We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food nicely prepared” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timbers Steakhouse - CLOSED

Timbers Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Taos County, New Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food nicely prepared”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

A group of seven walked in for dinner. Sports bar tv was blaring and staff was attentive to seat us and offer drinks. Then it was downhill on service. As only diners and one waitstaff each step in the process was lengthy. Waitress reviewed specials over the din and told us what would not be available from the menu. As the food was served, it was very tasty and well prepared. We found the salmon well done and the barbecue chicken on a fresh roll very tasty too. Hopefully we just caught them on a bad night. The plus of the evening was that it was not crowded so they did not need to turn over our table

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Delftglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    30
    23
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food but there is room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

The food we ordered was very good. The draft beer was ice cold and delicious. Iced tea had something floating in it. Table was dirty even though napkins and silverware had been placed neatly upon table. Waitress seemed overwhelmed with tables and could not serve us adequately due to high volume of diners.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank IdaSlapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Quite As Expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We made reservations as suggested by other reviews. Waited for about 45 minutes anyway along with many other people. There were a few tables open by the wood stove the entire wait time, but apparently not available to all guests. They weren't seating anyone at those tables so we asked if we could sit there and were told no they are taken. There were also several young employees (I'm guessing around 10 to 14 yrs old) "helping" with various tasks (including the reservations) which added more frustration to the situation. They couldn't find enough chairs for us (we were a party of 2), so we had to wait again when a table finally opened up. We waited quite awhile for a waitress to even take our drink order because they were all slammed. We got checked on once the whole time we were there and saw several people leave after waiting for a waitress to get their drink order. It was hard to watch and we felt bad, but made the best of it. The food was pretty good, but much smaller portions than expected for the price. Our dinner date took about 3 hours of time that we will never get back lol. Not sure if they are this disorganized all year long or just during the peak season...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ariat4522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surly Servers Unwilling To Seat Us”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I've heard the food here is great, but didn't get the chance to try it. I've never been made to feel more unwelcome at a restaurant in my life. A group of six of us came in for dinner around 7pm. The hostess was nice, but told us there would be a wait while someone moved two tables together for us. However, the waitstaff was not keen on the idea. One of them said, in hearing range of our party, "This is bulls*#t. I'm not moving them into my section." The place was fairly busy, but not slammed. We waited a bit to see if they could sort things out. But as server after server passed us with a frown and a bad attitude, we decided to leave. We went across the street to Texas Red's where we were greeted warmly and seated immediately. I work in the tourism industry and it's service like this that DOESN'T keep visitors coming back for more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was fabulous,service not so much.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Definitely worth the wait and they do make you wait for a table....when there are open tables right in front of you....hostess lack basic seating skill.

Lots of food on plate and very delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya250025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbers Steakhouse also viewed

Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 
Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing