We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Eagle Lodge
Save
You added Golden Eagle Lodge to your Saves list
1100 E Main St, Red River, NM 87558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Harper, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently stayed with Jerry and Marla we rented a two bedroom Two bath lodge rooms. We stayed for a week the place was clean quiet and comfortable we were there in late July. The area is great for outdoor activities. Hiking, Off road, four wheeling, Bike riding, Horse back riding definitely family fun and family friendly. Met another family there and we went off roading together. Great place to stay and meet people. Got up every morning and looked up in any direction and saw nothing but beautiful lush pine trees in all directions. Way to go Jerry and Marla we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    6
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
32
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
174 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The owners are fantastic. One of the best places we have stayed. They provide their own roasted coffee every morning in this cool relaxing room. We received some great advise on where we should visit for the remainder of our trip. Price was very reasonable. Rooms are average - nothing fancy. Red River is a really great town. I recommend.

We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trailblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

For 3 years in a row we have chosen to stay with the fine folks at Golden Eagle Lodge. Such a nice, clean and relaxing place. Just the right distance from town - nice relaxing and inviting atmosphere. We love the rooms - we've stayed in both the Elk Ridge and the Golden Eagle. Love grilling outside our room - then sitting around the fire pits at night. Jerry and Marla are good people - we're always made to feel at home. Red River is a great destination and we'll go back again next year...and for the 4th year in a row we will stay here.

Room Tip: Room # 17 is pretty awesome!! If it's open - grab it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just spent four days (7/13/13) in Red River NM & we spent that time at the Golden Eagle Lodge. This facility is owned by Jerry & Marla Vowell. We feel as though they went out of their way in making our stay enjoyable. Our rooms were clean. The lighting was very good & the flat screen TV was very good & it worked. The kitchen had everything we needed and all the utensils were clean. We had no problems with the facility. We enjoyed coffee every morning in the Great Room. We will do our best to stay at the Golden Eagle Lodge on our next visit to Red River NM. I recommend the Golden Eagle Lodge to every one needing lodging while in Red River, NM

Room Tip: Any room, large enough for you or family, will be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kleejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great accommodations. More importantly, Jerry and Marla go way out of their way to accommodate their guests. We were getting married by the JP and Jerry turned out to be a minister and offered to marry us on property. We also need to fax some important paperwork on a day we would be away all day. They graciously took care of this for us. They were the kindest people we met in Red River. We will stay with them every time we are in Red River until we figure out a way to have our own home there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

DO YOURSELF A FAVOR, DO NOT STAY HERE! Unless you are a bed wetter then you'll enjoy the rubber mattress pads! INSULTING RULES POSTED ALL OVER THE PLACE! Worse than a Dorm, more rules than a Summer camp for kids!! The Golden Beagle Lodge proudly charges over $250.00/ night, and then warns to charge you fees if you don't properly mop the floor, place all towels in front of your room, and god forbid you use the wrong washcloth for makeup removal! The paper thin walls, single pane windows, and dated wood paneling will help you to easily get to know your neighbors next door. Red River is a great town, but has very limited lodging options! If you want quality lodging and good value for your vacation, keep looking. If you like being annoyed by numerous rules posted everywhere on the property with the concern of " additional charges", and also want to be responsible for cleaning your own room, visit the Golden Beagle!

Room Tip: Dated log cabin, all rooms are noisy, owners invasive behavior does not support a relaxing lodging e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recommend both the Golden Eagle Lodge and the Elk Ridge Lodge. I stayed next door at the Elk Ridge Lodge, also owned and managed by Jerry and Marla Vowell. It was very affordable, clean, comfortable and cozy. It was equipped with everything needed, and if I needed a bigger pan or pot, I borrowed one from the group facility kitchen and brought it back when I was through using it. If anything needed attention it was taken care of as soon as possible. Jerry and Marla set the standard for being courteous, friendly, answering any questions about their lodges and about Red River in general, and treating everyone who crosses their path with respect. The housekeeping staff are reliable, friendly, courteous and honest. The Elk Ridge is an older lodge, but I was very happy during my stay. I would come back in a heartbeat any time I am able.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynF1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
1.0 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#3 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
7.9 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#1 of 1 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
12.6 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
12.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Lodge

Property: Golden Eagle Lodge
Address: 1100 E Main St, Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT!!! When you want to be close to the action, but want your evenings to be peaceful, and your views of the mountains to be unobstructed....... The Golden Eagle Lodge and Elk Ridge Lodge is the place to be! Here you will find a quiet respite between adventures in some of the most stunning scenery, and walk in the steps of the great pioneers of our history. Take in the diverse flora, fauna and wildlife abounding all around you, and kick up your feet, cook up those fresh stream trout, and enjoy a well-deserved rest ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Hotel Red River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing