just as popular in the summer for watching wildlife. Also, glad to hear you enjoyed the hot tubs and the campfire. We are sorry about your cellphone service (Verizon seems to work the best in our area) and for the Wi-Fi service on the property (we are continuing to look for a viable solution to providing better service to all fifty units. In the meantime, the strongest signal is in our lobby and we do offer a Business Center computer and printer, as well).

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have an annual family/Boy Scout trip to Red River every January (this was my family's second trip). This year we stayed at Alpine due to its proximity to the mian chalet and the ski lifts. The location was perfect. We had a group of 19 people (10 adults and 9 kids - ages 12 to 17). The decor and furnishings are definitely dated but it seems that is common. The place we stayed last year (Golden Eagle) was the same way. Since we had 19 people, our group was split up into 2 cabins/rooms - 12 in one and 7 in the other. The large, 4 bed room cabin (#31) towards the back of the property is where my family stayed. The kitchen was great. Spacious, with a dishwasher, microwave, etc... The bathrooms were functional but tiny. The hot water was super-hot and plentiful. The unit was heated by wall furnaces and the one in our bedroom was noisy making it difficult to sleep. There is free Wi-Fi however the signal does NOT reach this part of the property so if you need internet access you'll have to walk towards the office. Our other group stayed in cabin #19. I did not hear of any complaints. The cabin will sleep 12 folks but 4 of them have to share 2 fold out futon style couches in the main living room. I would say the cabin sleeps 8 people unless you want to pack them in like we did. Overall it was an average experience with a great location.

Room Tip: I would say the cabin (#31) sleeps 8 people unless you want to pack them in like we did.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineManagement, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We realize there are a lot of great options when staying in Red River so we truly appreciate all of those who decide to stay at the Alpine Lodge! Thank you also for sharing with others your experience with us - we appreciate the feedback as we seek to better the ‘Guest Experience’ each and every day.

We are glad you enjoyed our location but we were concerned that you had only an ‘average’ stay with us. We are never satisfied with just average so we took some steps this week to improve this unit both from a visual and a functional standpoint. Because of the size of our property, providing a strong, consistent Wi-Fi signal to all fifty units has been a challenge. We will continue to look for a viable solution to this problem.

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope we have addressed your concerns with this unit this week through the improvements we made and that you will choose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We could not have picked a better location to stay at. It was just so convenient to everything especially the skiing! We absolutely loved being able to go back to our room to warm up, take a break and eat in our room. It was soooooo cold in RR last week while we were there, we even took a break from skiing one day and sat in the hot tubs to warm up before going to the hill in the pm. It made for a fun day. Had a great time and a great stay at the Alpine!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the ski hill. Online they tell you 'ski view."
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unmlobo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineManagement, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We realize there are a lot of great options when staying in Red River so we truly appreciate all of those who decide to stay at the Alpine Lodge! Thank you also for sharing with others your experience with us - we appreciate the feedback as we seek to better the ‘Guest Experience’ each and every day.

It was definitely some of the coldest temperatures we have had this season during your stay so we are glad the hot tubs came in handy. Our guests really do enjoy being so close to the skiing because it does allow them the opportunity to go back and forth throughout the day.

Thank you again for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to host you again on your next visit to the mountains!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Alpine Lodge is the perfect place to stay while skiing at Red River! Within walking distance to the lift, which took away the hassle of parking. The lobby area at the lodge was the perfect place to hang out with my child, check email and just drink coffee plus that let my husband have some quiet time in the room. Customer service was great! The ladies answered each and every question I had while we were they. Definitely going back to the Alpine Lodge!!!

Room Tip: You definitely want a room with a kitchen so you can have the convenience of going back to the room...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TammyW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineManagement, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We realize there are a lot of great options when staying in Red River so we truly appreciate all of those who decide to stay at the Alpine Lodge! Thank you also for sharing with others your experience with us - we appreciate the feedback as we seek to better the ‘Guest Experience’ each and every day.

Our proximity to the main chairlift is one of our top amenities in the winter. We see many of our guests returning to their rooms at lunch since we are so close to the mountain. We are also glad you enjoyed ‘hanging out’ in our lobby. Besides the fireplace and the ‘spa type’ music, it recently got a facelift (new furniture and a new warm paint color) so that it would be more inviting for our guests.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We traveled to Red River from Santa Fe at Thanksgiving so our children could learn to ski. We selected the Alpine Lodge because of its great location to the ski area. As a large family, we choose to rent a cabin with a kitchen and cook our Thanksgiving meal. The room was comfortable with plenty of beds for everyone and an adequately stocked kitchen and moderate sized living room.

The hotel had a big park with a fire at night. The kids loved roasting marshmallows while waiting for the parade down the mountain. We were a little worried about the Alpine's quiet time policy with young children, but after a full day skiing they were ready to settle down so it worked out and we had a little time to ourselves.

We hope to make this a Thanksgiving tradition for our family from now on.

Room Tip: The restaurants in Red River can have long waits so if traveling with young children, we suggest ren...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineManagement, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We realize there are a lot of great options when staying in Red River so we truly appreciate all of those who decide to stay at the Alpine Lodge! Thank you also for sharing with others your experience with us - we appreciate the feedback as we seek to better the ‘Guest Experience’ each and every day.

We love that we are getting more and more families such as yours from neighboring towns spending time with us. Our cabins are often rented by families because of the kitchens. They allow for more family time as opposed to having to go out for every meal. Saturdays around the campfire have become very popular with guests wanting to stay warm while waiting for the torchlight parade to begin. We are also glad that you found the benefit of our quiet time. It has really made our property very peaceful!

Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope you and your family make us part of your Thanksgiving tradition from now on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
54 reviews
8.2 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
95 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Eagle Lodge
Golden Eagle Lodge
#4 of 8 in Red River
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Address: 417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Price Range: $102 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Lodge & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian lodge located on the river, at the base of the main chair lift, on Main Street near shops and restaurants, and near ATV and hiking trails. Amenities include private-use hot tubs, fitness center, dry sauna, fireplaces (gas and wood), kitchens, guest laundry, free wi-fi in lobby, and a private park along the river with campfire at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge And Hotel
Alpine Hotel Red River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing