We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slopeside can't be too bad!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Mountain Lodge
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Pros: Great Location, 20 yards from the bunny hill
half off food in the restaurant (food is good, nothing to write home about)
playhouse is amazing if you have kids, lots of history, it was built in the 1930's I think
Friendly staff
Price is right!

Cons: Hasn't been updated in a while, carpets and furniture are old and worn
There was a huge bowl of old cigarette butts right outside our door the whole weekend
There was a 2-inch gap under our door, which is no good at a winter resort (drafty!)
The hot tub was not hot the whole time we were there. (It was warm, maybe 85 degrees, I like it about 105)

Overall, it was a nice weekend and we will stay there again. It seems like the owners are new and are adjusting to knowing the finer points of innkeeping. Or maybe they mean it to be a little rough around the edges!

Room Tip: We stayed in #2. It does have two bedrooms and a small common area/kitchen. Really nice water pressu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

The owners and staffs were the best. They made my family and I feel welcomed and greeted us with kindness. The lodge is right by the slopes so its quick to go out and head on to the mountains for the day. The restaurant there was phenomenal! The chefs get 5 stars for their excellent execution of fresh, made to order meals that were delicious and worth paying for. The kids really enjoyed the playhouse there. They wanted to go everyday we were there. Overall it was a good trip and couldn't have picked a better place to stay at. I would recommend to everyone that Black Mountain Lodge is the place to be. I especially want to thank the owners and staff for everything during our stay. It certainly made it worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Dirt Bike riding in New Mexico is incredible !! The colors at this time of year were breathe taking ! Lane, Jessica and there Boys made us feel right at home the minute we arrived !
Lane told us where the best best star gazing in town could be seen, and he was right on !!
The Next day we ventured up a jeep trail right next to the cabin and enjoyed the morning riding and great scenery ! The Cabin was equipped with everything we needed to cook breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very comfy beds with clean bathrooms and kitchen ! The view from cabin was spectacular ! We will be back to Blackmountain Lodge every year to enjoy this piece of heaven on earth !!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Spent Thanksgiving week and were treated like family. We were even invited to have Thanksgiving Dinner with Lane, Jessica, and family. The hosts went out of their way to make us feel special. That alone is reason to return to this wonderful getaway.

The one bedroom was perfect!! Nice kitchenette, two closets, plenty of storage, extremely clean and recently updated, and a comfortable couch - to view the fireplace or skiers through the large windows. Our unit, #4, offered a beautiful view of the skiers on the slope.

They have a new Chef and will be offering breakfast, lunch, and fine dining in the evening. Looking forward to our next visit to The Black Mountain Lodge.

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer a more panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We decided on a trip from Texas to escape the heat and found this little jewel hidden next to the ski mountain. It is only a 2 block walk to main street and about a block to the river or fishing ponds. The new owners are very personable and kind. They were great to visit with and very friendly when taking our reservations. They recommended local restaurants and activities. It was obvious they had been to these places as they relayed their own experiences and tips. The rooms were very clean! We had plenty of towels and necessities and the kids LOVED being next to a creek (Pioneer) and the Playhouse with skating and putt-putt. The price for value is excellent. We would definitely recommend staying here and will be back to stay without a doubt!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TX789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMLRedRiver, Owner at Black Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2015

Thank you for a kind and honest review. We continue to update our lodge; replacing flooring, replacing linens, and working hard to make each and every stay memorable. Please let us know when you return to Black Mountain Lodge, as all return guests receive a 10% discount. It is our goal to provide clean, conveniently located, friendly services to all those who become our extended family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 9 in Red River
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 9 in Red River
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 9 in Red River
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
96 reviews
8.1 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Eagle Lodge
Golden Eagle Lodge
#6 of 9 in Red River
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Lodge

Address: 305 Pioneer Road, Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Red River
Price Range: $64 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Black Mountain Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Units ranging from economical hotel style to large 5 BR, 3 BA units. Several 2BR/1BA and 1BR/1BA at base of Red River ski area. Great location in town! True Ski-in / Ski-out and the ONLY bunny slope / easy ski-in / ski-out Facility in Red River! Family oriented. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing