We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meat! ”

Texas Reds Steakhouse and Saloon
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in Red River
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good meat! ”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Order the ribeye or prime rib if your a meat eater. Both very good.

Have eaten here many times over 20 years. Food is CONSISTENTLY good. Sometime when they are busy they get a bit "short" so be prepared in case that happens.

Helpful?
Thank PilotFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    134
    104
    39
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“BUFFALO STEAK”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Hope the headline caught your attention. I eat at Texas Reds every New Year's Eve and always order the Buffalo steak. Remember that when you order it, choose medium to medium well. This is not a beef steak so expect it to look pink to red - but know that it's really done - and the only way to enjoy it!

The atmosphere is awesome - and if you have to wait, don't be afraid to go upstairs and enjoy a warm drink while waiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRadioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent steak and service!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Only planned to eat here once on our recent ski trip to Red River but after a disappointing experience at Timbers we wound up eating at Texas Red's twice this trip. Both times the food was great as was the service. Even on busy nights (we got there before 6 both nights and waited almost an hour both times), the service was great and the food came out timely and cooked correctly. The buffalo ribeye was delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank syd21300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely Rude”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Went to see Josh Grider and decided that we might as well eat while there. Ordered my two 19 year olds a beer (legal in most states), while standing at the bar, and was served without question. After getting the beers, we stood together trying to listen to the music for several minutes. One of the bar staff that was there when we ordered, came up and asked how old my boys were, and I told her. She said that she didn't know what kind of crazy laws we had in Texas, but in NM, it is illegal. Okay, so the surrendered the beers and we promised not to do it again.
Wait 5 minutes, and some guy comes up without introducing himself, and starts to chew my boys out, then starts on me. He tells me he had better not see it happen again, blah blah blah. This was after having the law explained by another person, and having our full compliance and sincere apology for the incident.

Having had a horrible ($80) lunch several days before at the same place, didn't really help my attitude, so we paid our tab and left. Had the "gentleman" introduced himself, and spoke to me, instead of acting like he wanted to take me outside, I would have been a lot more satisfied with the situation, but he was a total jerk about it. When we didn't have any problems with the bar staff and were extremely apologetic about the situation, the "gentleman" didn't need to even speak to us, much less try to show his back-side.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jstpush62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited this resturant twice because the food and service were so good. Best resturant in Red River, with excellen Bar staff. Live band is excellent as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJRLdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Reds Steakhouse and Saloon also viewed

Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 
Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 

Been to Texas Reds Steakhouse and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing