We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Playhouse needs some play...and work”

Ranked #2 of 2 Fun & Games in Red River
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This entertainment complex offers a myriad amount of games, from mini-golf to electronic, you'll find something for the whole family.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Playhouse needs some play...and work”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

you can tell that there has been recent interior renovations...but the 20+ year old video games, air hockey (one puck for 3 tables), ping-pong, and billard tables were all very worn. The mini golf upstairs was interesting - if there's a crowd, you may be there awhile and for $5 per person, save your money. The outdoor minigolf is also worn out and one hole (#16) is impossible to play - but at the same price as the indoor version, would be a good time killer. The roller rink was nice but needed some marshaling as the older kids tend to show off. At $3 to $5 per person per activity you could quickly spend some cash. It's a great idea for the kids at RR - adults can hang in the bar area adjacent - hope the new owners spend some cash on the amusements soon.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    5
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Beef Brisket!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Sign outside stated Black Diamond Grill, so I'm assuming it's all the same place, the pictures seem to match the place. And it was late and after dark when we went to eat.
Great BBQ Beef Brisket, best I've had in years and our waiter was very good and courteous. You get a lot of BBQ on the bun, and one person in our party had the pulled pork, she stated it was very good. Price was very reasonable and we got our money's worth. We stayed at another motel so I can't tell you about their rooms?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Graybeard47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very fun this time!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Under new management as of May 11, 2012....it is obvious they have put a lot of time and money into updating (as compared to when we were there five years ago). Facility looks wonderful, and they are continuing to update. We spent the entire afternoon there with our sons....though we weren't looking forward to it before we got there, we ended up having a BLAST ourselves! The outdoor putt-putt still needs work, but they had only opened it that very day (and were working on it)...and for $5 a person, it was certainly worth a fun time. Great job!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak Tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

was pleasantly surprised. pulled pork sandwiches were outstanding home made onion rings and frys were terrific. ate several times and food was consistently good. prices were reasonable. burgers were huge and perfectly cooked; owners were hands on and very attentive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bikersrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved Black Mtn. Lodge”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Having no previous opinions we stayed at black mountain based on a recommendation from another lodge that was booked. We were so happy with our accomodations. Our kids 8 and 9 loved the playhouse and especially the roller skating. Our room was clean and met all of our expectations. The new owners are excellent hosts that are really getting it right. They have a wonderful attitude and outlook towards kids. We are more than ready to go back and stay there again.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Moshea_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Mountain Playhouse & Lodge also viewed

Red River, Taos County
 
Red River, Taos County
 

Been to Black Mountain Playhouse & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing