We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for Breakfast”
Review of Old Tymers Cafe

Old Tymers Cafe
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Best Pizza In Town Breakfast Is Fast And Really Good
Restaurant details
Description: Best Pizza In Town Breakfast Is Fast And Really Good
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good Place for Breakfast”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a good place for breakfast, unless you are in a hurry. The service can be a bit slow, but the food is very good. The pancakes are huge (as in the size of a platter) , and portions in general are generous. It is a good place for adults or people travelling with children.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WestTexastraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    79
    41
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I had the chili rellenos, they were wonderful.”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband had a burger, said it was good, daughter had the tamales, kind of dry, my son's burrito was really good too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Tried to eat here on a Sunday afternoon. The multiple signs saying "please wait" in multiple languages should have been a clue. Waitress said it would be 5 minute wait so we waited. Looked inside and there were at least four open tables. Waitress never acknowledged us again so we left.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DixieChickDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My favorite place in RR for breakfast! It gets pretty filled up around July 4th, which is when we are always visiting. GIANT pancakes. Seriously, just get 1 to split along with whatever other entrees you get..you won't need more than that! Haha!
My family members love their New-Mex breakfast options. I prefer traditional eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. All of it is good; you really can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Don't forget to pick up an Old Tymers coffee mug on your way out!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RareTraveler006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casual great place!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice wait staff and Nice folks. Large portions and delicious food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Tymers Cafe also viewed

Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 
Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 

Been to Old Tymers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing