We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special and don't count on a donut”

T Buck’s Hole Thing Donut Shop
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We invite you to come in and warm up by the fireplace. Join us for our specialty. A hearty, delicious breakfast before you hit the slopes for excellent skiing. Then hit the local restaurants for their dinner specialties. Be safe and enjoy your stay in Red River!!
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Came for the donuts and they were sold out before 9am. Nothing special here, just average bland breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leapfrogllp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrivercookie, Manager at T Buck’s Hole Thing Donut Shop, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for dropping in during your visit to Red River. We appreciate your business. In the future, should you return to Red River, it is very easy to "count on a donut" We are not Krispy Creme. We are a small town donut shop. We make our donuts right here, but can not make the same volume that the big city places do. All you have to do is order your donuts the day before and we will gladly save them for you. Pick them up when you are ready. We serve a full breakfast also, with your choice of New Mexico's favorite sauces to keep your breakfast from being bland. We are a very special place, we love our customers!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We are tourists so we had never been here before. When we walked in they stupidly asked if we wanted breakfast and I said well is that all you have and she just stared at me like I was an idiot and said did u read the sign ? I'm thinking I have half a nerve to come across this counter lady!! Anyways we sat down and the staff was old and slow and senile. When we finally got out food it was cold and dried out and just disgusting my husband is fat an eats anything, he wouldn't touch his breakfast. It was overal just disgusting and the weight staff is lousy. If your so fat that you can't walk around and serve people wthout sweating and huffing ad puffing then maybe you should think about laying off the dounuts

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Molly0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrivercookie, Manager at T Buck’s Hole Thing Donut Shop, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you visiting our restaurant and we hope you enjoyed you stay in Red River. We always ask our customers if they would like breakfast or donuts, because we generally have both when the town is busy. We strive to please our customers, and make a point to get to know them, have fun with them and offer a pleasant experience. We appologize that we do not have anything to treat your PMS with. We do pray for all our customers , so it is possible you will feel the need to become a more considerate, caring person yourself. Our waitresses are hard workers, who both have multiple jobs, and are caring for aging parents. I'm sorry you were not their only priority on that day. Please feel free to give us another chance to serve you. If there is a problem, have the backbone to discuss it with the owner, she will make sure to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We only stopped in here to pick up some donuts but they serve a full breakfast menu as well. The donuts were good and I'm planning on trying out their full breakfast next time I'm in town.

Thank Billy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrivercookie, Manager at T Buck’s Hole Thing Donut Shop, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you, we appreciate your review. We look forward to meeting you and serving you a full breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

When you walk into a restaurant and are greeted, by what appears to be, a thrift story you are bit taken aback; but you proceed. When the lady at the counter says grufly, "if you are here for the donuts we don't have any"; you again pause. The sign that says seat your self has a handmade sign taped to it that says, "NO Sauces, NO Biscuits, NO Pork Chops, NO Tortilla, No Chile" you have to wonder - 'Do they want my business?' We sit down tentatively and contemplate leaving when our server comes - she is very friendly and alleviates some of our anxiety; she pleasently takes our drink order as we review the menu. Prices are high for breakfast food but the portions were plentiful; the food was okay - the toast was cheap & tasteless made from low quailty bread. Would I return or recommend? No, I would not as there are better options in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JRC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrivercookie, Manager at T Buck’s Hole Thing Donut Shop, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

We do appreciate your business. We apologize that you were here at a time when we were running out of supplies and did not re-order due to the upcoming off season. Those items were posted for your convenience, not to discourage your business. We do invite you back, if we had known you were dissatisfied, we would have worked to make your experience more enjoyable. The owner makes the effort to visit each table to make sure everything is good. If that is not possible the other employees/cashier are instructed to ask if everything was good. Our customers are important to us, and we have many return customers who are now friends. We would like you to be one of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We discovered this place 2 years ago and now we eat there everytime we're in town. It seems to be very popular with the locals and the tourist. The food is good and large portions are a great way to start the day. We ate there twice on this visit and the day we left we got a couple of donuts for the first time. All I can say is YUM & very fresh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LarryM553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redrivercookie, Manager at T Buck’s Hole Thing Donut Shop, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you, we appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T Buck’s Hole Thing Donut Shop also viewed

Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 
Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing