We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”
Review of Three Bears Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Bears Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Second time back in Red River, but our first time with Three Bears. It was an amazing experience. The rooms were spacious and warm, very nice to stay in. The owners were incredibly hospitable and even invited us for drinks which we accepted graciously and had a great time. This will most definitely be our place of destination should we return to Red River.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Chris, Jenny and I are so glad that you all had a wonderful time here at 3 Bears lodge and are extremely happy that you have found us!. We truly do love to hang around the fire-pit on our smores nights with our guests and really get to know them! We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Red River,
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Three Bears Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 151 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Perfect spot for a GREAT long weekend! Chris & Debbie are such welcoming & gracious hosts for their guests! We'll definitely be back for the nice cabins, short walk to the Copper Chair Lift, S'Mores Nights and dead battery jump at 7:00 AM from the owner (Chris) that acted as if there was nothing else he would rather do! Thanks Three Bears Lodge!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Doug, thank you so much for reviewing your stay. It certainly was our pleasure to have you and the boys as our guests. Happy Chris was able to get you guys on the road that morning. The cold weather does sometimes play havoc with car batteries ! See you guys next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

For my husband, myself, our three girls & niece space was comfortable for all! Three Bears was a great experience for our family, prompt service, clean warm beds... beds were a little hard but I guess everyone's preference is different.. Oven small but efficient...We would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faithhopeandlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your 3 Bears lodge stay. We are really glad that you had a great time and would definitely come back. The deer that just hand around town are a wonderful sight !! We do love them being here! Thanks again and we will see you next time. Chris and Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Just recently stayed in the 3 bedroom cabin at 3 bears and we have already booked another vacation next year with them. The owners are excellent!! (Even took a ski lesson from the owner) Extremely nice couple and very helpful if you have any questions. The cabin was perfect. Close to the ski lift and right in the middle of everything. We saw deer every night, which was perfect for our 3 year old. The only thing you need is food, and clothes. I highly recommend 3 bears!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thanks so much for the kind words about your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you guys again next year!! In the meantime hope you have a wonderful 2014,
Debbie and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at 3 Bears Lodge. This time we stayed 7 nights in Cabin #9. Reasons we keep coming back: 1) Owners 2) Location 3) Cabins and amenities provided 4) Cost relative to any others! Love the s'mores nights :-) Cabins always have everything we need and the owners do a great job of having little extras (fire starters, firewood, sleds for the kids to use etc.) We are already planning our next trip to Red River and 3 Bears!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syd21300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Sydney, you guys are like family to us!! I Thanks so much for posting another review. See you next Christmas!!!Debbie and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 3 bedroom cabin. It was a great size. We have 4 kids (10, 7, 6, and 3) and it fully accommodated all of us. We saw deer out our windows, the girls loved the fireplace and they provide wood for you to use!!! It had a full kitchen and everything we needed. All we brought was our clothing and food. We stay in cabins for various vacations 1-3 times a year and I loved this cabin because it literally was fully stocked. I hate driving 8-12 hours to stay somewhere and I have to bring my own sheets or towels. This place was worth every penny and more. It was not very far from the Red River Ski Area's main lift but honestly everything in the town area of Red River couldn't be more than 1-2 miles from the main lift. Located just out the back door is a lift as well. We had kids in ski school so we went to the main lift area everyday. I am big on cleanliness and it was super tidy. The owners were very helpful every time I spoke with them. Love this place and I plan in coming back. It was perfect for my family!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mistyeveduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3BearsLodgeRR, Owner at Three Bears Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Misty, thank you so much for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay. We really do appreciate it. People do love to read about what guests think about their stay. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

If you are looking for a comfy cabin, stay here. If you want everything perfect and sterile, stay at one of the chains. Our 2 bedroom cabin was great for a weekend getaway. A couple things to make the experience a bit easier: take extra paper plates, plastic utensils and if you are going to do much cooking your favorite skillet and pot. There is dishware and cooking items furnished but just the minimum.

To parents: If you have small children the wood burning stove would be downright dangerous as it gets very hot on the outside. That is how it works. Yes, there is warning to keep children away, but where is the fun in that? Nothing to be done about it. If I had small kids (mine are grown - yea!!) I would not have enjoyed worrying all weekend that one of them would get a bad burn.

We didn't get to meet the owners. Hopefully next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abqtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#4 of 8 in Red River
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
145 reviews
13.1 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Lodge & Cabins
Riverside Lodge & Cabins
#8 of 26 in Red River
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bears Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bears Lodge

Address: 301 E Main st, Red River, NM 87558
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Red River
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded 1,2,and 3 bedroom cabins located in the center of town. 50 Feet from the river and copper chair lift. Close to all restaurants, bars and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Three Bears Hotel Red River
3 Bears Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing