We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our Thanksgiving Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Thanksgiving Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We traveled to Red River from Santa Fe at Thanksgiving so our children could learn to ski. We selected the Alpine Lodge because of its great location to the ski area. As a large family, we choose to rent a cabin with a kitchen and cook our Thanksgiving meal. The room was comfortable with plenty of beds for everyone and an adequately stocked kitchen and moderate sized living room.

The hotel had a big park with a fire at night. The kids loved roasting marshmallows while waiting for the parade down the mountain. We were a little worried about the Alpine's quiet time policy with young children, but after a full day skiing they were ready to settle down so it worked out and we had a little time to ourselves.

We hope to make this a Thanksgiving tradition for our family from now on.

Room Tip: The restaurants in Red River can have long waits so if traveling with young children, we suggest ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineManagement, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We realize there are a lot of great options when staying in Red River so we truly appreciate all of those who decide to stay at the Alpine Lodge! Thank you also for sharing with others your experience with us - we appreciate the feedback as we seek to better the ‘Guest Experience’ each and every day.

We love that we are getting more and more families such as yours from neighboring towns spending time with us. Our cabins are often rented by families because of the kitchens. They allow for more family time as opposed to having to go out for every meal. Saturdays around the campfire have become very popular with guests wanting to stay warm while waiting for the torchlight parade to begin. We are also glad that you found the benefit of our quiet time. It has really made our property very peaceful!

Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope you and your family make us part of your Thanksgiving tradition from now on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    44
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
81
83
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Alpine. Our room was clean and the king size bed was comfortable. We especially enjoyed sitting on our balcony looking at the mountains in the evening and again in the morning with a cup of coffee. The fall foliage was beautiful. This lodge is also in a great location where you can walk to dinner and shopping and not have to drive around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the Alpine Lodge October 4th through the 7th. The grounds were well kept, our two room lodge with full kitchen was perfect, and the Oktoberfest was awesome. We will definitely return and recommend the Alpine Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwimelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hospitality was great, location perfect and our cabin was very clean and comfortable. Our family spent three nights in a two bedroom cabin just a couple of weeks ago. The cabin had a kitchen with everything we needed to cook our family's meals. One night we cooked in the park at a grill near the campfire. After dinner, our kids enjoyed roasting marshmallows and just running around the park. We all had a relaxing time and found fun just being together. We feel like we have found our place in the mountains. We will positively stay again at the Alpine.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having the kitchen and the fireplace but you might need to request at the time of making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our fourth time to stay at the Alpine Lodge, and we again had a very nice stay. Our musts for a hotel include a clean room, nice view, large tv, comfortable bed, and a quiet location. The Alpine has met these requirements each time. We actually enjoy looking around the property and deciding what additions have been made since our last visit. We have gotten to where we really like to travel to northern New Mexico in the fall while the aspens are changing color and the temps are dropping. On this trip, the Alpine Lodge served as our home base while we did area activities which included Red River;s fall festival, Chama's Cumbres Toltec Railroad, the Enchanted Circle Scenic Byway, and several art galleries in Taos.

The Alpine has earned our business over the years and we will continue to stay with them on our return trips to the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved the Alpine Lodge from the minute we pulled into the parking lot. Located on the river, the hotel has a beautiful mountain setting. There are several buildings all with a German look. We arrived in September when the town was not busy, but everyone at the lodge was busy. You could tell that this independently owned property took pride in it. We did not have a reservation so the woman at the desk helped us select a room in a building near the river. It was perfect for us. We could park along the deck by the room so we did not have to carry luggage far and enjoyed sitting on the deck looking at the river and mountains. The room was small but well taken care of, cozy, and reasonably priced for being along the river.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk staff to help you select based on your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed the weekend of 6 October 2012 and the Alpine Lodge definitely did not live up to the reviews on Trip Advisor or the pictures on the web site. The room, although clean, was in extremely poor shape. We could have lived with the dated and run-down condition but we could not live with the musty smell, constant odor of sewer gas, and lack of hot water. I cannot believe this establishment is rated as the number two in Red River.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Work2Roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
8.2 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Property: Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Address: 417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Lodge & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian lodge located on the river, at the base of the main chair lift, on Main Street near shops and restaurants, and near ATV and hiking trails. Amenities include private-use hot tubs, fitness center, dry sauna, fireplaces (gas and wood), kitchens, guest laundry, free wi-fi in lobby, and a private park along the river with campfire at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Lodge & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge And Hotel
Alpine Hotel Red River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing