We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Torchlight parade and fireworks well worth waiting.”

Red River Ski & Summer Area
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are open for daily operations through August 13, 2017 including Summer Mountain Tubing. The Pioneer Flyer, Scenic Summer Chairlift and Hidden Treasure Aerial Park is open through September 3, 2017 daily. Scenic Summer Chairlift, Hidden Treasure Aerial Park and Pioneer Flyer will be open September 9, 16, 23, & 24! Drew Judycki Memorial Disc Golf Tournament is September 23 & 24, 2017. We will be open weekends after that through September 30, 2017 We're a big mountain hug, located in the Southern Rockies, just north of Taos, smack dab in the middle of the town of Red River, New Mexico. We are a warm and friendly escape where you will always feel like part of our family. We offer winter & summer fun for everyone. We're THAT place your family raves about.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Torchlight parade and fireworks did not start at 8pm as advertised but well worth the wait. Great way to end the ski day and it's free.

Thank Lois S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRiverSkiArea, Public Relations Manager at Red River Ski & Summer Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Lois S, we are sorry you had to wait, but are happy to hear it was worth it! We have our Torch Light Parades every Saturday night and on special Holidays in the winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 368 of 488 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We returned to Red River this winter and had a great time. (i put this review in a couple of months ago but apparently it did not save). We got 13" of snow while we were there. My 6 year old granddaughter, Sophie, went to ski school. Banker Bob was her instructor and she got to the top of the mountain several times. Banker Bob is a fantastic instructor for children; Sophie was a little nervous about the big lift and the big slopes but she did great under the tutelage of Banker Bob.
Red River is very family friendly. We rented a condo and used the crock pot to have supper ready every day after skiing.
Hint: check into the Triple Play for lift tickets in the fall before you visit. It is a great deal!!

1  Thank KitTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Red River is a picturesque, friendly little ski town. We have been many times (the most recent trip with a couple of teenagers), and can't wait to go again.

Thank Dena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRiverSkiArea, Public Relations Manager at Red River Ski & Summer Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dena D, thank you for the nice review! We are happy you have fun here and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I have lost count of how many friends and family, plus me, have learned to ski here. This is a smaller, friendlier and less expensive place that is perfect for beginners. I like how they have a couple levels of beginner areas before dumping you out into the bigger mountain. The blue and gold chairs make up a beginner area that is perfect for learning without having to blend into the bigger mountain crowds. If you are a more advanced skier/boarder, realize they have tougher/more varied terrain but it is somewhat limited. For me it seems this whole area and town is focused on families and beginners...in a good way. Use this as a stepping stone trip to larger resorts. Why pay high, big-resort lift ticket prices when you're only using a little piece of the mountain.

1  Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRiverSkiArea, Public Relations Manager at Red River Ski & Summer Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Hello KitTexas, thank you for the very nice review! We are happy to hear you got to enjoy such an abundance of fresh snow during your visit! Banker Bob is a great asset to the Ski Area as he is very good with children, we are glad your daughter Sophie had such a positive ski school experience and look forward to your hopeful return next winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This trip was a first time ski trip for my wife and I. We both really enjoyed learning to ski at this ski area. the lessons were well directed, the lessons slops were challenging but appropriate. The ski trails were both fun and challenging. The facilties were nice and the people were friendly. this is definately a family ski area and I would recommend this ski area to both family and new ski couples. We will come back next year.

Thank ArBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedRiverSkiArea, Public Relations Manager at Red River Ski & Summer Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Hi ArBrewer! We are thrilled to hear you had such a great first time experience at our ski area and look forward to your return next winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red River Ski & Summer Area also viewed

 

Been to Red River Ski & Summer Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing