We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricing Issues”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Mountain Lodge
Garland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pricing Issues”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Called in a reservation and mailed deposit for 4 night stay, then found much lower price posted on their website. They were not willing to adjust price to reflect the lower rate they were advertising, so they opted to cancel my reservation rather than make the change. New ownership/management needs to study up on professionalism and customer service. They did send me my refund in a very timely manner. Red River is a beautiful place, with lots of competitors very willing to take our money.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank NeNe627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackMountainLodge, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
By calling to reserve a room, we provide a very personal experience. We answer question, provide advisement on what to do in Red River, as well assist with booking adventures outside our lodge (jeep tours, ski rentals, ect). Some phone calls can take up to 30 minutes to provide a complete reservation. We want guest to have the BEST time they possibly can in Red River. We also advertise on Expedia, Travelocity, and other online booking sites. We are able to offer last minute deals and specials that vary in pricing. This guest kept adjusting her own prices according to things she saw online! Guests who book online are able to save money because their bookings typically take less time... I don't feel that makes us less professional...but actually MORE professional! After adjusting her own prices, I simply let this guest know that perhaps we weren't a positive fit for each other and sent her a COMPLETE refund for the deposits she had made (which I had worked with her, allowing her to send several deposits due to financial constraints on her end). I've never gone on vacation and dictated to the places I stay what I would pay...perhaps through hot-wire this would work? I'm not sure. It is very important to us to provide fair pricing for our quality lodging without taking advantage of our guests! We have completely remodeled our rental units and work very hard to provide the best vacation experience possible! But when a guest adjusts their own prices, drags out not paying their deposit promptly, and complicates the process, we must acknowledge they would perhaps be happier staying else where. The truth simply works best for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
28
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We only stayed one night but we'll definitely stay again. Food in the restaurant was great. Free breakfast was just cereal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antmakka555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We just got back from our stay at the Black Mountain Lodge in Red River and it was fantastic. The room (#3) had everything we needed. If you want to be close to the slopes then this is definitely the place you want to stay. Your within 200-300 yards from the platinum, yellow, and magic carpet lifts.The owners were very kind and were more than willing to help us with anything we needed. The kids loved the playhouse with all of the video games I grew up with. We can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keelerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Pros: Great Location, 20 yards from the bunny hill
half off food in the restaurant (food is good, nothing to write home about)
playhouse is amazing if you have kids, lots of history, it was built in the 1930's I think
Friendly staff
Price is right!

Cons: Hasn't been updated in a while, carpets and furniture are old and worn
There was a huge bowl of old cigarette butts right outside our door the whole weekend
There was a 2-inch gap under our door, which is no good at a winter resort (drafty!)
The hot tub was not hot the whole time we were there. (It was warm, maybe 85 degrees, I like it about 105)

Overall, it was a nice weekend and we will stay there again. It seems like the owners are new and are adjusting to knowing the finer points of innkeeping. Or maybe they mean it to be a little rough around the edges!

Room Tip: We stayed in #2. It does have two bedrooms and a small common area/kitchen. Really nice water pressu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2011

The owners and staffs were the best. They made my family and I feel welcomed and greeted us with kindness. The lodge is right by the slopes so its quick to go out and head on to the mountains for the day. The restaurant there was phenomenal! The chefs get 5 stars for their excellent execution of fresh, made to order meals that were delicious and worth paying for. The kids really enjoyed the playhouse there. They wanted to go everyday we were there. Overall it was a good trip and couldn't have picked a better place to stay at. I would recommend to everyone that Black Mountain Lodge is the place to be. I especially want to thank the owners and staff for everything during our stay. It certainly made it worth it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Dirt Bike riding in New Mexico is incredible !! The colors at this time of year were breathe taking ! Lane, Jessica and there Boys made us feel right at home the minute we arrived !
Lane told us where the best best star gazing in town could be seen, and he was right on !!
The Next day we ventured up a jeep trail right next to the cabin and enjoyed the morning riding and great scenery ! The Cabin was equipped with everything we needed to cook breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very comfy beds with clean bathrooms and kitchen ! The view from cabin was spectacular ! We will be back to Blackmountain Lodge every year to enjoy this piece of heaven on earth !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Spent Thanksgiving week and were treated like family. We were even invited to have Thanksgiving Dinner with Lane, Jessica, and family. The hosts went out of their way to make us feel special. That alone is reason to return to this wonderful getaway.

The one bedroom was perfect!! Nice kitchenette, two closets, plenty of storage, extremely clean and recently updated, and a comfortable couch - to view the fireplace or skiers through the large windows. Our unit, #4, offered a beautiful view of the skiers on the slope.

They have a new Chef and will be offering breakfast, lunch, and fine dining in the evening. Looking forward to our next visit to The Black Mountain Lodge.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer a more panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
542 reviews
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Deer Lodge Red River
Deer Lodge Red River
#14 of 26 in Red River
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
WorldMark Red River
WorldMark Red River
#15 of 26 in Red River
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sitzmark Lodge
Sitzmark Lodge
#3 of 26 in Red River
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Lodge

Property: Black Mountain Lodge
Address: 305 Pioneer Road, Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Black Mountain Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Units ranging from economical hotel style to large 5 BR, 3 BA units. Several 2BR/1BA and 1BR/1BA at base of Red River ski area. Great location in town! True Ski-in / Ski-out and the ONLY bunny slope / easy ski-in / ski-out Facility in Red River! Family oriented. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing