We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deer Lodge Red River
Hutto, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Customer service”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Not the Best lodge on the block. You pay for what you get.

Inital check in went well. But after the first night woke up to find out that the toilet wouldnt flush the next morning. I called the front desk (Nina) and she said she would be by to look at it. When she arrived to our room she showed up with a Pitcher and space heater. Said to use the pitcher for the water in the toilet and heater for the pipe cause she thought it might have frozen over the night. and to Leave the bathroom door open through the night. I politely said ok. Then the Microwave started to act up but eventually started to work.
After following Ninas instructions the toilet didnt work again the next morning. I called nina back and she asked if we followed her instructions, and i said yes we did. she followed by saying that she doesnt know whats wrong with it then. I asked her if there was something she could do for us then and she said to come see her the next morning.
The next morning she offered to give me a nights free stay, but then claimed she didnt know how to work the machine to give me a refund.
Well i never got my one night refund and the toilet didnt work in the mornings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 512hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina581, Manager at Deer Lodge Red River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I apologize for the lateness in responding to your review our records show you were our guest from January 2 through January 6, 2013 for 4 nights. We had several guest with us during this time. I was able to go back through our credit card batches and invoices as well as our maintenance log and well remember the problem with the toilet in your room.
My first concern is you stated that you had not received your refund as promised, we are showing a refund was entered to your credit card on January 5,2013 for an amount equals one night stay. If this did not show up on your credit card statement please contact your card service, and if you have a moment please call me with an update.
Concerning the toilet – When I checked back an hour after we set up the additional heater the toilet was flushing properly. I also checked on it during the daily towel and trash service, I do not recall you telling me that it continued to be an issue.
The microwave had been unplugged during cleaning. We inspect the rooms prior to each check in to make sure everything is in working order unfortunately we overlooked this. We appreciate it when guest take the time to point out problems or concerns so we can deal with the issue immediately.
I was not aware of your review until we had a guest stay with us. He said he had read the review prior to making his reservation and decided to give us a try anyway.
He had a most pleasant stay ad temperatures were 40 to 60 degrees higher in June then when you were here in January might have influenced his enjoyment. He did ask me what the pitcher was for I told him it was an emergency back up in case someone used the toilet before the tank had time to refill and something needed to be “flushed away”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennedale, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Recently spent 10 nights and would definitely stay again. The rooms were clean and the water was hot. The lodge manager was extra nice and accommodating. I have enjoyed many trips to Red River and I will be staying at Deer Lodge on my next trip.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I love this place. I started staying at Deer Lodge several years ago and have always had an excellent experience. One of the main draws at first was that they allow pets and their pet deposit is entirely reasonable--like $20.00 for the entire stay, whereas at other places, there were fairly steep daily charges. Also, their room rates are entirely reasonable. The first year I stayed there, I stayed in the motel-type room. The owner, John, was very accomodating--there was a little fridge in the room already, and to make my stay even more comfortable, he brought me a microwave and a card table with chairs so that the unit was almost like a kitchenette. The next year, I upgraded to a unit that was similar to an efficiency apartment, and again had an excellent experience. The kitchen was well-supplied with dishes, cooking utensils, pots and pans, coffee maker, etc. Any time I needed something, all I had to do was ask. They have always treated me like family. Once or twice, I have locked my keys in the room, and John or Anne were completely great about coming over and unlocking my room. Last year and the year before, my dogs and I stayed in the one-bedroom, and had wonderful experiences both times. The unit is always clean, the housekeeper comes around regularly, and they make sure you have plenty of whatever it is you might need. Check-in is easy and care-free. If you arrive after hours, your key is waiting for you in a designated spot, and it is no muss, no fuss, easy as pie. I am scheduled to arrive at Deer Lodge again in two weeks, and I CAN'T WAIT!!!! I am staying in the one-bedroom again, as it has become my home away from home, and it cannot get here fast enough to suit me. Each time I have stayed there, the owner, John, and the manager, Anne, have bent over backwards to accomodate my every need, and I could not be more satisfied. I go to Red River every summer, and Deer Lodge is where I will stay every time I go. With its rustic charm, prime location, reasonable prices, and accomodating owner and manager, in my book, you can't beat it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Yep, this is an older lodge for sure. Has historical charm. We skiied, ate good food, skiied, slept and SKIIED! That's what we went to do on a budget !! THANKS !

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duchess047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

I am writing this because this place is way under standers. We got there and thought it was OK but once we go in the room we noticed there was only 1 tv in the bedroom. The website says cable tv in every room. The walls were paper thin because we could here everything that went on next door. The bathtub gurgled all night, we had to close the door to muffle the sound. The toilet would not flush. I contacted the office and they plunged the toilet but after we got done skiing it was clean but still would not flush. I did tell the office that the website said there was cable tv in everyroom and they were not aware of it saying that. I complained that we did not have a tv in the livingroom and we would rather not watch the same as our kids. They did bring us a tv, dial control, probly older than 35 yrs old with a turn dial. They had to unplug the light and move a table to get it on. Needless to say it was more of a pain to watch it so we didnt. The part on the website that says WI FI is only if its working! The first day we were there it didnt work the next day it did. I would only suggest this place if you have 1 or 2 people going and all you want to do is sleep!!! They dont have housekeeping on the weekends either!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kellztwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#6 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
13.2 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
WorldMark Red River
WorldMark Red River
#13 of 26 in Red River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Lodge Red River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Lodge Red River

Property: Deer Lodge Red River
Address: 100 N Gilt Edge Trail, P.O. Box 810, Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Deer Lodge Red River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing