We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponderosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponderosa Lodge
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Ponderosa Lodge was wonderful for our Minister's Breakaway last week. The rooms were clean and comfotable. The office personnel went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We stayed for three days and had a great time!

Room Tip: The rooms with kitchenettes and fireplaces are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    6
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed in motel type room. Very clean and comfortable. Manager was very friendly. Little overpriced for type of rooom, but aren't they all.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is how all vacations are suppose to be. Friendly staff always going out of their way to do everything possible to give the best possible stay. I would advise all friends and family to enjoy red river here and only here!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninersfanatic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Loved this hotel!! The hotel had a great location and the Hotel Managent is new and very very friendly!! Would recommend ! They have kitchens, hot tub And Sauna!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommaliela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lille
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Pros: It's in Red River - nice ski town in a beautiful valley, not overly kitschy. Lodge is in a good location in center of town, walking distance to the few restaurants, skiing and the grocery store. Upstairs suites with kitchen are nice and bright. Inexpensive, and often the last hotel to be booked fully at peak times like Christmas break (wonder why). Great hot tub, often sparsely used. Owners were quite helpful when we ran into problems, but they can seem aloof as well.

Cons: Rooms and furnishings are generally outdated, somewhat worn. Thin walls, especially through adjoining doors between rooms and in downstairs rooms. Sub-minimal amenities and service, e.g. no shampoo, no cleaning, coffee-maker but no coffee ($1 per packet in office). Downstairs single rooms (at least on the west side) are dark and dreary. Parking lot is way too small, though street parking is not a problem. 10am check out.

You're here to ski, not sleep.

Room Tip: get the larger suites and go for the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandj_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon,TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stay here everytime we come to Red River.This last time we stayed here I've noticed how the rooms need a remodel soon.Don't get me wrong it's worth the money but I just keep seeing things that need an upgrade,I would start with the beds.The beds are a little lumpy but I guess everyone has their own choice when it comes to firmness of bedding.Was nice to have Direct-tv in the room but the TV is like from the 70's but I wasn't there to watch tv so not really that big a deal.To me this is the ideal location because you can walk to any place in town from here.There's a grocery store about 200 yards away.Love the location but it's time to upgrade the rooms in my opinion.The hot tub was a huge plus to an aching back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badmortarforker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

The Ponderosa Lodge is exactly what it's name states! It's rooms give off a atmosphere that matches the feeling when you step out and see what this little resort town has to offer. Even in the summer months there are alot of activities to enjoy, and the Ponderosa Lodge is located perfectly in the middle of town. They have a very friendly staff and the office personel see to it that all your family's needs are met. They have a hot tub and dry sauna on location aswell as daily housekeeping. Rooms are supplied with fireplaces and full kitchens, which turned out to be one of the best things about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryC429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
8.1 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
23.0 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Lodge

Property: Ponderosa Lodge
Address: 200 W Main St, Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Red River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing