We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alpine Lodge was Picture Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Houston Suburbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Alpine Lodge was Picture Perfect”
Reviewed December 22, 2007

Our family of 4 stayed at Alpine Lodge the week of December 20, right after the kids got out of school. The week before Christmas is not crowded at Red River. The Alpine Lodge is a little Bavarian lodge out of a story book. The pictures on their website do not come close to capturing its appeal; and with the exception of the poor-quality bouncy beds, it exceeded all of our expectations. It sits right at the base of the ski area, and fronts to the quaint main street of Red River, which at this time of the year sparkles with Christmas lights and snow, especially enchanting as you round the last mountain curve and take your first view of Red River arriving after dark on your first night. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit with a kitchen, and could park right out front of unit, up next to the gingerbread front porch. There is a children's playground, a fire pit with rough-hewn swings that you can sit around and watch the big fire every night, which also fronts the babbling river that runs through the property and under a covered gingerbread bridge leading to the ski area, arcade, bar, italian restaurant (Capos), etc. All this, AND the snow capped mountains are the 360 degree view backdrop, and everything around the lodge and the town covered in several feet of gorgeous white snow. Cathy at the front desk was very attentive and friendly. You can walk to everything from the Alpine (1-2 minute walk): (1) We walked to a great breakfast at T-Bucks Hole Thing, where the service was great; (2) walked across the street to for the best dinner of the trip, at a restaurant call Timbers; (3) walked to the grocery store just up the street (prices are high, shop at home before you come if you can); (4) walked to the snow mobile shop (Fast Eddie's, which fronts the Alpine Lodge - ask for Montana to be your guide, what a blast and worth every penny for the 2 & 1/2 hour trip); (5) walked right up the hill to the Red River Ski Area; (6) the Play Place arcade; and (6) the souvenir shops and ski shops. We drove 4 blocks to the "Lodge" for dinner; don't waste your time on that place ($20 t-bone steak was thin and chewy, bread was hard; the special chicken and dumplings had 2 small pieces of chicken but 4 pieces of gristle -- just go to Timbers or somewhere else for a burger! We will come back again next year -- can't beat the Alpine for location, location, location!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Familygoes4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    44
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
81
83
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

We wanted to see the town of Red River for the first time and spend just one night next to the river. Our room looked out at the river, which we could hear from our room, which was clean and attractively furnished. We enjoyed walking the town, a hike in the woods along the river starting at the Alpine Lodge and dinner at the Timbers Restaurant across the street. We would do it again!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JungleTrailJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Kudos to the Alpine Lodge and to Red River. Both were simply fantastic! My family and I had the best vacation ever and have found our "home away from home"! We plan on returning shortly and often!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Had to leave
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tcottam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

We called weeks ahead to book a room for four people for Memorial Weekend---because of the Biker Rally all the rooms were taken except for a room with a King-sized bed but they said they would gladly accomodate us. When we arrived they gave out two sets of keys and two
vehicle passes; the desk clerk even came out and helped us find places to park our vehicles. One couple stayed on the bed and two on an air mattress on the floor.

The next morning the front desk person threatened to turn us in to the police for "theft of services" unless we paid $100 per person. So under threat, I was forced to pay $200.00 extra. (The room itself didn't even cost this much.) Obviously we felt robbed---they arranged
accomodations for our group under false pretenses and then only notified us of their strict occupancy code after we had spent the night. This is after already paying a $200.00 deposit on the room for
one night.

We left Red River immediately that day, this place will never, ever receive business from myself or my friends again and I plan on telling everyone in the area of our horrible experience and have also considered contacting the Better Business Bureau. Stay at the Golden Eagle instead, it's closer to the Motherloade and Bull o' the Woods and they don't flat out lie to you there.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NMWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keether, Owner at Alpine Lodge & Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2007
This review which I am responding to was not even written by a registered guest of our hotel's. We had a couple make a reservation on May 7th for one of our lodge rooms for two - it was for our last room for the Friday night of Memorial Day Weekend. They received a confirmation letter stating the room 's occupancy limit and the enforcement of said policy due to Fire and Safety Code. When they arrived at our hotel with an extra couple, we again notified all four of them that the room could only accomodate two guests. They claimed the extra couple was just visiting and would not be spending the night. I spoke with one of the visitors again at 9:30pm that same evening and was told again that they (the extra couple) would be leaving shortly. When we realized the next morning that the couple did not leave as they had promised we did enforce the extra payment. We have several policies in place to ensure the safety, comfort and enjoyment of all our guests and we do frown upon those few guests who choose to violate these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
8.2 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge & Hotel

Property: Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Address: 417 W. Main St., Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Lodge & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian lodge located on the river, at the base of the main chair lift, on Main Street near shops and restaurants, and near ATV and hiking trails. Amenities include private-use hot tubs, fitness center, dry sauna, fireplaces (gas and wood), kitchens, guest laundry, free wi-fi in lobby, and a private park along the river with campfire at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Lodge And Hotel
Alpine Hotel Red River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing