We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay but not great.”
Review of Golden Eagle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Eagle Lodge
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a quaint place to stay. Owners were very nice but comfortable beds with properly functioning facilities did not go together. Shower trickled out which made washing a womens hair challenging. Furnace did not work only wall heater in the bathroom did but it was a timer. Dog next door barked at every sound we made. We did not complain due to the extreme discount we had already received. We will never stay here again. Town was great & restaurants were good too.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

My family and have never been more insulted. We stayed here durring the aspencary festival. When we fist got there, there were no problems getting the room. We went out for the day and came back around 5. Next thing we know, the manager is knocking on the door, comes in and starts acusing us of being too needy and saying that our dog stunk. All we wanted to know is why the tv was so fuzzy and we had just got our dog groomed the day before. Not only did he interupt our dinner and evening, but we were so embarrassed and mad that we got our money back and left that day at about 7. Overall the place was not bad but the management is rude and very inconsiderate.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gisnols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

In Red River, there is no 5-star hotel (nor should there probably be one). Every place is like a mountain lodge/cabin. Although the Golden Eagle Lodge may have it's quirks (posted rules/signs in the rooms, somewhat thin walls, aged property), it's a fantastic place on the edge of town providing a more peaceful and quiet stay. Without a doubt, the owners go above and beyond to accommodate guests and did so the weekend I was there, giving all cyclists for the town's annual race a very late checkout to allow the cyclists to shower after the race. This accommodation wasn't given by another more widely known chain in town. The owners represent most of the people in Red River: friendly, generous and kind and a stay here would show.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NMTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Pros: Better coffee in the mornings, great location, numerous grills and picnic tables.

Cons: Unable to access 'free wi-fi', couldn't walk out of my room or into the bathroom without stepping on the floor grate to the furnace, very small refrigerator, minimal cooking utensils (very small frying pan) and noisy. The great room appears to be the owners' private living space.

We had an end unit which is preferable, however my room shared a common wall with the next unit and my neighbor was showering at 5:30 a.m. and it sounded like the shower was in my room.

Would only stay there again if it was the only place available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had a great time. Spent 7 nights with no problems & the owners go out of there way to make you feel welcome.
Fresh gourmet Coffee every morning.
Loved every minute.
Can't wait to return. Lots of trails to drive nearby, if you like four wheeling. Convently located at the upper end of town, away from all the foot activity you get at other places.
This was the third year to stay with Marla and Jerry.
We even had our reunion there last summer.
Thanks again Golden Eagle.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texashotshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently stayed with Jerry and Marla we rented a two bedroom Two bath lodge rooms. We stayed for a week the place was clean quiet and comfortable we were there in late July. The area is great for outdoor activities. Hiking, Off road, four wheeling, Bike riding, Horse back riding definitely family fun and family friendly. Met another family there and we went off roading together. Great place to stay and meet people. Got up every morning and looked up in any direction and saw nothing but beautiful lush pine trees in all directions. Way to go Jerry and Marla we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The owners are fantastic. One of the best places we have stayed. They provide their own roasted coffee every morning in this cool relaxing room. We received some great advise on where we should visit for the remainder of our trip. Price was very reasonable. Rooms are average - nothing fancy. Red River is a really great town. I recommend.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
1 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Suites
Alpine Lodge & Suites
#5 of 9 in Red River
243 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 9 in Red River
586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 9 in Red River
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Three Bears Lodge
Three Bears Lodge
#2 of 9 in Red River
196 reviews
8 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
127 reviews
12.6 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Lodge

Address: 1100 E Main St, Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT!!! When you want to be close to the action, but want your evenings to be peaceful, and your views of the mountains to be unobstructed....... The Golden Eagle Lodge and Elk Ridge Lodge is the place to be! Here you will find a quiet respite between adventures in some of the most stunning scenery, and walk in the steps of the great pioneers of our history. Take in the diverse flora, fauna and wildlife abounding all around you, and kick up your feet, cook up those fresh stream trout, and enjoy a well-deserved rest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golden Eagle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Hotel Red River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing