We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Family Fun”

Red River Ski & Summer Area
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We will reopen for weekends only May 27, 2017 through June 9, 2017 when we open for daily operations through August 13, 2017. We will be open weekends after that through September 30, 2017 We're a big mountain hug, located in the Southern Rockies, just north of Taos, smack dab in the middle of the town of Red River, New Mexico. We are a warm and friendly escape where you will always feel like part of our family. We offer winter & summer fun for everyone. We're THAT place your family raves about.
Merritt Island
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simple Family Fun”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The ski area is for beginners & intermediate skiiers. The slopes are mostly for moderate skiiers but some of the blacks are pretty challenging. Avoid the cafe. The ski school for the kids is just great...our kids love Coach Ben...this was the third year they worked with him and he is really good at what he does.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    121
    31
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Military Discounts Available”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

January is a great time to ski Red River. They offer great prices on lift tickets to the military, and it is an easy drive from Colorado Springs.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun on the chairlift!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Enjoyed the chairlift ride with adults and older children. Too scary for little kids. Also beware of late afternoon sudden storms in the summer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaliaRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

First time skiing here and will come back. My wife and 2 friends came for a 3 day stay and skied 2 of them. Snow was good and people were friendly! Not the biggest hills or hardest terrain but a nice place to ski.

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRiverSkiArea, Public Relations Manager at Red River Ski & Summer Area, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Richard!

Thank you for your kind review! We are very pleased that you had such a great first time experience with us and look forward to your next visit! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best snow in NM”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have always loved the RR ski area and nothing changed this trip. Snow was great and groomed very well but the star was the staff at the ticket counter, rental area, and random ski instructors who were just friendly and helpful people.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRiverSkiArea, Public Relations Manager at Red River Ski & Summer Area, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello Rick!
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy that your visit to our ski area was so pleasant. We pride ourselves on our snow making/grooming and guest satisfaction with our great staff! We hope you can come visit us again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red River Ski & Summer Area also viewed

 
Red River, Taos County
 

Been to Red River Ski & Summer Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing