We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountain Treasures

Mountain Treasures
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mountain Treasures has a huge menu of wonderful homemade soups, made-to-order deli sandwiches (like ruebens, chicken-fried steak sandwiches and muffalettas)on fresh, "housemade" baked breads. The delightful smell of Kolaches, cinnamon rolls, turnovers, and cookies flow through the whole place and you may find them hard to turn down! Entrees include fried chicken with fries & Texas toast as well as catfish with hush puppies & fries. Our coffee shop serves steaming cappuccinos, lattes, and fresh house coffee as well as fresh-fruit smoothies. We've proudly served visitors and locals for 12 years on Main Street right in the middle of town across from the Community House.
Double Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Got some turnovers here one morning and came back for lunch the same day. Great sandwiches, salads. If you want to get breakfast, don't sleep in too late as they run out of some rolls. Very nice people!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    55
    23
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Kolaches and Sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stopped for Kolaches (which are wonderful!) and also purchased sandwiches. The sandwiches were very good and sweet potatoe fries are great!! The people are friendly and attentive but takes awhile to get your food. Definitely worth a stop. We went twice while in RR.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkandCindy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not a Friendly Place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Went in for a quick drink and pastries for the next day. Asked for a margarita and was told that they hadn't made any. It was 5 in the afternoon so I was quite sure what time zone they were on. At least the wine and beer was ready. Also, ordered pasteries for the next day and the lady behind the counter had a "I don't care attitude". Was going to do lunch there but decided not to.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JandJ539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“smoothies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

All I can say is that the food is really good but the smoothies are what I keep coming back for! If you are in Red River you have got to stop in at Mountain Treasures.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Texasgirl806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

A must if in RR. Great everything - Food-service-drink-location! Also, great gift in the back. We will be back nxt visit to RR.

Helpful?
Thank GranGo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Treasures also viewed

Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 
Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 

Been to Mountain Treasures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing