We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing”

Red River Ski & Summer Area
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are open for daily operations through August 13, 2017 including Summer Mountain Tubing. The Pioneer Flyer, Scenic Summer Chairlift and Hidden Treasure Aerial Park is open through September 3, 2017 daily. Scenic Summer Chairlift, Hidden Treasure Aerial Park and Pioneer Flyer will be open September 9, 16, 23, & 24! Drew Judycki Memorial Disc Golf Tournament is September 23 & 24, 2017. We will be open weekends after that through September 30, 2017 We're a big mountain hug, located in the Southern Rockies, just north of Taos, smack dab in the middle of the town of Red River, New Mexico. We are a warm and friendly escape where you will always feel like part of our family. We offer winter & summer fun for everyone. We're THAT place your family raves about.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

You must ride the ski lift to the top. The ride itself is so relaxing. Hiking on top of the mountain is the icing on the cake. Cool, quiet and miles of mountains to view. Frisbee golf and catching glimpses of deer, squirrels and cattle make it a fun family adventure.

Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 363 of 489 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my first trip to Red River. I wanted to ride the chair lift and our group of four thoroughly enjoyed the ride to the top and the views from there. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but it smelled good. I would advise jackets and maybe jeans if you are cold natured, the trip down was cool. Great value for a relaxing ride.

Thank NewMexicoGrammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I loved the scenic ride to the top of the ski lift. So much to see and be thankful for. God's beautiful place, Red River, NM

Thank Marla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lots of things to do for families: shopping, ski lift, tubing down the hills, ATV off roading, hiking, restaurants, fishing, swimming, biking, horseback ridining.

Thank Amagirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Imagine my surprise when asked if we wanted to go tubing in mid June at Red River ski area. As it turns out they were not talking about getting grass stains while sledding down a grassy hill, they actually have 2 sets od tube runs. One is about 400 feet long and is for little kids and can be walked to, the other is about 800 feet long and requires a short ski lift ride. This longer run is very fast and exhilarating, as you step off the relaxing ski lift ride you can see the course snake out across the slope. You carry your tube over to the start of the course and sit in it, the attendant gives you a running push and hang on for your life as the tube plummets down the course hitting the curves that send you into a gravity defying spin while still descending down the hill at break neck speed. All I can say is I laughed and screamed all the way down and then went back and did it two more times. made me feel like a kid again. they have 2 price ranges, 3 rides for $15 and $20 for an hour. if it looks crowded get the 3 ride pass, if there are just a few people out there do the hour ride pass and get about 4 to 5 rides.

Thank dunegoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red River Ski & Summer Area also viewed

 

Been to Red River Ski & Summer Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing